cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Godless: The Church of Liberalism
3.25

Ann Coulter, Godless: The Church of Liberalism (Crown, 2006)

I would like to be able to review Ann Coulter's newest tome, Godless: The Church of Libera
...more
Sep 02, 2008
Jul 04, 2008
 
Birth Control Is Sinful in the Christian Marriages and Also Robbing God of Priesthood Children!!
1.63
Ms. Eliyzabeth Yanne Strong-Anderson, BIRTH CONTROL IS SINFUL IN THE CHRISTIAN MARRIAGES and also ROBBING GOD OF PRIESTHOOD CHILDREN!! (AuthorHouse, 2 ...more
Feb 22, 2012
Mar 29, 2012
 
Sometimes a Great Notion
4.23
Ken Kesey, Sometimes a Great Notion (Bantam Windstone, 1964)

I really, really wanted to like this book. An underread novel by an acknowledged American
...more
Jan 2002
Jan 24, 2008
 
The House of the Spirits
4.17
Isabel Allende, The House of the Spirits (Knopf, 1985)

The House of the Spirits has set a new record at Goat Central. I have been trying to read this b
...more
Nov 26, 2008
Jan 10, 2008
 
The Silmarillion (Middle-Earth Universe)
3.80
J. R. R. Tolkien, The Silmarillion (Ballantine, 1977)

In the sixties, something changed. Perhaps Mother Church realized that people were turning away f
...more
Aug 04, 2000
Feb 11, 2008
 
Herland
3.43
Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Herland (Dover, 1909)

I always found it odd that Gilman, a prolific writer during her life, had become so obscure less than a
...more
Aug 2003
Jan 22, 2008
 
Justine (The Alexandria Quartet, #1)
3.96

10 of 21 people found the following review helpful:
1.0 out of 5 stars Description, yes. Plot and characters, no., November 6, 2003

Lawrence Durrell, J
...more
Nov 2003
Jan 22, 2008
 
Elegance
3.35
Kathleen Tessaro, Elegance (Morrow, 2003)

There is a particular passage in the book-within-a-book Elegance that defines, in a far more eloquent way, so
...more
Oct 13, 2009
Oct 14, 2009
 
Brainless: The Lies and Lunacy of Ann Coulter
2.92
Joe Maguire, Brainless: The Lies and Lunacy of Ann Coulter (Morrow, 2006)

I set out to read both Ann Coulter's Godless: The Church of Liberalism and Jo
...more
Sep 02, 2008
Aug 25, 2008
 
A Bad Boy Can Be Good for a Girl
3.54
Tanya Lee Stone, A Bad Boy Can Be Good for a Girl (Wendy Lamb Books, 2008)

As a reward to myself for finishing one book I started in September of 2008
...more
Feb 21, 2009
Nov 19, 2008
 
Hitler's Pope
3.47
John Cornwell, Hitler's Pope: The Secret History of Pius XII (Viking, 1999)

I feel guilty abandoning this book. The subject matter is tailor made to su
...more
Nov 2001
Jan 24, 2008
 
Wittgenstein's Mistress
4.02
David Markson, Wittgenstein's Mistress (Dalkey Archive Press, 1988)

I gave up on it. I understand its appeal for many, and it's probably the best examp
...more
Dec 16, 2000
Feb 11, 2008
 
Ghostwritten
4.08
David Mitchell, Ghostwritten (Random House, 1999)

Ghostwritten was one of the first books to hit my Amazon wish list back when I first set it up four y
...more
Feb 2004
Jan 22, 2008
 
Holy Bible : 21st Century King James Version
4.40
The 21st Century King James Bible (21st Century King James Bible Publishers, 1995)

I tried. I really did. I've always meant to read the Bible, at least
...more
Sep 08, 2009
Sep 10, 2009
 
Demons Five, Exorcists Nothing: A Fable
3.00
William Peter Blatty, Demons Five, Exorcists Nothing (Donald I. Fine, 1996)

William Peter Blatty, the guy who made being a priest and a novelist cool y
...more
Sep 2003
Jan 22, 2008
 
