cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
Lighthousekeeping
3.82
I kind of wanted to like this more than I did; I really love Winterson's writing, and her language here is as beautiful as ever. The problem I had wit ...more
May 2005
Feb 27, 2008
 
The Shop on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, #1 )
4.03

Predictable, sappy, WAY too focused on traditional gender roles... Should I go on? I should've guessed all this from the back of the book, but it was
...more
May 2004
Mar 15, 2008
 
Shade
3.30
From the description on the back of this book, it sounds like The Lovely Bones, but it's really not. Yes, there's a murder, yes, the spirit of the wom ...more
Nov 2004
Feb 29, 2008
 
Cold Shoulder Road (The Wolves Chronicles, #9)
3.84
Sequel to Is Underground. In the previous book in the series, Is Twite travelled north to find her missing cousin, Arun. Now Arun has been found, and ...more
Mar 2005
Feb 29, 2008
 
Necklace of Kisses (Weetzie Bat, #6)
3.87
**spoiler alert** I approached this novel with a little bit of trepidation, because while I've always been a fan of Block's work, I've been a bit disa ...more
May 2005
Jan 27, 2008
 
Hellblazer: Hard Time
4.18
At first I had trouble getting into this Hellblazer installment. The artwork and setting are very, very different from what we've become accustomed to ...more
Aug 2006
Feb 07, 2008
 
The Historian
3.74
This is a sort of literary horror novel, and Kostova carries it off fairly well, except that I often felt that the horror aspect was very much dwarfed ...more
Mar 2005
Feb 29, 2008
 
Sing a Song of Tuna Fish: Hard-To-Swallow Stories from Fifth Grade
3.58
I loved Codell's novel, Sahara Special, so I was looking forward to reading this memoir of Codell's fifth grade years. I found it rather disappointing ...more
Oct 2004
Mar 14, 2008
 
Hellblazer: Freezes Over
4.05
Definitely a great Hellblazer collection. The main story arc, "Freezes Over," is a neat, self-contained story about a group of travellers snowed in at ...more
Aug 2006
Feb 07, 2008
 
The Hitchcock Murders
3.42
This was an interesting overview of some of what makes Hitchcock a great director, and a discussion of why we find his films so compelling. Conrad ann ...more
Dec 2004
Feb 29, 2008
 
Land of Echoes (Cree Black, #2)
3.75
This is the second Cree Black mystery. Cree, a parapsychologist, is investigating the possible possession of Tommy Keeday, a Navajo teenager, in New M ...more
May 2005
Feb 27, 2008
 
The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus, #1)
3.96
This is a solid fantasy that I found enjoyable, if not entirely earthshaking. I liked the characterization of the protagonist, Nathaniel; he is a youn ...more
Dec 2004
Feb 29, 2008
 
The Contender
3.57
I surprised myself by REALLY liking this book. It's nothing I would've ever picked up if I hadn't had to read it for class; it's about a young black m ...more
Jan 2004
Mar 15, 2008
 
Codex
2.98
I was disappointed with this book; I thought the narrative felt disjointed, and I wasn't particularly engaged by the protagonist. On the other hand, I ...more
Apr 2004
Mar 15, 2008
 
Please Don't Kill the Freshman
3.52
This is the real memoir of a highschool student, and it does read like one -- the same concerns that plagued you when you were in highschool are here ...more
Dec 2004
Feb 29, 2008
 
The Sign of Four (Sherlock Holmes, #2)
3.96
A great short Sherlock Holmes novel (really more of a novella, I suppose). A one-legged man, exotic treasure from India, a beautiful woman in distress ...more
Sep 2004
Mar 15, 2008
 
Julia
3.52
I didn't like this one nearly so well as Straub's other novels. The beginning was promising, and the tension builds nicely through the first 3/4 of th ...more
Mar 2005
Feb 29, 2008
 
The Land That Never Was: Sir Gregor MacGregor and the Most Audacious Fraud in History
3.62
The story of Poyais, the gorgeous South American country that never existed... The tale is fascinating, but Sinclair sucks a lot of the interest out o ...more
Jul 2004
Mar 15, 2008
 
The Jane Austen Book Club
3.03
A witty, entirely enjoyable read about a group of disparate women (and one man) who form a book club focusing on the works of Jane Austen. I thought i ...more
Apr 2004
Mar 15, 2008
 
Sleep Toward Heaven
3.81
A lovingly written, unsentimental portrayal of a woman on death row, Karen, and how her life touches two others: Franny, the new prison doctor, and Ce ...more
May 2004
Mar 15, 2008
 
The Parrot Who Owns Me: The Story of a Relationship
3.95
A fun, fast true story about an ornithologist who adopts Tiko, a badly behaved, thirty-year-old parrot. While I loved reading about Tiko and the way t ...more
Mar 2005
Feb 27, 2008
 
Charlie Bone and the Invisible Boy (The Children of the Red King, #3)
3.88
This series continues to be a lot of fun, but for some reason I didn't like this one as well as the others. I think it's because there are hints of so ...more
Aug 2004
Mar 15, 2008
 
A Wrinkle in Time (A Wrinkle in Time Quintet, #1)
4.04
This is a re-read, revisiting one of my favorites from my childhood. It holds up very well, and I still found it enchanting. I had forgotten, however, ...more
not set
Jul 02, 2008
 
The Fall of Fergal: The First Unlikely Exploit (Unlikely Exploits, #1)
3.79

A fun kids' novel in the tradition of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, although possibly not quite of the same calibre.. I enjoyed it, but I probably wo
...more
Jul 2004
Mar 15, 2008
 
The Dark Hills Divide (The Land of Elyon, #1)
3.70
This is an entertaining bit of fluff, but unfortunately, the plot and character development don't live up to the interesting setting. I did like the p ...more
Nov 2006
Feb 06, 2008
 
The Hobbit
4.21
None
not set
Feb 26, 2008
 
The Alchemist
3.77
None
not set
Jan 28, 2008
 
The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next, #1)
3.92
None
May 05, 2009
Apr 08, 2008
 
The Integral Trees / The Smoke Ring
3.68
None
not set
Feb 26, 2008
 
Beowulf
3.39
None
not set
Nov 16, 2008
Rss More books shelved as 'owned' »
« previous 1