cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
The Long Way Home (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache, #10)
4.09
THE LONG WAY HOME is a book for those of us who are long time readers of the series; in it, we are rewarded with new views on some of our most beloved...more
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
 
The Goldfinch
3.89
How to describe THE GOLDFINCH? It could
have been half as long and still as powerful a story -- but then it wouldn't be a Donna Tartt. Beautifully writ...more
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
 
To Dwell in Darkness (Duncan Kincaid & Gemma James, #16)
4.11
Another excellent entry into the Kincaid/James series. While previous books have sometimes felt as though the mystery needing to be solved takes turns...more
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
 
How the Light Gets In (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache, #9)
4.45
Every time, I wonder how Penny could possibly keep getting better. While the last entry in the Gamache series was a little bit of a deviation, with LI...more
May 18, 2013
Mar 28, 2013
 
My Real Children
3.74
I have long been a fan of personal alternate history narratives -- whether the film SLIDING DOORS or Lionel Shriver's novel THE POST BIRTHDAY WORLD. T...more
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
 
The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry
4.01
A perfect little book -- for your mother, your sister, your friend who loves books, the readers in your life, your book club... a delightful look at t...more
Feb 19, 2014
Feb 17, 2014
 
Lives in Ruins: Archeologists and the Seductive Lure of Human Rubble
4.33
Many a librarian knows Marilyn from her book on our profession, THIS BOOK IS OVERDUE. As in that title, Marilyn takes us into many different aspects o...more
Sep 27, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
 
Beautiful Wreck
4.22
Librarians: you know how it is incredibly difficult to find a truly good readalike for Diana Gabaldon's OUTLANDER? Well, look no further: BEAUTIFUL WR...more
Feb 02, 2014
Feb 01, 2014
 
The Martian
4.33
I am not even sure how to start a review of this book: it was that enjoyable. The perfect blend of go-where-no-man-has-gone-before, the mystery -- and...more
Feb 27, 2014
Feb 28, 2014
 
All Joy and No Fun: The Paradox of Modern Parenthood
3.84
Not a lot of surprises, if you've read some of the recent articles and books on modern parenting. Parents today are too hard on themselves; society ha...more
Feb 17, 2014
Feb 09, 2014
 
Valour and Vanity (Glamourist Histories, #4)
4.04
With each entry in the Glamourist series, Mary Robinette Kowal keeps getting better and better. We the reader can enjoy a large cast of wonderfully dr...more
Apr 29, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
 
Say Yes to the Marquess (Castles Ever After, #2)
4.37
Take one independent heroine in Clio, one lonely and forgotten second son who happens to be a champion prizefighter in Rafe, a castle, plans for a bre...more
Sep 25, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
 
The Enchanted
3.96
Haunting and spare, this gorgeously written novel explores deeply the many threads that make up a human life. With constantly shifting perspectives an...more
Oct 28, 2013
Oct 28, 2013
 
Half Bad (The Half Bad Trilogy, #1)
3.83
A spare and exquisite look at the dark side of family, magic, and discrimination. Imagine if Harry Potter hadn't been rescued from his room in the cup...more
Feb 08, 2014
Feb 09, 2014
 
Any Duchess Will Do (Spindle Cove, #4)
4.12
Purists may not like the duke-and-commoner love story -- but who cares how plausible it is when you have characters as fantastic as Griff and Pauline...more
Dec 02, 2013
Dec 01, 2013
 
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)
3.69
Ladies, put this book down and march into your local library or bookstore and ask for some well-written erotica or romance. You won't be sorry.
May 2012
Jun 18, 2012
 
The Bees
3.67
Quiet and powerful look -- through bees -- at the power struggles, divisions, and religious and political fervor of societies.
May 03, 2014
Apr 30, 2014
 
Juliet's Nurse
3.76
Leveen excels at taking someone little known in history (first, in real life, with Mary Bowser, and now, in fiction, with the nurse from ROMEO & J...more
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
 
Without a Summer (Glamourist Histories, #3)
3.96
Best of the series so far.
Mar 11, 2013
Feb 26, 2013
 
Tampa
3.29
I have to admit that I was terribly disappointed in this book. With its uncomfortable subject matter, its willingness to turn fundamental questions of...more
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
 
Cocktails for a Crowd: Punches, Pitchers, and More
2.75
Great little book full of lots of different kinds of cocktails, from fruity to bubbly to classic, most with easily obtainable ingredients. Good tips f...more
Dec 23, 2013
Dec 23, 2013
 
The Wild Truth: The Untold Story of Sibling Survival
3.77
The fact that Chris McCandless had a less-than-wonderful home life feels as though it is not a surprise to me; even if it was not expressly stated in...more
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
 
Written in My Own Heart's Blood (Outlander, #8)
4.44
As with the last several books, WRITTEN suffers from too-muchness: too much rambling, too much detail, too much digression. While the Roger/Bree story...more
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
 
The Dinner
3.21
On its own, THE DINNER would be a pitch-perfect look at what we hide. However, the book utterly fails in its comparisons to GONE GIRL -- it's missing...more
Mar 07, 2013
Feb 15, 2013
 
Pure Heat (Firehawks, #1)
3.90
If you can get past the fact that the book is really about fighting forest fires and the tools teams use (particularly helicopters), it's quite intere...more
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
 
Heroes Are My Weakness
3.70
While both a little darker (a near drowning, mysterious break ins), and a little more ridiculous (a puppeteer?!) than previous Phillips books, the dev...more
Jul 2014
Jul 01, 2014
 
Vicious
4.21
Intelligent, fast-paced, and dark novel that asks the reader to decide what is good and evil. Brilliant.
Dec 29, 2013
Dec 27, 2013
 
Five Seasons: A Baseball Companion
4.28
I grew up loving baseball because my family was a family of Red Sox fans. Baseball, for me, is the joy, and the pain, of loving a team who can shoot t...more
Apr 14, 2014
Apr 13, 2014
 
The House on Fortune Street
3.56
An surprising study of four connected people and the secrets that both bind and separate. This book was on the Entertainment Weekly list of the top fi...more
Jan 2009
Jun 17, 2012
 
Beguiling the Beauty (Fitzhugh Trilogy, #1)
3.79
Fantastic romance from a fantastic writer. Thomas is such a pleasure to read because of her unusual main characters -- they always have real personali...more
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 39 40