MB (What she read)'s Reviews > The Mischief of the Mistletoe

The Mischief of the Mistletoe by Lauren Willig
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1586349
's review
Nov 18, 2010

liked it
bookshelves: read-in-2010, romance-historical
Recommended for: Readers who like Julia Quinn or Mary Balogh--without the pathos
Read from November 18 to 20, 2010

A very sweet little romance. I enjoyed the break from Colin and Penny as well.

The hero is a type obviously based on Freddy from Heyer's Cotillion--a favorite of mine. (Except Turnip doesn't have Freddy's exquisite sense of taste, to say the least.) I'm inspired to go re-read it again after finishing this one. Frankly, every regency romance is fairly obviously based off of Jane Austen (of course) and then Georgette Heyer--all the Tropes and plots originated there. The hardest thing for me is finding authors who can even come close.

Lauren Willig's books are very pleasant and relaxing reading.

Cover Art: Very nice and perfectly fits the plot and mood. I'm sure the original is is from the Victorian era--it has that style, but it works well for the Regency period too. An A from me.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Mischief of the Mistletoe.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

11/18/2010 page 206
61.0%

Comments (showing 1-2 of 2) (2 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Miriam I'm glad someone else thought Turnip was Freddy.


MB (What she read) Cool! I thought it was a nice homage.


back to top