Tina's Reviews > Ship Breaker

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
F 50x66
's review
Mar 12, 11

really liked it
bookshelves: audiobooks, teen-fiction
Read in March, 2011

Fans of Hunger Games, Incarceron, and other absorbing, dystopian teen novels should read this book. Ship Breaker, winner of the prestigious Michael J. Printz prize, is an intricately imagined story that commands your attention from page one. It's set on the coastline of Louisiana after global warming has drowned New Orleans and other coastal cities. Nailer, the teenaged protagonist, lives in a brutal, poverty-stricken world where life has little meaning. As the story progresses, the choices he must make tackle the meaning of family and a host of other important themes. His journey is both engrossing and life-affirming. I highly recommend this novel, which is to be the first in a series.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Ship Breaker.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.