bookshelves

all (1395)

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Zombie
2.95
I really enjoyed this book. The biggest problem I had was that whoever edited this book clearly didn't take any basic English grammar courses, or else ...more
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
 
Norse Code
3.26
I liked this book pretty well. It was interesting, funny, dramatic, and full of conspiracies.

I also wouldn't - quite - classify it as urban fantasy. I
...more
Jan 2011
Nov 23, 2011
 
Apocalypse Meow, Volume 1
3.77
In the tradition of Art Spiegelman's Maus I: My Father Bleeds History and Maus II: And Here My Troubles Began (1986) comes Apocalypse Meow, Volume 1 ( ...more
not set
Dec 22, 2011
 
By Their Father's Hand: The True Story of the Wesson Family Massacre
3.80
The premise of the book - a family victimized by its father, for decades - was very good, most especially in that victims should never be forgotten. H ...more
not set
Nov 03, 2014
 
Don of the Dead (Pepper Martin, #1)
3.65
Maybe I'm biased, because I'm from Northeast Ohio and this story is set in Cleveland, and for me, that was part of the fun- knowing the streets and ve ...more
Aug 2011
Nov 13, 2011
 
Jinx High (Diana Tregarde, #3)
3.78
First, allow me to say that normally, I adore Mercedes Lackey. This book, however...

It certainly took me back to my high school years, and not in a go
...more
Dec 29, 2011
Nov 13, 2011
 
Zone One
3.25
I started this book and got halfway through. Maybe someday I'll finish it, but to me, it was like trying to have a discussion with a 12-year-old who h ...more
not set
Jan 16, 2012
 
Clover Omnibus (Clover, #1-4)
3.90
Out of the handful of Clamp series I've read so far, Clover is by far my favorite. In fact, I must look into getting my own copy of the compilation bo ...more
Oct 2010
Nov 14, 2011
 
Of Two Minds: An Anthropologist Looks at American Psychiatry
4.02
I read this book some years ago for a college course, and while informative, I felt it was almost more of a journalist's expose than the culmination o ...more
Mar 2005
Nov 26, 2011
 
The Ill-Made Mute (The Bitterbynde, #1)
3.72
I think the main reason I like this book, and out of the whole Bitterbynde trilogy, this book especially, is because the main character isn't your typ ...more
not set
Nov 14, 2011
 
The Changeling Prince
3.72
Overall, "The Changeling Prince" was a good book. I thoroughly enjoyed the plot and writing style. The only thing I didn't like, and the reason I gave ...more
not set
Apr 04, 2014
 
The Guns of August
4.20
War is completely not my cup of tea (of course, try telling that to my recommended reads NOW), but I read this book for a history class, and what do y ...more
Mar 2002
Nov 13, 2011
 
The Traveler (Fourth Realm, #1)
3.83
In a world where your every move can be easily traced and unpredictability is considered dangerous, how can you become truly free from the people tryi ...more
Jan 2010
Nov 28, 2011
 
The 36-Hour Day: A Family Guide to Caring for People with Alzheimer Disease, Other Dementias, and Memory Loss in Later Life
4.19
An excellent guide for understanding and dealing with a loved one who has Alzheimer's/dementia. There has been a lot of frustration in my own family w ...more
Oct 20, 2011
Nov 21, 2011
 
The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, #2)
4.19
I'm giving it 4* because it was interesting and I couldn't put it down. However, this book has some serious plot holes that bugged me - like how could ...more
Apr 04, 2012
Apr 03, 2012
 
Grammar Snobs Are Great Big Meanies: A Guide to Language for Fun and Spite
3.73
I grew up in the American public education system, and let me tell you, I had no idea half of this stuff existed - or if I did, I had no idea what it ...more
May 2006
Nov 26, 2011
 
Cheating Justice: How Bush and Cheney Attacked the Rule of Law and Plotted to Avoid Prosecution? and What We Can Do about It
4.31
This was an excellent, well-researched book that clearly outlined how Bush 43 and his administration violated the Constitution and numerous other laws ...more
Jul 02, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
 
The Story of the Trapp Family Singers
3.92
I loved this book. After reading it, I find the musical pales in comparison - knowing the real trials and tribulations the family went through makes t ...more
not set
Dec 01, 2011
 
Baby-Sitters Club
3.79
I think these were about the only books I read from the time I was in 2nd grade until 5th grade...it makes me sad that I didn't expand my reading more ...more
not set
Feb 03, 2012
 
Training People: How to Bring Out the Best in Your Human
3.79
A cute, short book for dogs on training people. As a human myself, I was unaware that there were so many techniques for being trained, or that I'd bee ...more
Dec 25, 2011
Dec 27, 2011
 
K-PAX The Trilogy (K-PAX, #1-3)
4.05
As Shakespeare wrote, via Polonius in Hamlet: "Though this be madness, yet there be method to it."

This book shows, perhaps more than any other that I'
...more
Jan 2005
Dec 12, 2011
 
Beauty and the Werewolf (Five Hundred Kingdoms, #6)
3.72
Normally, I enjoy Mercedes Lackey's books, but this was just...boring. The characters were boring. The plot moved like molasses. And when it wasn't sl ...more
Jan 02, 2012
Nov 13, 2011
 
Contact
4.04
Overall, I liked this book. It was intriguing, posing lots of what-ifs, and does exactly what I like my sci-fi to do: questions the basic principles w ...more
Jan 2001
Nov 13, 2011
 
Make Way for Ducklings
4.20
This was my most favoritest book ever when I was 3 years old. I would always make my dad go to the library to get it, and if it was checked out, there ...more
not set
Nov 29, 2011
 
Dying Bites (The Bloodhound Files, #1)
3.67
A fun book, but the present-tense narrative was a bit hard to adjust to - and the author didn't use it all the time, which made it a little awkward. ( ...more
Dec 2011
Nov 25, 2011
 
A Study in Scarlet  (Sherlock Holmes, #1)
4.13
Alas, but this first book was...well, let's just sat that I had no idea that the North American continent contained a vast, uninhabitable and waterles ...more
Jan 09, 2012
Nov 14, 2011
 
Deerskin
3.85
It took a couple of chapters to really get into this book (and I kept setting it down partly because I was super-busy). But once I got into it, I coul ...more
Jun 2012
Jan 05, 2012
 
The Cat Who Went to Heaven
3.66
A very sweet book about love and challenging the status quo.
Jan 2005
Nov 25, 2011
 
Killing Rocks (The Bloodhound Files, #3)
3.92
None
not set
Dec 10, 2011
 
Children of the Night (Diana Tregarde, #2)
3.90
None
not set
Nov 13, 2011
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 46 47