cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
Farewell, Dorothy Parker
3.41
FAREWELL, DOROTHY PARKER by Ellen Meister turns out to be chick lit. I'm starting this review with a disclaimer that chick lit is not normally what I ...more
Mar 24, 2013
Mar 21, 2013
 
Darling Jim
3.54
Like his con artist storyteller, Jim Quick, Christian Moerk weaves a Gothic tale of suspense that draws its audience in, compelling us to find out how ...more
not set
Mar 23, 2009
 
The Last Word (The Spellmans, #6)
3.93
http://noranydroptoread.com/2013/10/2...

This is really a love letter to the entire Izzy Spellman series, which began with THE SPELLMAN FILES. Start th
...more
not set
Oct 30, 2013
 
Potboiler
2.88
POTBOILER by Jesse Kellerman: I haven't read Jesse Kellerman's previous novels, which appear to be complex thrillers, but based on the cleverness he d ...more
Jun 20, 2012
Jun 18, 2012
 
The Bodyguard
3.12
http://noranydroptoread.com/2015/04/2...

After reading Lehtolainen's SNOW WOMAN, I was excited to read this book, the first in a trilogy about bodyguar
...more
not set
May 01, 2015
 
The Absence of Mercy
3.59
http://noranydroptoread.com/2013/10/2...

THE ABSENCE OF MERCY by John Burley: I could subtitle this review “I was so bored.” The premise was enchanting
...more
not set
Oct 28, 2013
 
The Matchmaker of Périgord
3.46
Julia Stuart has crafted an utterly charming, farcical comedy of rural France that could not fail to delight.

Guillaume Ladoucette (whose mother's feu
...more
not set
Aug 14, 2008
 
The Disappearance
3.19
I was delighted to receive this novel through LibraryThing’s Early Reviewer program. From the first paragraph of lush, gorgeous prose, in which Sigel ...more
not set
Jan 21, 2009
 
The Curious Cat Spy Club
4.00
http://noranydroptoread.com/2015/05/1...

Lilah and I read this chapter book, the first in a series, over just a couple of days. We had trouble putting
...more
not set
May 16, 2015
 
From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess (From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess, #1)
3.93
http://noranydroptoread.com/2015/04/2...

Lilah (age 8) and I have very different reviews of this book, which is clearly the start of a new princess-the
...more
not set
Apr 28, 2015
 
Curse of the Scarab (Big Honey Dog Mysteries, #1)
4.25
http://noranydroptoread.com/2014/01/2...

Honey, a big slobbery Great Dane, is the main character in this mystery-adventure, which begins with a rash of
...more
not set
Jan 21, 2014
 
Curse at Zala Manor
4.72
http://noranydroptoread.com/2014/01/3...

Lilah and I had a blast reading this funnier-than-scary homage to children’s horror/gross-out books. AJ Zanton
...more
not set
Jan 30, 2014
 
Antonia Lively Breaks The Silence
3.17
http://noranydroptoread.com/2013/10/2...

The blurbs compare this title to THE SECRET HISTORY and REBECCA, so perhaps my expectations were too high with
...more
not set
Oct 28, 2013
 
Wednesdays in the Tower (Castle Glower #2)
4.01
http://noranydroptoread.com/2013/11/0...

I read TUESDAYS IN THE CASTLE aloud with Lilah and we both loved it. That book introduces Castle Glower, which
...more
not set
Nov 10, 2013
 
The Mesmer Menace (Gadgets and Gears, #1)
3.66
http://noranydroptoread.com/2014/02/0...

If you’ve been desperate for middle-grade fiction with a steampunk theme, told from a dog’s point of view, loo
...more
not set
Feb 08, 2014
 
The Land of Dreams
3.39
http://noranydroptoread.com/2014/01/1...

THE LAND OF DREAMS is positioned as a Norwegian mystery, and it is…sort of. Those who prefer action and tensio
...more
not set
Jan 21, 2014
 
The Otter, the Spotted Frog & the Great Flood: A Creek Indian Story
3.98
http://noranydroptoread.com/2014/01/2...

What a gorgeous book. This is a retelling of the Creek Indian tale of the Great Flood and an origin story of h
...more
not set
Jan 21, 2014
 
Lulu and the Hamster in the Night
4.45
http://noranydroptoread.com/2015/05/1...

In LULU AND THE HAMSTER IN THE NIGHT, Lulu rescues a neglected hamster from a "big girl" at her school, Emma P
...more
not set
May 14, 2015
 
The History of Now
3.55
Daniel Klein's novel, The History of Now, is an ingenious philosophical examination of cause and effect and, at the same time, an engaging story of a ...more
not set
Feb 24, 2009
 
The Secret Place (Dublin Murder Squad, #5)
3.81
http://noranydroptoread.com/2015/04/3...

This was, surprisingly, my first Tana French (after finishing this one, I immediately read the first four), bu
...more
not set
May 02, 2015
 
The Big Hairy Secret
3.68
http://noranydroptoread.com/2014/01/1...

Flo Gardner has moved several times since her father died, but nowhere as creepy as Corman Towers, the ominous
...more
not set
Jan 21, 2014
 
A No-Sneeze Pet (Pet Friends Forever)
3.25
http://noranydroptoread.com/2014/01/1...

I read this book aloud to my six-year-old (at the time) daughter, and she loved it. As far as read-alouds go,
...more
not set
Jan 21, 2014
 
Split Estate
3.35
Split Estate is a quietly powerful novel that examines the grief of the King family some time after Laura King jumped from their tenth-story New York ...more
not set
Mar 16, 2009
 
A Secret in Time (Big Honey Dog Mysteries, #2)
4.50


After 2013's CURSE OF THE SCARAB, which introduced Honey, a Great Dane with a big heart and a bit of a slobber problem, Lilah and I were eager to read
...more
not set
May 03, 2015
 
Lulu and the Hedgehog in the Rain
4.19
http://noranydroptoread.com/2015/05/1...

LULU AND THE HEDGEHOG IN THE RAIN has Lulu rescuing a wild hedgehog swept down the gutter by a heavy rainfall.
...more
not set
May 14, 2015
 
The Island of Dr. Libris
3.66
http://noranydroptoread.com/2015/05/2...

I read this one to Lilah immediately following ESCAPE FROM MR. LEMONCELLO'S LIBRARY, and the initial compariso
...more
not set
May 25, 2015
 
Operation Bunny (Wings & Co, #1)
3.94
http://noranydroptoread.com/2014/01/2...

This is the first book in the WINGS & CO series about a fairy detective agency, and Lilah and I both enjoy
...more
not set
Feb 08, 2014
 
Snow Woman (Maria Kallio #4)
3.48
http://noranydroptoread.com/2015/04/2...

I've read quite a bit of Nordic crime fiction, but I believe Lehtolainen's fourth entry in her Maria Kallio se
...more
not set
May 01, 2015
 
The Siren (DC Gary Goodhew Mystery #2)
3.71
http://noranydroptoread.com/2014/01/1...

This is the second in the DC Gary Goodhew series, and I’m not inclined to pick up the first unless I get despe
...more
not set
Jan 21, 2014
 
Death of a Nightingale (Nina Borg, #3)
3.64
http://noranydroptoread.com/2014/01/1...

DEATH OF A NIGHTINGALE is the third in the Nina Borg series (after 2012′s THE BOY IN THE SUITCASE and 2013′s I
...more
not set
Jan 21, 2014
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11