bookshelves

all (1346)
« 1 »

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Bach: Music in the Castle of Heaven
4.06
liked it
Four months to read this book! Some brilliant things here, but also very frustrating. Gardiner strongly believes that Bach's religious music, specific ...more
Nov 27, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
 
A Legacy
3.69
it was ok
Sketchy.

Some clever dialogue (reminiscent of an Ivy Compton-Burnett novel) interspersed with undeveloped characters in a family drama set in Wilhelmin
...more
Feb 07, 2011
Jan 30, 2011
 
The Palace and the Bunker
2.67
did not like it
The typesetting is quite good, and the book is well-produced, with an attractive cover and nice photos.

The first half of the book consists of a "potte
...more
Feb 13, 2016
Feb 11, 2016
 
Gay Berlin: Birthplace of a Modern Identity
3.89
it was amazing
This is the book on gay culture in the German capital from the 1890s to the Nazi takeover in 1933 that I've wanted to read - kudos to Beachy for writi ...more
Mar 18, 2017
Mar 07, 2017
 
Mother Courage and Her Children
3.66
it was ok
Not impressed with this translation. The "North of England" dialect is jarring, "alienating" in the wrong way.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
 
The Franco-Prussian War 1870–1871
3.71
really liked it
Lavishly illustrated and short.
Jan 24, 2016
Jan 20, 2016
 
I Am My Own Wife
3.97
did not like it
Wow - I'm out of the consensus on this one. I'm just contradictory, I suppose,

For what it's worth: my dislike of this piece is largely because I want
...more
Jul 17, 2010
Jul 17, 2010
 
Confusion
4.13
really liked it
POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT - (though I think you'd have to be pretty dense not to realize what's going on after the first forty pages)

"The love that dare
...more
Aug 2013
Jul 31, 2013
 
The One from the Other (Bernard Gunther, #4)
4.10
really liked it
A great page turner - think "The Maltese Falcon" crossed with Christopher Browning's pathbreaking history of the Holocaust, "Ordinary Men".
Oct 27, 2011
Oct 22, 2011
 
The Swan King: Ludwig II of Bavaria
3.80
it was ok
None
May 30, 2009
May 26, 2009
 
Lola Montez: Her Life & Conquests
3.09
it was ok
None
Feb 2014
Jan 25, 2014
 
The Dancing Plague: The Strange, True Story of an Extraordinary Illness
3.40
liked it
None
Jun 04, 2014
May 28, 2014
 
My Germany: A Jewish Writer Returns to the World His Parents Escaped
3.63
liked it
None
May 06, 2013
May 04, 2013
 
The Damnable Duke of Cumberland
3.50
liked it
None
Dec 21, 2014
Dec 15, 2014
 
The Ghosts of Berlin: Confronting German History in the Urban Landscape
4.04
really liked it
None
Feb 10, 2015
Jan 31, 2015
 
The Magic Mountain
4.14
liked it
None
Jun 17, 2013
Apr 30, 2013
 
The last German Empress
3.42
liked it
None
Feb 03, 2016
Feb 02, 2016
 
Sophie Dorothea
3.00
really liked it
None
Dec 16, 2012
Dec 10, 2012
 
Mephisto
3.97
really liked it
None
Apr 17, 2016
Apr 07, 2016
 
Bismarck
3.65
really liked it
None
Nov 25, 2011
Sep 22, 2011
 
The Short, Strange Life of Herschel Grynszpan: A Boy Avenger, a Nazi Diplomat, and a Murder in Paris
3.62
really liked it
None
Oct 02, 2016
Sep 16, 2016
 
The Prussian Princesses: The Sisters of Kaiser Wilhelm II
3.85
liked it
None
Feb 24, 2017
Feb 23, 2017
 
Spring Awakening
3.82
it was ok
None
May 07, 2010
May 05, 2010
 
The Richest Man Who Ever Lived: The Life and Times of Jacob Fugger
3.90
liked it
None
Apr 18, 2017
Apr 15, 2017
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'germany' »