cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
The 6th Extinction (Sigma Force, #10)
4.02
Review:

Reading a James Rollins is always a pleasure, he is an author who combines so many of my personal reading pleasures, there is the action of the
...more
not set
Aug 12, 2014
 
War at the Edge of the World
3.96
Review

Ian Ross and Twilight of Empire: War at the edge of the World has all the hallmarks of the next great Roman series. The author has chosen a peri
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
Hereward: Wolves of New Rome (Hereward, #4)
4.42
Review

Its that time of year again, Hereward is back and every year he gets better and better, the book and the writing at least, Poor Hereward himself
...more
not set
Aug 12, 2014
 
Fool's Assassin (The Fitz and The Fool Trilogy #1)
4.32
Review

Reviewing one of the giants of the genre is always difficult, if you don’t like the book or even find the slightest negative you can expect to b
...more
not set
Aug 12, 2014
 
Plague
3.66
Review

Plague for me was always going to be a difficult book by this exceptional author. His last title Shakespear’s Rebel was just so amazingly well w
...more
not set
Aug 12, 2014
 
Tyrant: Force of Kings (Tyrant #6)
4.60
Review

I makes no bones about the fact that I’m a Christian Cameron fan, his books top my annual must read list every year, and are often competing for
...more
not set
Aug 19, 2014
 
Rome's Lost Son
4.50
Review

Somehow i missed reviewing and reading Vespasian 5 Masters of Rome, so when Rome’s Lost Son arrived i made the decision to re-read the entire se
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
The Terror
4.00
Review

The Terror is a short story set in Giles Kristians fantastic retelling of 8th Century Norway, following the early exploits of our later (in the
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
The Devil's Assassin  (Jack Lark, #3)
4.56
The book starts out with a splendid and evocative title, I have been speculating for some time as to the plot of this next Jack Lark book. Fortunately ...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
The World Beneath (Joe Tesla, #1)
4.07
Review

No messing around on this one, straight into a simple question, please read these two books and someone please tell me how on earth these are be
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
Murder at the Kinnen Hotel (Powder Mage, #0.3)
4.17
Review

I’m always surprised by Brian’s books, his debut Promise of Blood (2013) was / is such an accomplished book, the characters so real, so tangible
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
Tom Swan and the Siege of Belgrade: Part Three
4.67
Review

If you’re an author and you want to write a series of short stories, then this is the bench mark, this is how it is done, and done excellently.
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
Death of an Avid Reader (Kate Shackleton, #6)
3.90
Review

2014 is the year I promised I would step out of my comfort zone, to read other genres and stretch my breadth of reading material. Death of an Av
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
Otherworld Nights (Otherworld Stories #3)
4.20
Review

Otherworld Nights is the first of three anthologies that are set in Kelley Armstrong’s, Women of the Otherworld series! This is the first of a t
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
Foxglove Summer (Peter Grant, #5)
4.15
Review

I’m a big fan of this series, ever since the very first book its been utterly original, witty, clever and a riveting read. Foxglove Summer was t
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
The Sword of Attila
3.00
Review:

Book one in this novel new series, starts with the real birth of the roman empire, the sacking of Carthage, the beginning of their real power i
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
Half the World (Shattered Sea, #2)
4.33
Review

Book Two in Joe Abercrombie’s Half a World series, set not long after book one, Yarvi is Minister and is trying to work his deep cunning to keep
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
Jack Lark: Rogue
3.25
Review

Short stories are always a tricky beast, how long should it be? is it a prequel? a side story and can you make a complete tale?

Rogue is 80 pages
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
Blood Infernal (The Order of the Sanguines, #3)
4.22
Review

When i first heard about this series i worried that it was just another vampire series, that it might be a bit of true blood band wagon jumping.
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
Brothers in Blood (Eagle, #13)
4.09
Review

I always like my reviews to be upfront and honest, so just for sake of clarity: I have been a fan of Simon Scarrow’s books since his first book
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
The Emperor's Knives (Empire, #7)
4.34
Review

When i first picked up Wounds of Honour in 2009 i had no idea i would be starting a journey of so much danger, excitement and action. Also when
...more
not set
Mar 02, 2014
 
The Tudor Conspiracy (The Spymaster Chronicles, #2)
3.77
Review:

Historical fiction is a genre I really enjoy reading But… Im really not a fan of the Tudor period, its one of the few parts of English history
...more
not set
Mar 02, 2014
 
Son of the Morning
4.09
Mark Alder: Son of the Morning: (Review)

Imagine taking the 100 years’ war and setting it in a different world, a parallel world. Some might say…its be
...more
not set
May 30, 2014
 
Tom Swan and the Siege of Belgrade: Part One
4.00
Christian Cameron, quite simply one of the finest writers i know and enjoy reading. Why? what makes his work so unique, so realistic?

Well....

Go to his
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
Dodger of the Dials (Dodger, #2)
4.44
Review

2013 saw in my (humble) opinion a very daring debut novel, in the form of James Benmore and Dodger ( Review ) . To take on writing the continuin
...more
May 14, 2014
May 15, 2014
 
Pyramid (Jack Howard, #8)
3.96
Review:

I have taken my time on this one, i wanted to read an review a little after the book had come out, i also wanted to go back and re-read Pharaoh
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
The Sword and the Throne (Aulus Caecina Severus, #2)
3.75
Last year saw the début release of the fantastic The Last Caesar. That book saw the meteoric climb of Aulus Caecina Severus. Well written, well-paced ...more
not set
Jun 29, 2013
 
The Tesla Legacy (Joe Tesla, #2)
4.63
Review

No messing around on this one, straight into a simple question, please read these two books and someone please tell me how on earth these are be
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
 
The Far Shore (Agent of Rome, #3)
4.12
Review:

It becomes, after a while very easy to say a book is the best yet, his finest work etc. to be honest I think that this should be the case, a pe
...more
not set
Jul 24, 2013
 
Knight's Shadow (Greatcoats, #2)
4.34
Review

In 1844 Alexandre Dumas wrote the Three Musketeers, in 2014 / 2015 Sebastien de Castell wrote Traitors Blade and Knights Shadow. Never have I wa
...more
not set
Mar 18, 2015
Rss