bookshelves

all (2648)
« 1 »

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
The Sweet Far Thing (Gemma Doyle, #3)
3.97
In this concluding novel from Libba Bray's Gemma Doyle Trilogy, Gemma and her friends at Spence Academy deal with the strict rules of their Victorian ...more
Oct 13, 2008
Jul 29, 2008
 
Dark Destiny (Dark, #13)
4.27
And it's not just "a" book review - it's my LAST book review of the year! Luckily, Dark Destiny was a really good book to end 2008 with. This is book ...more
Dec 28, 2008
Apr 02, 2008
 
About a Boy
3.79
About a Boy by Nick Hornby is my first "lad-lit" novel! The story revolves around two "boys" - Will Freeman, a somewhat pathetic, and self-absorbed 36 ...more
Jan 06, 2009
Oct 01, 2008
 
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, #4)
3.71
Breaking Dawn, is the fourth and final installment in the Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer.

Although I was completely happy with the resolution of the
...more
Dec 06, 2008
Nov 29, 2008
 
Street Game (GhostWalkers, #8)
4.25
The Ghostwalkers series is not my favorite of Christine Feehan's fictional worlds. I'm not much interested by the espionage and political wrong-doing ...more
Sep 25, 2010
Jun 29, 2009
 
Street Gang: The Complete History of Sesame Street
3.50
I finished Michael Davis' Street Gang: The Complete History of Sesame Street last week, but have been at a loss as to what to say in my review. But af ...more
May 11, 2009
Feb 18, 2009
 
Out of Africa
3.96
"I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills... It was Africa distilled up through six thousand feet, like the strong and refined essence o ...more
Apr 26, 2009
Apr 23, 2008
 
Before Green Gables
3.76
Most of us already know the story of Anne Shirley. She is the titular character in the novels Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Islan ...more
Dec 15, 2008
Aug 15, 2008
 
Anne of Windy Poplars (Anne of Green Gables, #4)
3.99
Although Anne of Windy Poplars is the fourth book chronologically in the Anne of Green Gables series, it was actually the seventh book L.M. Montgomery ...more
Jul 07, 2010
Aug 19, 2008
 
Dark Melody (Dark, #12)
4.19
Dark Melody is book 12 in Christine Feehan's Dark Carpathian series.

Let me just begin by saying thank goodness for this book! I am totally back on the
...more
Dec 22, 2008
Apr 02, 2008
 
Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, #6)
4.02
I have enjoyed everything I've read in Charlaine Harris' Southern Vampire Series and Definitely Dead does not disappoint! Harris has taken her action ...more
Mar 17, 2010
Jan 03, 2010
 
More Than You Know
3.58
>"Somebody once said, 'True love is like ghosts, which everybody talks about and few have seen.' I've seen both, and I don't know how to tell which ...more
Aug 14, 2008
Jul 09, 2008
 
All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, #7)
4.06
I can't exactly put my finger on it, but something has changed with book 7. I didn't enjoy All Together Dead as much as some of the previous books in ...more
Mar 23, 2010
Jan 03, 2010
 
Stardust
4.04
Described as "an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story," Neil Gaiman's Stardust is an extremely ...more
Aug 10, 2010
Jul 12, 2009
 
The Shining (The Shining, #1)
4.12
Stephen King's The Shining is my second book for the 1% Well-Read Reading Challenge. Although I'm sure that the plot is familiar to most of you, I'll ...more
Mar 11, 2009
Apr 23, 2008
 
We Have Always Lived in the Castle
4.06
"My name is Mary Katherine Blackwood. I am eighteen years old, and I live with my sister Constance. I have often thought that with any luck at all I c ...more
Aug 24, 2008
Jul 14, 2008
 
Anne of Ingleside (Anne of Green Gables, #6)
4.03
Anne of Ingleside is the sixth book in L.M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables series. This novel takes place about seven years after Anne's House of D ...more
Jul 08, 2010
Aug 19, 2008
 
The Zookeeper's Wife
3.48
The Zookeeper's Wife is an intriguing story of the Warsaw Zoo during the Nazi occupation of Poland. Zookeeper/Zoo Director Jan Zabinski and his wife A ...more
May 18, 2008
Apr 09, 2008
 
Tap & Gown (Secret Society Girl, #4)
4.19
Tap and Gown is the fourth and final book in Diana Peterfreund's fabulous Ivy League series. The series follows Amy Haskel as she is "tapped" and indu ...more
Jun 11, 2009
Mar 27, 2009
 
An Assembly Such as This  (Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman #1)
3.69
In An Assembly Such as This, Pamela Aidan re-tells the first part of Jane Austen masterpiece Pride and Prejudice through the eyes of Mr Fitzwilliam Da ...more
Jan 16, 2010
Jul 08, 2009
 
Burning Wild (Leopard People, #3)
4.23
I read Burning Wild quickly, in just a matter of hours. I found myself turning page after page, hoping to find that Jake Bannaconni would learn how to ...more
Aug 15, 2010
Mar 09, 2009
 
Everything I Needed to Know about Being a Girl I Learned from Judy Blume
3.45
Jennifer O'Connell edits Everything I Needed to Know About Being a Girl I Learned From Judy Blume, a book of captivating essays on the impact of iconi ...more
May 21, 2009
Dec 31, 2008
 
Rainbow Valley (Anne of Green Gables, #7)
3.98
Rainbow Valley is the seventh book in L.M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables series. It could almost be a stand-alone novel as there is very little of ...more
Jul 12, 2010
Aug 19, 2008
 
Anne's House of Dreams (Anne of Green Gables, #5)
4.11
Anne's House of Dreams is the fifth book in L.M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables series. The book begins with Anne and Gilbert's wedding at Green Ga ...more
Jul 08, 2010
Aug 19, 2008
 
Dark Magic (Dark #4)
4.24
Finally, the book that's given me nothing but heartache (in a good way,) Dark Magic by Christine Feehan. I have been anxious to read this one since I ...more
Mar 08, 2014
Mar 24, 2008
 
Water Bound (Sea Haven/Sisters of the Heart, #1)
4.15
Water Bound is the first in a new Christine Feehan series, the Sisters of the Heart series. I have really enjoyed her other series', but Water Bound w ...more
Aug 29, 2010
Aug 06, 2010
 
The Little Stranger
3.49
The Little Stranger is a delightfully creepy Gothic tale of the first order. Set in the dreary English countryside after WWII, this is the story of Hu ...more
Sep 26, 2009
Jul 23, 2009
 
The Pajama Girls of Lambert Square
3.59
The Pajama Girls of Lambert Square is the hilarious story of a cast of quirky characters set in small town South Carolina. It's contemporary, regional ...more
Aug 22, 2008
Jul 15, 2008
 
Sense and Sensibility
4.04
Sense and Sensibility is my first Jane Austen book. I received the new Kindle 2 as a gift from my husband last week, and quickly discovered some excel ...more
Mar 06, 2009
Apr 23, 2008
 
Dark Peril (Carpathians, #21)
4.24
As many of you know, I will always have a special place in my heart for Christine Feehan's Dark Carpathian series. It was really the first series in t ...more
Sep 07, 2010
Feb 14, 2010
Rss