cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
The Engines of God (The Academy, #1)
3.82
by Jack McDevitt, published in 1994.

There is something I really, really like about a mystery science fiction, especially if that mystery comes from a
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
Nine Princes in Amber
4.12
by Roger Zelazny, published in 1970.

If there ever there was a must-read-series of novels, the Chronicles of Amber by Roger Zelazny is surely it. Now,
...more
not set
Jan 08, 2012
 
From a Buick 8
3.38
by Stephen King, published in 2002.

The master of horror many would call him, but I like to think of him as a grand storyteller who just happens to dab
...more
not set
Jan 08, 2012
 
Let It Bleed (Inspector Rebus, #7)
4.04
by Ian Rankin, published in 1995.

Well first off I’m going to say this was the most complex Inspector Rebus novel so far. It is number 7 for those keep
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
Knots & Crosses (Inspector Rebus, #1)
3.83
Well, this is definitely a departure in my reading patterns. This novel, Knots & Crosses by Ian Rankin, is my first dive into the genre of pure de ...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Black Book (Inspector Rebus, #5)
3.93
By this point, John Rebus is becoming familiar to me. He is crusty, crafty and will stoop to conquer any “bad” guys that happen to cross him.

In this,
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Indispensable Calvin and Hobbes
4.72
by Bill Watterson, published in 1992.

Another fantastic collection of Watterson’s Calvin and Hobbes cartoons. There is just so much fun and mayhem to e
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Essential Calvin and Hobbes: A Calvin and Hobbes Treasury
4.64
by Bill Watterson, published in 1988.

Calvin and Hobbes is perhaps the best known comic strip of all time, even more so than Peanuts or Far Side. I’m a
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Secret People
3.19
by John Wyndham, published in 1935.

I love to read author’s first novels and this, “The Secret People”, is indeed John Wyndham’s first. And I have to s
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Runes of the Earth (The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, #1)
3.72
Steven R. Donaldson. You either know this author’s works, or you should. And yes I am totally bias. He is second on my list of all time epic fantasy a ...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
Liege-Killer
4.20
Published in 1987 by Christopher Hinz.

This book is one I read almost as soon as it came out.

And, after finishing my last read I spotted this one on my
...more
not set
Jan 08, 2012
 
Blind Lake
3.65
This is not your traditional Science Fiction novel. It has a really cool concept, but one which left me feeling a little like saying (in my head) yeah ...more
not set
Jan 08, 2012
 
Star Wars: Der Gejagte  (Die Han Solo Trilogie, #2)
3.85
by A. C. Crispin, published in 1997.

This novel, book two in the Han Solo trilogy, starts off with Han kicked out of the Imperial Navy and hounded by a
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
Star of Doom (Red Sonja, #6)
3.57
by David C. Smith and Richard L. Tierney, published in 1983.

This is the sixth and final book in the Red Sonja series by Smith and Tierney. This time R
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Einstein Intersection
3.59
Yup, an oldy - but a goodie? It did win the Nebula, but that was back in the drug crazed sixties, man . . .

This book by Samuel R. Delany is certainly
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Crimson Legion (Dark Sun: Prism Pentad, #2)
3.56
by Troy Denning, published in 1992.

The world of Dark Sun, a TSR Dungeons and Dragons world, is a very magical and dangerous place. It’s fun to visit o
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
Artifact
3.40
by Gregory Benford, published in 1985.

‘Artifact’ is essentially a physics idea brought to life by author Gregory Benford. Now, I must admit, I find Be
...more
not set
Jan 08, 2012
 
Swell Foop (Xanth, #25)
3.75
by Piers Anthony, published in 2001.

Xanth, the one fictitious world in which all else are real . . .

. . . Er, or something.

This is indeed another (num
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
Black and Blue (Inspector Rebus, #8)
4.06
by Ian Rankin, published in 1997.

This is the 8th Inspector Rebus novel from Ian Rankin and it’s a very good one. Rankin mixes a real life case of murd
...more
not set
Jan 08, 2012
 
Watership Down
4.03
by Richard Adams, published in 1972.

Now, before I begin, I’m just going to say I am totally bias about this book. It is one of the top five books ever
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
Essential X-Men, Vol. 4
4.05
by Chris Claremont, Paul Smith, Dave Cockrum, John Romita Jr. & Brent Anderson, published in 2006.

As I continue to read through the available Esse
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Song Of Phaid The Gambler
3.86
by Mick Farren, published in 1981.

Wow, this was a book which totally slipped under my radar back in the early eighties when I was crazy on Science Fic
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Hand of Oberon
4.19
by Roger Zelazny, published in 1976.

As I pass through shadow once again, rereading The Chronicles of Amber, I begin to realize the genius of Zelazny e
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Hanging Garden (Inspector Rebus, #9)
4.04
by Ian Rankin, published in 1998.

This is the ninth Inspector Rebus novel and is not less fantastic than the last eight. In this volume we get to see m
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Praxis (Dread Empire's Fall, #1)
3.78
by Walter Jon Williams, published in 2002.

Space Opera - I just love it. This, “The Praxis” from Walter Jon Williams, is indeed what I believe to be cl
...more
not set
Jan 08, 2012
 
Sign of the Unicorn
4.15
by Roger Zelazny, published in 1975.

This, the third Amber novel, is a bit different than the previous two. It’s more cerebral and less action packed,
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
Invader (Isaac Asimov's Robots in Time, #6)
3.34
In this, the final novel in the six book series ‘Robots In Time’, written by William F. Wu, we are taken on a journey back to England in A.D. 459. The ...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
Streams of Silver (Forgotten Realms: Icewind Dale, #2; Legend of Drizzt, #5)
4.13
R. A. Salvatore. Huge name in the fantasy business of writing, and I think I know why.

This book, his second in the Icewind Dale Trilogy, features Driz
...more
not set
Jan 09, 2012
 
Higher Education
3.67
by Charles Sheffield and Jerry Pournelle, published in 1996.

This novel is one of four in the “Jupiter Novel” series started by Sheffield and Pournelle
...more
not set
Jan 08, 2012
 
Aliens: The Illustrated Screenplay: Complete Illustrated Screenplay
3.88
by James Cameron, with introduction by Paul M. Sammon, published in 2001.

Once again I am amazed by the brevity of the screenplay and how, once all ele
...more
not set
Jan 08, 2012
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 47 48