High Society How Substance Abuse Ravages America and What to Do About It
2.90
[NOTE: Review edited for length reasons, full review at Amazon]

As long as there have been humans, there have been doomsayers. These people see it as t
...more
Nov 23, 2008
Jul 03, 2008
 
Porn Generation: How Social Liberalism Is Corrupting Our Future
3.43
Ben Shapiro, Porn Generation: How Social Liberalism Is Corrupting Our Future (Regnery, 2005)

When a book is blurbed by both Ann Coulter and Laura Schle
...more
Oct 2007
Jan 10, 2008
 
The Art and Craft of Poetry
3.65
Michael J. Bugeja, The Art and Craft of Poetry (Writer's Digest, 1994)

Bugeja gets the first Gentleman's C I have ever given a book. I didn't even make
...more
Jun 2003
Jan 23, 2008
 
Purple America
3.50
Rick Moody, Purple America (Back Bay Books, 1997)

When Rick Moody released The Ice Storm a few years back, he was heralded as the next big thing in the
...more
Jan 16, 2001
Feb 11, 2008
 
The Flounder
3.76
Gunter Grass, The Flounder (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1977)

I just couldn't get through it. I can't really put my finger on why, but there it is. The
...more
Apr 05, 2001
Feb 11, 2008
 
Inside Transracial Adoption
3.53
Gail Steinberg and Beth Hall, Inside Transracial Adoption (Perspectives Press, 2000)

The more books I encounter from Perspectives Press (and as my wife
...more
Jan 31, 2008
Jan 19, 2008
 
Tenure: Ten Years of Poetry by M. Greenfield
1.00
Matt Greenfield, Tenure (iUniverse, 2009)

I started seriously writing poetry in 1984, when I was sixteen years old. Needless to say, I thought it was t
...more
Nov 29, 2010
Dec 01, 2010
 
Destiny news
1.00
Robert Fox, Destiny News (December Press, 1977)

While it is undeniable that I have become a much more efficient reader since I have embraced the fifty-
...more
Aug 15, 2013
Oct 12, 2013
 
Well Founded Fear
3.33
Tom LeClair, Well-Founded Fear (Olin Frederick, 2000)

We are three days into 2010 as I write this, and I have already sent my first book flying out the
...more
Jan 03, 2010
Jan 15, 2010
 
The Windows of Brimnes: An American in Iceland
3.52
Bill Holm, The Windows of Brimnes: An American in Iceland (Milkweed Editions, 2007)

The first sentence of the jacket copy for this book tells us, “Poet
...more
Oct 28, 2009
Nov 30, 2009
 
Finding My Elegy: New and Selected Poems
3.89
Ursula K. Le Guin, Finding My Elegy: New and Selected Poems (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012)

Full disclosure: This book was provided to me free of cha
...more
Mar 07, 2013
Mar 12, 2013
 
Death Ray Butterfly
2.86
Tom Lichtenberg, Rays and Nights, vol. 2: Death Ray Butterfly (Lulu, 2010)

I have just done something that, to date, I never have before: I abandoned a
...more
Feb 20, 2012
Mar 29, 2012
 
Blood and Roses
3.75
A. K. Alexander, Blood and Roses (Thomas and Mercer, 2013)

Full disclosure: This book was provided to me free of charge by Amazon Vine.

There are some b
...more
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
 
Speaker for the Dead (The Ender Quintet, #2)
4.00
Orson Scott Card, Speaker for the Dead (Tor, 1994)

I read Ender's Game roughly a decade ago and liked it a great deal. In his preface to Speaker for th
...more
Oct 30, 2013
Jan 08, 2014
 
Burned (Burned, #1)
4.23
Ellen Hopkins, Burned (Simon Pulse, 2006)

I will admit, I picked this up as a combination of combustible (a book I'm relatively sure I'm going to loath
...more
Jan 25, 2010
Jan 08, 2010
Rss More books shelved as 'defenestrated' »
« previous 1 3 4