Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog)'s Reviews > Halfway to the Grave

Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2489554
's review
Feb 20, 11

bookshelves: own-but-need-to-read, pnr, vampires, keep-a-spare-pair-of-knickers, my-hottie-harem, first-book-in-series, ebooks
Recommended for: Urban Fantasy fans
Read from December 24 to 28, 2010, read count: 1

I started reading this book months ago, read the first two chapters and dropped it. Don’t ask why. I don’t even know myself. I picked it up again and am wondering what the hell was wrong with me back then!?

Halfway to the Grave was a solid UF read. For me, UF is either a hit or miss with me. I either love it or hate it and I think with the Night Huntress series, I never really gave it a chance because I dropped it all those months ago. But sitting my ass down and reading it actually paid off in the end and now I know why this series is such a hit!

First off, I want to talk about BONES! I loved him! He ran the show for me. With the diamonds and cream complexion, those glowing green eyes and that British accent? What’s not to love about the guy!? But what really got me was the fact that he knew exactly who he was as a person. He seemed so sure of himself the entire time, making Cat second-guess her beliefs that all vampires are bad. I expected the hero to be a tortured one who loathed himself and what he was. Sooo not the case here. Bones accepts that he’s a vampire and that fact alone causes Cat to change her perspective of the bloodsuckers. It’s refreshing.

But Cat was the one reason why I put this book down the first time. Cat is a half-breed, a result of her mother being raped by a ruthless vampire. So she hates who she is, hates what happened to her mother, and runs around town killing those with no heartbeats. She is soo fucking bitter that her entire life is dedicated to ridding vampires from the world! I hate to say this but someone should have bitchslapped her and tell her to wake the fuck up and stop feeling so sorry for herself. I’ll be honest, I didn’t like Cat in the beginning. She was annoying and rash and never thought before she spoke. How could I relate to an immature girl who hunts vampires because she irrationally hates them? But halfway through, she realized her faults and THANK THE LORD FOR THAT! I nearly pulled my hair out! When she finally came to accept herself and stopped being so hypocritical, I began to respect her more.

Also, Cat can be pretty badass when she wants to be! I have a feeling that she’ll continue to be a kickass heroine that I’ll grow to love more and more.

I’ll definitely be reading the rest of the series. With an ending like that, I can already feel my fingers itching towards One Foot in the Grave.

Favourite Quote:
“Right, then, mate, terribly sorry for my unspeakable rudeness, and I do beg your pardon,” he said with admirable humbleness when Timmie cracked it open. Only I could pick up the slight edge to his voice as he went on. “I can only say that it was caused by my natural affront to the notion of her as my sister. Since I’ll be shagging her tonight, you can imagine how I’d be distressed at the thought of rogering my sibling.”
“You schmuck!” I brust as Timmie’s jaw dropped. “The only thing you’ll be shagging tonight is yourself.”
“You wanted sincerity,” he countered. “Well, luv, I was sincere.”

***Rating edited*** After reading the rest of the series, I changed this rating from 4 starts to 3 stars.
27 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Halfway to the Grave.
sign in »

Reading Progress

12/24/2010 "I am FINALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLYYY going to start this series!! I think I'm ready for some BONESSSSSSSSS!" 48 comments
12/26/2010
30.0% "Alright, add another one to the fanclub because I LOVE BONES!!!!" 34 comments
12/27/2010
50.0% 13 comments
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-50 of 178) (178 new)


Rhonda OMG!!! You haven't read these??? They're soooo gooood!!
You should move these on up on your list. One of my top favorite series!!!


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) LOL! I knowwww. I tried reading this one online and I only got a few pages in. I think I might have to actually buy it and physically have it in my hands to really enjoy it. But I will be trying it again.

Maybe I'll read it after I'm done with the Midnight Breed series?


Laura the Highland Hussy I got this for Christmas!! I need to start!


Rhonda Laura 'Highland Hussy' wrote: "I got this for Christmas!! I need to start!"

