Jennifer Rayment's Reviews > Salting Roses

Salting Roses by Lorelle Marinello
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3123013
's review
Nov 30, 10

really liked it
Read in November, 2010

The Good Stuff

* A sweet charming, beautiful and wise book
* Don't let the slowness of it make you put the book down, the characters slowly grow on you and you realize how much you have grown to care about them
* Bloody brilliant and realistic character development
* It's the perfect book for a cold winter's night. You want to curl up, grab a tea (or a nice Australian red wine) and lose yourself in a delightful small town full of quirky and all too real characters
* Some nice humour and fun dialogue
* Great starting chapter - but I warn you it slows down a little after that, but please don't give up
* Lovely messages about truth, money, forgiveness,family, love and being human

The Not so Good Stuff

* It was very slow at times and I had a hard time getting into it, but it really grew on me so don't let the slowness get to you
* Gracie irritated me at times because she was so stubborn and I didn't always understand her choices

Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Gracie was convinced God had invented Jeans to make up for his mistake of letting Eve into the Garden of Eden naked as a jaybird."

"She had to be all of one hundred and ten pounds - what Alice's Hollywood magazines called fashionably thin, a polite word for anorexic."

"Happiness was something that came from having the freedom to be who you really were - not someone else's version of your ideal self, but the deep down you, with all the good and bad mixed up thick."

What I Learned

* That I secretly hope that I am some kidnapped heiress and one day someone will come along with 6 million dollars for me to do with as I please.
* Books like this make me glad that I decided to become a book reviewer and jump out of my reading comfort zone

Who should/shouldn't read

* Fans of Fannie Flagg and Debbie Macomber will probably enjoy
* Those who enjoy Southern fiction
* Not for those who like tons of action and/or hot steamy sex

4 Dewey's

I received this from HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review -- thank you once again HarperCollins for sending me a book that I probably never would have picked out, but am glad I read
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Salting Roses.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.