cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
The Long Way Home (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache, #10)
4.04
THE LONG WAY HOME is a book for those of us who are long time readers of the series; in it, we are rewarded with new views on some of our most beloved ...more
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
 
To Dwell in Darkness (Duncan Kincaid & Gemma James, #16)
4.10
Another excellent entry into the Kincaid/James series. While previous books have sometimes felt as though the mystery needing to be solved takes turns ...more
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
 
Golden Son (Red Rising Trilogy, #2)
4.52
It's the rare sequel that can not only live up to its predecessor, but improve upon it; GOLDEN SON is one of those sequels. Darrow has risen high foll ...more
Nov 05, 2014
Nov 02, 2014
 
The Goldfinch
3.86
How to describe THE GOLDFINCH? It could
have been half as long and still as powerful a story -- but then it wouldn't be a Donna Tartt. Beautifully writ
...more
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
 
Say Yes to the Marquess (Castles Ever After, #2)
3.91
Take one independent heroine in Clio, one lonely and forgotten second son who happens to be a champion prizefighter in Rafe, a castle, plans for a bre ...more
Sep 25, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
 
A God in Ruins
4.08
An absolutely stunning companion to LIFE AFTER LIFE, focusing on the story of Teddy Todd. I would have thought it impossible to love him more than I d ...more
Feb 06, 2015
Jan 31, 2015
 
How the Light Gets In (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache, #9)
4.42
Every time, I wonder how Penny could possibly keep getting better. While the last entry in the Gamache series was a little bit of a deviation, with LI ...more
May 18, 2013
Mar 28, 2013
 
The Martian
4.35
I am not even sure how to start a review of this book: it was that enjoyable. The perfect blend of go-where-no-man-has-gone-before, the mystery -- and ...more
Feb 27, 2014
Feb 28, 2014
 
The Girl on the Train
3.89
The psychological thriller at its quiet best: eerie and uncomfortable, with the spaces inbetween providing the fear. Our main character, Rachel, is a ...more
Jan 23, 2015
Jan 23, 2015
 
My Real Children
3.73
I have long been a fan of personal alternate history narratives -- whether the film SLIDING DOORS or Lionel Shriver's novel THE POST BIRTHDAY WORLD. T ...more
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
 
The Wild Truth: The Untold Story of Sibling Survival
3.56
The fact that Chris McCandless had a less-than-wonderful home life feels as though it is not a surprise to me; even if it was not expressly stated in ...more
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
 
The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry
3.96
A perfect little book -- for your mother, your sister, your friend who loves books, the readers in your life, your book club... a delightful look at t ...more
Feb 19, 2014
Feb 17, 2014
 
Lives in Ruins: Archeologists and the Seductive Lure of Human Rubble
3.64
Many a librarian knows Marilyn from her book on our profession, THIS BOOK IS OVERDUE. As in that title, Marilyn takes us into many different aspects o ...more
Sep 27, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
 
Beautiful Wreck
4.11
Librarians: you know how it is incredibly difficult to find a truly good readalike for Diana Gabaldon's OUTLANDER? Well, look no further: BEAUTIFUL WR ...more
Feb 02, 2014
Feb 01, 2014
 
All Joy and No Fun: The Paradox of Modern Parenthood
3.85
Not a lot of surprises, if you've read some of the recent articles and books on modern parenting. Parents today are too hard on themselves; society ha ...more
Feb 17, 2014
Feb 09, 2014
 
Valour and Vanity (Glamourist Histories, #4)
4.03
With each entry in the Glamourist series, Mary Robinette Kowal keeps getting better and better. We the reader can enjoy a large cast of wonderfully dr ...more
Apr 29, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
 
The Secrets of Sir Richard Kenworthy (Smythe-Smith Quartet, #4)
3.60
This book is likely both much better and much worse for not having read the description, which is a big, fat, spoiler. Just what Sir Richard Kenworthy ...more
Nov 24, 2014
Nov 25, 2014
 
The Enchanted
3.95
Haunting and spare, this gorgeously written novel explores deeply the many threads that make up a human life. With constantly shifting perspectives an ...more
Oct 28, 2013
Oct 28, 2013
 
Half Bad (Half Bad, #1)
3.82
A spare and exquisite look at the dark side of family, magic, and discrimination. Imagine if Harry Potter hadn't been rescued from his room in the cup ...more
Feb 08, 2014
Feb 09, 2014
 
Death of a Liar (Hamish Macbeth, #31)
3.68
Hamish, the villages and people of the Scottish Highlands, and the machinations of the police force remain as amusing and charming as ever, even if th ...more
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
 
A Dangerous Place (Maisie Dobbs, #11)
3.76
An absolutely terrific entry into the Maisie Dobbs series, this time featuring an unusual setting in Gibraltar at the time of the Spanish Civil War as ...more
Jan 31, 2015
Jan 29, 2015
 
Any Duchess Will Do (Spindle Cove, #4)
4.09
Purists may not like the duke-and-commoner love story -- but who cares how plausible it is when you have characters as fantastic as Griff and Pauline ...more
Dec 02, 2013
Dec 01, 2013
 
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)
3.70
Ladies, put this book down and march into your local library or bookstore and ask for some well-written erotica or romance. You won't be sorry.
May 2012
Jun 18, 2012
 
The Bees
3.65
Quiet and powerful look -- through bees -- at the power struggles, divisions, and religious and political fervor of societies.
May 03, 2014
Apr 30, 2014
 
Juliet's Nurse
3.56
Leveen excels at taking someone little known in history (first, in real life, with Mary Bowser, and now, in fiction, with the nurse from ROMEO & J ...more
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
 
Without a Summer (Glamourist Histories, #3)
3.95
Best of the series so far.
Mar 11, 2013
Feb 26, 2013
 
Second Life
3.18
Lacks the brilliant pacing of Watson's first, BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP, which unfortunately makes the first half a fairly pedestrian thriller. When the pl ...more
Dec 28, 2014
Dec 26, 2014
 
Madam President (Charlotte Kramer, #3)
3.55
Fast-paced and interesting look at the White House in a time of crisis, both personally for our main characters and as a nation. Old hurts and rivalri ...more
Apr 12, 2015
Apr 12, 2015
 
Armada
3.81
If you have never read Cline's READY PLAYER ONE, perhaps read this first; fans of RPO will likely be disappointed, as I was. One its own, ARMADA is cl ...more
May 22, 2015
May 23, 2015
 
Tampa
3.30
I have to admit that I was terribly disappointed in this book. With its uncomfortable subject matter, its willingness to turn fundamental questions of ...more
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 42 43