Lucky you! Book 5 comes out in Feb. I'm so excited I can't stand it!!! LOL


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) I haven't actually started reading this yet! Gonna start tonight I think!


Laura the Highland Hussy Rhonda wrote: "Laura 'Highland Hussy' wrote: "I got this for Christmas!! I need to start!"

Lucky you! Book 5 comes out in Feb. I'm so excited I can't stand it!!! LOL"


That good? I'm excited to start now


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) I'm starting to really like the series already. :D


Rhonda Laura 'Highland Hussy' wrote: "Rhonda wrote: "Laura 'Highland Hussy' wrote: "I got this for Christmas!! I need to start!"

Lucky you! Book 5 comes out in Feb. I'm so excited I can't stand it!!! LOL"

That good? I'm excited to st..."


YES Laura!! This is one of my favorite Vampire series, I'm so exited for the two of you, I want to do a reread!!!!


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) Okay, it's official. I love BONES!


message 11: by Rhonda (last edited Dec 26, 2010 05:32PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Rhonda Annie *Leather Lust* wrote: "Okay, it's official. I love BONES!"

SQUEEEEEE!!!!
*happy dance*


Rhonda Laura 'Highland Hussy' wrote: "Join in!!"

uuuugh....I'm still trying to finish FAEFEVER!!!! I will finish!!!


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) LMAO! I barely finished Faefever myself! Good luck!


Rhonda Annie *Leather Lust* wrote: "LMAO! I barely finished Faefever myself! Good luck!"

I really want to put it down and read something else. I know if I do, I may never pick it back up!!


Angela Carr (Under the Covers Book Blog) Can't wait to meet Bones! Damn it. I've had limited times for reading. Been too damn busy reading up on Annie-Sam-Leah-Laura-Suzanne2010 comments.
LOL


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) Hang in there, girl! I wont make any promises to you and tell you that it gets better in this book, because I thought it was the weakest one so far from the ones I've read...but do finish it Rhonda!!

Angela, you should read this series! LOL Have you been reading all our comments? LOL You silly girl! Join in and you'll be one of us!


Suzanne the Mighty (Under the Covers Book blog) I LOVE THIS BOOK AND BONES IS MY HUSBAND AND WE HAVE LOTS OF CRAZY DIRTY SCREAMING SEX!!! Ifeel better now that that is out my system! LOL


Laura the Highland Hussy Angela wrote: "Can't wait to meet Bones! Damn it. I've had limited times for reading. Been too damn busy reading up on Annie-Sam-Leah-Laura-Suzanne2010 comments.
LOL"


lmao, I know how you feel!!! :)


Laura the Highland Hussy Annie *Leather Lust* wrote: "LMAO! I barely finished Faefever myself! Good luck!"

Really? It was the one I re-read the most. I just loved V'lane in that one


Rhonda Laura 'Highland Hussy' wrote: "Annie *Leather Lust* wrote: "LMAO! I barely finished Faefever myself! Good luck!"

Really? It was the one I re-read the most. I just loved V'lane in that one"


Laura, I've been struggling!! I started this book 8 days ago, and I have 130 pages to go. I love V'lane, bit he isn't saving the book for me!! I hate feeling this way. Tell ya what, Give me some incentive to read Dreamfever next...without spoiling, I need someone to!!!


Laura the Highland Hussy umm...Mac Barrons and V'lane verbally sparring over Mac pg 170ish

V'lane taking Mac out on a "date" but actually giving her info about the fae

"Offer me something in exchange for what you ask of me, Mackayla. I am a prince and we have our pride." love that scene pg 117

The birthday cake scene (made me cry...stupid Barrons)pg 320ish

I think this is the book where Mac takes V'lane into the girls dorms at the Sidhe-seer building

Christian MacKeltar waking Mac up-241 (sigh, Christian MacKeltar)

And...Mac being taken over and over again by the Unseelie fae princes, and the mystery guy (one hell of a cliffhanger that made me throw my hardcover against the wall!!!)

