# cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
139
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking
4.01
a couple pages in ... someone GETS me!!!! this is something that would have been helpful 20 years ago, although I maybe wouldn't have recognized that ...more
not set
Oct 20, 2012
 
2
The Silmarillion (Middle-Earth Universe)
3.83
I read (meaning: skimmed through really fast) this about 3 years ago, and think it's time to give it a thorough examination.

I think I'll read, in thi
...more
not set
Sep 29, 2009
 
203
Shaming the Devil
3.43
Where do I trade my first born for this book????

also, for some neat tidbits about MM:

http://www.thegirlofnovels.com/2014/1...
not set
Dec 31, 2014
 
30
The Old Man and the Sea
3.67
well, if I'm going to make my son read this before he heads off to college, I have to give it a shot.
not set
Jun 13, 2012
 
195
Fragile Things: Short Fictions and Wonders
4.01
I have tried on numerous occasions to 'get' short stories...I'm just missing something in my head that can't wrap around them.

I thought, surely Gaima
...more
May 09, 2010
Apr 29, 2010
 
279
A Short History of Nearly Everything
4.17
I started reading this a bit... and I really like BB's style, and easy going way of explaining things.

This year (2011) is the Year of Patrick O'Brian
...more
not set
May 07, 2011
 
199
American Gods
4.10
putting aside for a while.
not set
Aug 21, 2014
 
117
James Potter and the Hall of Elders' Crossing (James Potter, #1)
3.77
Yay for Kindle! I cannot sit in front of a computer to read books, and I refuse to read books on my iPhone.
not set
Oct 25, 2011
 
1
Watchmen
4.33
will revisit

4/13/12 - watched movie. Conflicting feelings about the whole thing.
not set
Feb 09, 2012
 
74
A Dream of Spring (A Song of Ice and Fire, #7)
4.41
Sweet! When I retire in 25 years, I have this to look forward to!
not set
Jun 05, 2013
 
208
The Boy Most Likely To
3.82
ah...I just realized this is a sequel. Super pumped to read it!
not set
Jan 14, 2015
 
43
A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire, #5)
4.27
so...will it really be 4-6 years until the NEXT one comes out???!!
not set
Nov 26, 2011
 
27
The Winds of Winter (A Song of Ice and Fire, #6)
4.31
2015? I like the optimism!!
not set
May 12, 2012
 
252
The Tin Drum
3.95
None
not set
Apr 28, 2015
 
22
Testimonies
3.71
None
not set
Sep 28, 2010
 
14
21: The Final Unfinished Voyage of Jack Aubrey
3.92
None
not set
Sep 28, 2010
 
15
Lonesome Dove (Lonesome Dove, #1)
4.45
None
not set
Oct 18, 2010
 
13
Blue at the Mizzen (Aubrey/Maturin, #20)
4.36
None
not set
Sep 28, 2010
 
121
A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail
4.05
None
not set
May 07, 2011
 
122
The Mother Tongue: English and How It Got That Way
3.97
None
not set
May 07, 2011
 
123
Shakespeare: The World as Stage
3.77
None
not set
May 07, 2011
 
124
The Lost Continent: Travels in Small Town America
3.83
None
not set
May 07, 2011
 
125
The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid
3.91
None
not set
May 07, 2011
 
126
Notes from a Small Island
3.90
None
not set
May 07, 2011
 
127
I'm a Stranger Here Myself: Notes on Returning to America after Twenty Years Away
3.89
None
not set
May 07, 2011
 
128
In a Sunburned Country
4.04
None
not set
May 07, 2011
 
129
Walkabout: A Walk in the Woods & Down Under
4.00
None
not set
May 07, 2011
 
130
Icons of England
3.35
None
not set
May 07, 2011
 
131
The Discarded Image: An Introduction to Medieval and Renaissance Literature (Canto)
4.23
None
not set
Aug 17, 2011
 
132
The Most Beautiful Libraries in the World
4.17
None
not set
Sep 30, 2011
Rss More books shelved as 'to-read' »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10