Elisabeth's Reviews > The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories

The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories by H.P. Lovecraft
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4823386
's review
Feb 02, 11

bookshelves: sci-fi, british-literature
Read from January 17 to February 02, 2011

Lovecraft is an amazing horror writer. For readers nowadays at first glance it may seem somewhat contrived and dated, but the stories are weaved so intricately through thoughts and feelings of fear and anxiety that any reader will start to feel it in time. The Cthulhu Mythos is worked out a great deal in this book and it is incredibly intriguing, as Lovecraft introduces more strange beings and names the bigger this supposed mythos becomes and the more looming it seems. Definitely aroused a deep respect and love for his writing in me, i may need a little break, but will go back to Lovecraft soon!
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories.
sign in »

Reading Progress

01/18/2011 page 11
3.0% "Next story; Celephais!"
01/19/2011 page 43
10.0% "Next story; The Outsider!"
01/20/2011 page 65
15.0% "Right in the middle of Herbert West - Reanimator. Onto part VI The Scream of Death!"
01/21/2011 page 100
24.0% "Right in the middle of Rats in the Walls. And there ARE rats in the walls! Creepy, makes me think of that time i was showering and ants came out of the faucet. Not.fun."
01/24/2011 page 146
35.0% "In the middle of reading The Call of Cthulhu. Next up; part II The Tale of Inspector Legrasse."
01/25/2011 page 195
46.0% "A story about weird colours and aliens coming out of comets (very War of the Worlds). Extremely creepy. Seems the more i read these stories the scarier they get lol."
01/26/2011 page 215
51.0% "The Whisper in the Darkness, obviously part of the Cthulhu mythos."
01/27/2011 page 246
59.0% "Part VI of The Whisper in the Darkness. Still awesomely scary, but some of these people are really stupid. So i think they deserve what they get lol."
01/28/2011 page 268
64.0% "Finally finished The Whisperer in the Darkness and now onto The Shadow over Innsmouth!"
02/01/2011 page 342
81.0% "Turns out i had already read Shadow over Innsmouth, so now onto the last tale; The Haunter in the Dark."

No comments have been added yet.