Alexa's Reviews > Hunting Lila

Hunting Lila by Sarah Alderson
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1894085
's review
Sep 04, 11

bookshelves: young-adult, uk, own, 2011-reads, favorites
Read from August 31 to September 03, 2011


My review can also be found on my blog Collections.

Reasons you should read Hunting Lila:

- It's way different than the usual paranormal! Your first indication should be the lovely cover, which doesn't feature the cliché moody-looking girl wearing a prom dress in the middle of the woods. ;) And how can you not be lured in by the cover? Those red heels are HOT!

- American characters speaking fancy British words like mum (for mom) and vest (for undershirt) and using what we Americans like to call military time. It's always good to brush up on your British! If you're a clueless American like me, of course. ;D

- Jack and Alex (do yourself a favor and click that link!). Normally I get turned off by male characters named Alex because well...I have a similar name and it's weird to me if I start swooning over a character that basically has the same name as me... But this Alex is the exception! hehe Anyway. *ahem* Jack and Alex, two very fine military men. Marines, to be exact. Damn. *fans self*

- And most importantly, you don't want to miss out on a fast-paced and action-packed story (there's guns and fast vehicles!) with awesome characters and a pretty sexy romance (NO love-triangle in sight! Heck yeah!). I totally believe this book would make a great movie or TV series. I heard film rights were already sold so it's well on it's way!

Really, you don't want to miss out on this book! I'm already eagerly anticipating the sequel Losing Lila , which will be published in August 2012. :)
14 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Hunting Lila.
sign in »

Reading Progress

09/01/2011 page 34
11.0% "Or was it 43? I can't remember. x.o"
09/02/2011 page 71
22.0% "Already liking it. :)"
09/03/2011 page 188
59.0% "good :)"
09/03/2011 page 230
72.0% "Now this would make a good movie or tv series. :D"
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-12 of 12) (12 new)

dateDown_arrow    newest »

Arlene I can't believe we have to wait a whole year! Nice link! Nic did really good with that one. :P LOL about the vest... I was actually picturing a vest and not an undershirt. LOL


Alexa LOL!! I actually had to look up vest! I was like, What? I've never heard of someone wearing a vest under a shirt.. XD


Arlene I don't know what I was thinking. Maybe I was just too focused on Alex taking off the clothing and not really what he was taking off. He's giving N3kk!d Shane some competition here. :P


message 4: by Morgan (new)

Morgan F .....they call undershirts vests? That's so odd...


message 5: by Alexa (last edited Sep 04, 2011 09:42AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Alexa Alex should just be shirtless throughout! I need to read those Morganville books.

Wikipedia is telling me that a vest in US is a waistcoat in UK. :D

See, this is good. Australian books teach me Aussie. UK books teach me British. I need to learn a new language anyway. ;D


~Tina~ Haha! Awesome linky;) Great review, I couldn't agree more!


message 7: by Nic (last edited Sep 04, 2011 04:00PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Nic Fantastic review Alexa. Those crazy British calling singlets vests ;)


message 8: by Morgan (new)

Morgan F SInglet sounds like a baby bird.


Trinity Great review Alexa! A year is way too long to wait for the next one.


♥Rachel♥ I loved the "Americans speaking fancy British words" too Alexa! Love the extra u's (favorite=favourite), the words: windscreen=windshield, advert=ad, spanner=wrench, motorbike=motorcycle.

And yes Jack, but especially Alex are two "fine" military men! (I second that "Damn"!)

Great review! :)


♥Rachel♥ OMG! I just clicked on the "Alex" link! I forgot about Nic's book boyfriends. I miss them. :(

And just read that a singlet is an undershirt in Australia. Good to know. They said that in On the Jellicoe Road and I kept wondering what they were talking about. :)


Alexa @Rachel: lmao! I forgot I wrote all that in my review. XD Sometimes I'm too lazy to Google words I don't know the meaning of, so I just go with it. hehe Can't wait for more Alex the next book. 8D

@Sam: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed the book too! :D


back to top