But, don't read on unless you have dreamfever, cuz that cliffhanger sucked ass.


message 22: by Rhonda (last edited Dec 27, 2010 09:00PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Rhonda Laura 'Highland Hussy' wrote: "umm...Mac Barrons and V'lane verbally sparring over Mac pg 170ish

V'lane taking Mac out on a "date" but actually giving her info about the fae

"Offer me something in exchange for what you ask of ..."


Oh I have it!!!!Thanks girlie!! I think I'm gonna get back to it now!!!


Laura the Highland Hussy then I hope that it turns around for you, since I think it's such a great (if a bit dark) series


Rhonda Laura 'Highland Hussy' wrote: "then I hope that it turns around for you, since I think it's such a great (if a bit dark) series"

I hope so too!! I really liked the first 2, Now if I can get off this damn computer!!!! LOL


Laura the Highland Hussy I know! I'm with ya there! But it's so much fun to stalk my friends on gr :D


Rhonda Laura 'Highland Hussy' wrote: "I know! I'm with ya there! But it's so much fun to stalk my friends on gr :D"

I know Right??
Hey we're here chatting and I have this book on my TBR shelf, but I'm not sure how to get it. Maybe you gan provide me with a link.Highland Destiny


message 27: by Laura the Highland Hussy (last edited Dec 27, 2010 09:28PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Laura the Highland Hussy Sure!! :)
www.newconceptspublishing.com

Scroll down and I'm the second book listed, you'll see my avatar :)
If I linked it wrong, my profile has the direct link
Squee!! I'm so excited to see what you think!!

here's the actual link, they've changed the site around
http://www.newconceptspublishing.com/...


Rhonda Laura 'Highland Hussy' wrote: "Sure!! :)
www.newconceptspublishing.com

Scroll down and I'm the second book listed, you'll see my avatar :)
If I linked it wrong, my profile has the direct link
Squee!! I'm so excited to see wha..."


Thank you!!! I'll Check that out!!


Angela Carr (Under the Covers Book Blog) Annie, I guess I have to read and see. I still cant decide whih way to go. Cat and Bones or Mac and Barrons.
And yes!! I've read the comments. Sometimes, no, most all the time you guys leave me speechless. I told you. But you guys are definitely getting me more comfortable. LOL
Suzanne, LMAO. Out of your system? You sure?


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) I wanna read your book too, Laurie! Rated Spicy, huh? ;P I LIKE!!

Mmm, They're both UF so I mean either one is good, Angela. Fever series has less romance in it. Night Huntress has more HOT DIRTY SEX! Depends on what you like more! *ahem* dity sexxxx!

Suzanne, wanna say that one more time!? Didn't understand...


Rhonda Annie, Don't sugar coat the Fever series!!! There's barely any sexual tension, much less romance. The best scenes were in book 1 with V'lane. LOL!!!XOXO

Suzanne, it depends on what you're looking for. I'm on book 3 of the Fever series, and I've read all the Cat and Bones books, and in my opinion, I'll recommend Cat and Bones. Like Annie said,"HOT DIRTY SEX".

Annie, just wait til you get to book 2, SQUEEEE!!!


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) There's sexual tension. They want each other, but no one acts upon it! I personally lost interest in the Fever series after Faefever. Too much inner dialogue from Mac and not enough action. PLus, KMM teases us too much and then it leads to nothing...am I alone in thinking that, Rhonda? I felt deflated after it. My review was an angry one LOL.

I'm looking forward to it!! Everone's been telling me about book 2! LMAO!


Rhonda Annie you're not wrong about the teasing!!! And the story isn't progressing, not much new happening!! I mean...Okay we have those 5 things now...whatever they are. (see) and the addition of a couple of characters, but nothing noteworthy! I'm at a point of not caring now, obviously!!! But I'm gonna finish, and then I'm gonna RANT out a review!!!


