cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary
3.84
The History and the process behind the organization of the Oxford English Dictionary was so fascinating that parts of the book read like a novel.
Sep 2006
Jan 26, 2008
 
Love in the Time of Cholera
3.86
I think it is not effective to critique a book one has only read in translation, but I learned that love has many faces.
Nov 12, 2009
Nov 12, 2009
 
World Without End
4.18
Nov 2009
Nov 12, 2009
 
Beauty Before Comfort: A Memoir
3.33
I read this book for Southern flavor since I was attempting to do some writing in that genre. I enjoyed it.
Dec 2006
Jan 26, 2008
 
Me Talk Pretty One Day
3.94
This is a clever, funny book that gets too clever to continue to be as funny, but I am still glad I read it.
Feb 2007
Jan 26, 2008
 
The Madonnas of Leningrad
3.71
This is the best novel I have read about the actual paintings in and the workings of the Hermitage.
Jul 2007
Jan 26, 2008
 
The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
3.76
I really enjoyed this book and of the four or five Gresham books I have read, it is the best.
Oct 2007
Jan 26, 2008
 
The Boxer Uprising: Campaigns, Medals, And Men
5.00
Interesting stories of the trouble in the area around Canton just at the turn of the Century
Apr 2004
Jan 26, 2008
 
The Radiant Future
4.25
The difference between reality and the perception of the Soviet experiment was vividly portrayed.
Jan 1998
Apr 02, 2009
 
Thunder in the Mountans: The West Virginia Mine War, 1920-21
4.16
I read this as research and found it useful
Jun 2005
Jan 26, 2008
 
Wisdom of Our Fathers: Lessons and Letters from Daughters and Sons
4.07
This is a pleasant, feel good book.
Oct 2007
Jan 26, 2008
 
The Hawks Nest Tunnel
2.80
It is good for the timeline of events.
Mar 06, 2010
Apr 15, 2010
 
The Distant Lands: A Novel of the Antebellum South
3.76
Meticulous writing.
Oct 23, 2010
Oct 23, 2010
 
Desire of the Everlasting Hills: The World Before and After Jesus
3.91
None
not set
Jan 18, 2012
 
The Children's War: A Novel
4.20
None
Jan 2006
Jul 08, 2009
 
True Grit
4.11
None
Jan 21, 2011
Jan 24, 2011
 
The Bell Curve: Intelligence and Class Structure in American Life
3.21
None
not set
Apr 18, 2012
 
The Hawk's Nest Incident: Americas Worst Industrial Disaster
3.62
None
not set
Mar 17, 2008
 
Lost in the Taiga: One Russian Family's Fifty-Year Struggle for Survival and Religious Freedom in the Siberian Wilderness
3.81
None
not set
Mar 17, 2008
 
The Battle for Rome: The Germans, the Allies, the Partisans, and the Pope, September 1943--June 1944
3.97
None
not set
Apr 26, 2009
 
The Path Between the Seas: The Creation of the Panama Canal, 1870-1914
4.17
None
not set
Mar 27, 2008
 
Count Luckner: The Sea Devil
4.08
None
Jan 1942
Jul 08, 2009
 
The Good Guy
3.79
None
not set
Apr 04, 2010
 
The Oak And The Calf: Sketches Of Literary Life In The Soviet Union
3.99
None
not set
Aug 29, 2009
 
Cold Mountain
3.76
None
not set
May 19, 2011
 
The Gifts of the Jews: How a Tribe of Desert Nomads Changed the Way Everyone Thinks and Feels
3.84
None
not set
Dec 07, 2011
 
The Thin Red Line
3.93
None
not set
Mar 21, 2008
 
The Shepherd of the Hills
4.14
None
not set
Oct 09, 2011
 
The Spectator Bird
3.95
None
Jan 1991
Jul 08, 2009
 
Humboldt's Gift
3.85
None
not set
Jul 08, 2013
Rss