Jacob's Reviews > The Collected Stories

The Collected Stories by Eudora Welty
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
637062
's review
Jul 11, 14

bookshelves: i-own, short-fiction, to-finish-later

My method for reading collections is to go one story (or several) per day until it's done. Welty's collection is more of a casual, lazy, pick-it-up-when-you-feel-like-readin'-one type of book. We're really not compatible, sorry.
2 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Collected Stories.
sign in »

Reading Progress

06/23/2012 page 0
0.0% "-Almost finished with Alan Sillitoe. Think I'll take a break, read another collection...
-NO
-Huh?
-WANNA READ WELTY
-I'll read Welty next month, after Sillitoe--
-WANNA READ WELTY NOW
-I have to finish the other collection first. Look, here's Tales from Earthsea, how about--
-WELTY WELTY WELTY WELTY
-OK FINE WE'LL READ WELTY.
-YAAAAAAYYYY
-Goddamn brain..."
06/24/2012 page 56
9.0% "Doubleplusgood." 2 comments
06/30/2012 page 150
23.0% "Finished A Curtain of Green and Other Stories, taking a break to (finally) finish Alan Sillitoe."
07/20/2012 page 153
25.0% "Continuing with The Wide Net and Other Stories."
07/26/2012 page 258
41.0% "Finished with The Wide Net and Other Stories. This isn't going so well. Welty's stories are probably supposed to be savored slowly, one at a time, not sped through like I'm doing. I should pause, take a break, then take my time..."
03/20/2014 marked as: paused
03/20/2014 marked as: unfinished
07/11/2014 marked as: to-finish-later
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-3 of 3) (3 new)

dateDown_arrow    newest »

Mikki I didn't find this collection as engaging as the first though I do agree that it's best not to read them at a fast pace.


message 2: by Jacob (last edited Sep 02, 2012 09:03PM) (new) - added it

Jacob Oops, missed your comment, sorry (probably because I set this book aside a month ago and ignored anything related to it). You're right about reading them at a leisurely pace. I'll have to try that, next time I feel like picking this up. At the moment, I just don't feel the urge.


message 3: by matt (new) - added it

matt I totally respect and envy your ambitious commitment to short story collections...they tend to engulf me, I'd much rather pick 'em off at 50-100 pages or so. I'm also a big believer in the idea that shorts should be...short. If you're going to keep me attentive with a 70-page short story, it better be good.


back to top