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) LMAO!! THANK YOU! I felt like this series could be smushed into 3 books instead! All the rest was wasted effort! Barrons not in it enough, Mac talks too much about random stuff, V'lane comes and goes, and then the ENDING!! Ugh, wait till you get there!

Let me know when you finish it! I wanna hear your thoughts!


Rhonda Lol, okay!!


message 36: by Rhonda (last edited Dec 28, 2010 11:46AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Rhonda BTW, thanks for inadvertently getting me back on track! You see...I already strayed away to something else!! Carnal Ecstasy by Lissa Matthews, maybe this suggests some of what I'm missing!!! LMAO!!


Laura the Highland Hussy Lol!!! At both y'all!


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) YEAHHHHH DALLOOONNN!! SEXY RIGHT!?!?! I mean, how HOT is that book!? Wait, did you already read Vinter's story!? His is the best! And I liked Jaz's story too.


Angela Carr (Under the Covers Book Blog) Annie, i think for the short time we've know each other.. Toy'vw gotten to know me. Yes for yhe HOT AND DIRTY SEX!!! LOL


Rhonda Annie *Leather Lust* wrote: "YEAHHHHH DALLOOONNN!! SEXY RIGHT!?!?! I mean, how HOT is that book!? Wait, did you already read Vinter's story!? His is the best! And I liked Jaz's story too."

OMG!!!! YESSSS!!!! and YESSSSS!!!!!


message 41: by Rhonda (last edited Dec 28, 2010 02:07PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Rhonda Sam *Black Velvet* wrote: "Okay, Annie :) I'm ready to start this book now. I've finish VA."

Get going, but have the 2nd book ready when you're finished, you'll likely wanna get right to it!!! LOL!!
I love reliving this series through you ladies!!
ENJOY!


Suzanne the Mighty (Under the Covers Book blog) How have I missed so much!!

I have only read the first book of the Fever series but I really liked it, although I didn't really feel it for either Barrons or V'Lane. It sounds like it goes downhill! I do plan on reading the rest of the series in Jan.

Night Huntress ROCKS HARD! You are right I haven't got it out of my system!

I LOVE BONES; HE IS MY HUSBAND AND WE HAVE HOT SWEATY ILLEGAL-IN-SOME-COUNTRIES MONKEY SEX ALL NIGHT AND DAY LONG!!! Okay I think I am done...maybe!


message 43: by Rhonda (last edited Dec 28, 2010 04:00PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Rhonda Suzanne, I think this is one we'll never get out of our system!!


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) Rhonda! I can safely say that I like Cat now! She grew into herself in the latter half of the book! FINALLLLLLLLLLLLY!!!


Rhonda Annie *Leather Lust* wrote: "Rhonda! I can safely say that I like Cat now! She grew into herself in the latter half of the book! FINALLLLLLLLLLLLY!!!"

You'll like her even more as the serjes goes, I'm glad, there's nothing worse than not liking the heroine!


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) LOL especially that she's the narrator for the books! That would be bad!


message 47: by Rhonda (last edited Dec 29, 2010 10:10AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Rhonda SQUEEEEE!!!! I'm so happy for you!!!! Great review! *happy dance*

I love that this series has a different plot in each book. Like the adventures of Cat and Bones!!! What kind of trouble will they get into next???


Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog) LOL! Thanks Rhonda! Now I can officially say I read at least one book in this series! I'm going to read the next ones sooooooooooooon!


Rhonda BTW...I finished Faefever, I was so deflated in the end, I couldn't rant like I wanted.


Rhonda Annie *Leather Lust* wrote: "LOL! Thanks Rhonda! Now I can officially say I read at least one book in this series! I'm going to read the next ones sooooooooooooon!"

Have a little tissue handy for book 3. I don't know if books can affect you that way, but sometimes they do me!! Just Sayin'


« previous 1 3 4
back to top