cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
Contract of Defiance (Spectras Arise Trilogy, #1)
4.15
Marvellous stuff. This is proper all-guns-blazing space opera in the vein of Firefly or Blake's 7, or maybe even Stars Wars, though thankfully it does ...more
Apr 16, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
 
The Navigator
3.88
This is a very interesting read, full of ideas and with a highly-unusual narrator figure to provide a god-like point of view. Other reviews have outli ...more
Apr 2012
Mar 05, 2012
 
Shadow of the Wraith (Nexus)
4.00
I'm not sure what to make of this book. On one hand, it is a very entertaining read and clearly influenced by a whole host of popular sci-fi movies, f ...more
Mar 24, 2013
May 05, 2012
 
Red Gone Bad
3.89
This is a rather mixed take on traditional fairy tales. The first sees Red seek a slice of the action after putting up with the boasts of her friends ...more
Jan 28, 2014
Jan 01, 2014
 
Jethabel (Leviathan #1)
4.25
I really liked this. The book blurb is deceptive: this is a story of survival, set upon a not-quite derelict alien spacecraft. And when I say alien, t ...more
Nov 23, 2013
Nov 20, 2013
 
Century Rain
3.86
This was the first Alastair Reynolds book I read and I thoroughly enjoyed it (enough for me to seek out his other works, anyway). The clever 'big dumb ...more
Jul 2011
Jan 07, 2012
 
The Szuiltan Alliance
3.00
I've been searching for a decent indie space opera for a while and this is certainly one of the better ones. At heart, it is a political thriller, wit ...more
Aug 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
 
Camera Obscura (The Bookman Histories, #2)
3.41
Hmm... It had been a while since I'd read any 'steampunk' (I'm still not convinced the Toby Frost books qualify), my last proper encounter being the d ...more
Oct 2011
Jan 14, 2012
 
Sub Rosa (Turnabout Tale, #1)
3.67
I liked it: this was a quick, light-hearted read. The modern touches to the traditional Beauty and the Beast storyline were nice (I liked the audio bo ...more
Dec 18, 2013
Dec 10, 2013
 
Who Needs Cleopatra?
4.00
I first came across Steve Redwood when I was an editor of a small-press short story magazine, whereupon I quickly fell in love with his bizarre sense ...more
not set
Jan 11, 2012
 
American Gods (American Gods, #1)
4.10
I feel a little guilty that this is the first Neil Gaiman novel I've read (apart from Good Omens, his collaboration with Terry Pratchett), despite lov ...more
Feb 22, 2012
Feb 03, 2012
 
Night of the Living Trekkies
3.91
Marvellous! This delivers exactly what a reader wants from a zombie tale. As a work of literature, it delivers the goods in gory straightforward fashi ...more
Apr 23, 2015
Jan 17, 2012
 
The Northronde Princess
4.00
I really enjoyed this. As a fantasy, it had all the right elements: a strange new force threatening a kingdom; a good range of characters, from the go ...more
Nov 27, 2012
Nov 13, 2012
 
Turnkey (The Gaslight Volumes of Will Pocket, Vol. I)
3.00
This book was an enjoyable read. The alternate history to explain the steampunk elements was convincing and once I'd got used to the interesting frami ...more
Sep 29, 2012
Sep 02, 2012
 
Flash Gold (Flash Gold Chronicles #1)
3.91
I read this as part of my ongoing quest to find a steampunk book that really defines the genre. Flash Gold is a quick, entertaining read and a freebie ...more
Sep 10, 2012
Aug 28, 2012
 
The Waggoner
3.75
I picked this book out of nostalgia for the English Midlands, particularly as it’s been a while since I’ve read anything set in my native Black Countr ...more
Feb 08, 2012
Jan 25, 2012
 
The Brick Moon and Other Stories (eBook)
3.50
I sought this out because of the story 'The Brick Moon', which is an early tale about the creation of an artificial satellite (for navigation purposes ...more
Oct 2014
Oct 04, 2014
 
Walking a Fine Time Line
3.75
I bought this on the strength of the Smashwords sample simply because I fell in love with Dr Serendipity Brown from the start. It is a well-written an ...more
Aug 2013
Mar 17, 2013
 
The Twyning
3.39
I read this really quickly, which is a bad sign; I like to savour good reads. I'm left wondering whether this is supposed to be a children's book (the ...more
Sep 12, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
 
Smallworld
3.37
This was an entertaining read, albeit not the comedy I'd expected from reading the blurb. Nor does it really work as a novel, as it reads more like a ...more
Mar 02, 2012
Jan 21, 2012
 
A Malevolent Manner (Patrick Pierce #1)
4.40
This was an interesting read, with a somewhat unexpected plot device that probably should be mentioned in the blurb but isn't. In brief, the Ravenwood ...more
Mar 04, 2014
Oct 08, 2013
 
Take Back Tomorrow
3.79
I read this after it was nominated as the 'non-Fantasy book of the month' in the Goodreads Indie Book Club Group. It's an unusual take on a time-trave ...more
Oct 24, 2012
Oct 14, 2012
 
Contract of Betrayal (Spectras Arise Trilogy, Book 2)
4.17
This is an action-packed blast of a sequel which pretty much carries on in the same vein as the first. It's a good, solid sci-fi thriller. What I didn ...more
May 19, 2015
May 02, 2015
 
Bleak House
3.98
It's been a while since I've tried to read any Dickens, but I'm glad I picked this one up, though it did take me a while to plough through this length ...more
Jul 14, 2012
Jun 03, 2012
 
Living through Hope!
4.25
I found this a real page-turner. The trials and tribulations of the main character Bridget brought on a whole raft of emotions (I was close to tears a ...more
Jul 29, 2012
Jul 26, 2012
 
The Disappeared (Retrieval Artist, #1)
3.73
This book has an interesting premise: each alien race has their own laws and all interstellar races (including humanity) agrees to abide by them, only ...more
Jun 27, 2014
Jan 18, 2014
 
The City & the City
3.90
Very interesting read. As a literary work examining the uneasy situations that occur within a politically-split city, it works rather well and made me ...more
Apr 07, 2015
Mar 24, 2015
 
Space Captain Smith (Chronicles of Isambard Smith #1)
3.69
I bought this purely on the basis of the 'Flashman'-like cover and did not regret it. I found it very funny indeed, though a little erratic - the open ...more
Oct 2011
Jan 07, 2012
 
Neuromancer (Sprawl, #1)
3.85
I recently read this again after first picking it up many, many years ago. Yes, in many ways it has dated, but in others it seems fresher than ever. T ...more
Oct 31, 2011
Jan 07, 2012
 
The Garden Wall
3.00
On the whole this was an entertaining story. It felt like reading two books in parallel for a good two-thirds of the way and while the scenes at Birmi ...more
Mar 19, 2012
Mar 04, 2012
Rss
« previous 1 3 4