cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Bold Spirit: Helga Estby's Forgotten Walk Across Victorian America
3.71
really liked it
Amazing book,amazing feat! (and feet)
This woman walked from Washington State to NYC in the late 1800s with her teenage daughter - WALKED!.
Many times t
...more
Apr 22, 2008
Apr 26, 2008
 
Flowers for Algernon
4.06
it was amazing
**spoiler alert** Loved this book and sobbed through it.
I am currently a special education teacher and anything to do with the disabled usually tugs a
...more
not set
May 31, 2008
 
She's Not There: A Life in Two Genders
3.90
it was amazing
I finished the book - it was a quick read.
1 - It's very well written - the author is an English professor in an East Coast college...
2 - It takes cour
...more
Jul 07, 2008
Jul 06, 2008
 
The Mysteries
3.39
really liked it
Again, Celtic myths and modern life coincide and coexist.
I'd recently read another book by this author - The Silver Bough. That book blew me away, thi
...more
not set
Jun 14, 2008
 
My Father's Son
4.03
liked it
I liked the first part of his autobiography better.
This one is amazing due to the number of literary figures he was friends with.
And at a time when me
...more
not set
Apr 26, 2008
 
The Far Pavilions
4.20
it was amazing
I loved it - the made for television movie cut out so much of the beginning it was awful.
I loaned this and a picture book to go with it to a co-worker
...more
not set
May 26, 2008
 
Walk Two Moons
3.95
liked it
Sharon Creech is one of my favorite authors of young adult literature.
Her characters are realistic and one feels their pain.
I especially enjoy reading
...more
not set
Jun 21, 2008
 
An Only Child
4.11
really liked it
His boyhood - til age 20 - from 1903 to 1923.
This is what Angela's Ashes should have been like.
Happy, sad, inciteful, well written...
Apr 25, 2008
Apr 26, 2008
 
Milkweed
4.00
it was amazing
Author - Jerry Spinelli

This is a young adult book - maybe even for middle schoolers.

It takes place during WWII in Warsaw, Poland. A young boy is steal
...more
Jul 16, 2008
Jul 16, 2008
 
The Celestine Prophecy (Celestine Prophecy, #1)
3.60
liked it
As a fiction (story) it is contrived.
As a self-help book of the spiritual kind it is priceless.

Merged review:

I remember reading and thinking what trip
...more
not set
Jul 08, 2008
 
My Forbidden Face: Growing Up Under the Taliban: A Young Woman's Story
3.80
really liked it
For readers of Bookseller of Kabul and Kite Runner, this book shows the same story from the perspective of a 16 year old young woman. Living with her ...more
Jul 29, 2009
Jul 30, 2009
 
The Sanctuary
3.64
it was ok
I was disappointed. I'd loved another book by this author.
This one was heavy on the chases and light on the information and intellectual puzzles and r
...more
Jan 26, 2008
Feb 09, 2008
 
Catch Me if You Can
4.05
really liked it
so much fun! I loved the movie and this was so much more.
I remember when he scammed people by writing his bank number on the deposit slips in the bank
...more
not set
May 16, 2008
 
The Day of the Triffids
3.99
really liked it
Was too scared to watch the movie when it came out - I was 8, I believe.
Finally read the book and enjoyed it a lot.
I got to see the movie after readin
...more
not set
May 19, 2008
 
Voyager (Outlander, #3)
4.38
it was amazing
I loved this series - read the first five books plus searched through the compendium in three weeks!
They have everything - fantasy, history, time trav
...more
not set
May 31, 2008
 
The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary
3.84
really liked it
I first read about this interaction in Smithsonian magazine.
It must have been an enlightened hospital for the mentally ill, as the patient did have ac
...more
not set
Feb 27, 2008
 
The Bridges of Madison County
3.50
did not like it
I couldn't understand this book - not the attraction, not the desire to have a fly-by-night relationship ruin everything she had.
Maybe living in a big
...more
not set
May 26, 2008
 
Ring of Bright Water
4.13
really liked it
Don't quite remember how old I was when my mother read me this book. Loved it and have had a soft spot for otters ever since.
If I hadn't had my curren
...more
not set
Apr 15, 2008
 
Circle of Friends
3.99
liked it
I think this is one of Maeve Binchy's early books. I know her writing has improved since this was published.
She's formulaic, but you know what to expe
...more
not set
May 27, 2008
 
Up the Down Staircase
3.93
liked it
I am SURE this book is dated.
The movie came out in the mid-60s. (I actually knew some kids who were in it.)
Life is a LOT tougher for a NYC teacher tha
...more
not set
Apr 18, 2008
 
The Joy Luck Club
3.90
liked it
I remember liking it, but not much about the content. I do remember mothers and daughters with intergenerational friction and immigrant/first generati ...more
not set
Apr 27, 2008
 
The Giver
4.12
it was amazing
I was amazed at this book. First off, it was a total surprise - I'd never heard of it.
I just loved the writing, the philosophy, etc.
Jun 15, 1998
Feb 08, 2008
 
The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle
Avi
3.81
really liked it
I enjoyed this heartily.
Avi also writes fantasy type books, so I didn't know what to expect.
It's a great adventure story.
not set
Feb 22, 2008
 
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
4.61
liked it
I'm glad the series is over finally. I liked this the least of all of them. I especially did NOT like the epilogue.
Jul 25, 2007
Feb 08, 2008
 
When I Am an Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple
3.92
liked it
An anthology - photos, poetry, short stories and essays about being female and aged.
It's good to pick up and put down.
not set
May 26, 2008
 
Light in my Darkness
4.21
Helen Keller is one of my heros. It's interesting to read of her religious affiliation - Swedenborg's philosophy.
not set
Jul 30, 2009
 
Corelli's Mandolin
3.94
did not like it
I tried, but couldn't get into it.
It had looked like a wonderful movie, but I never saw that either.
not set
May 31, 2008
 
A Monk Swimming
3.33
really liked it
I still like his writing better than Frank's (his brother). And seeing him in person is a TREAT.
not set
Apr 14, 2008
 
Tuesdays with Morrie
4.06
liked it
Read this a few years ago. I like his other books better, but this is still good.
not set
Mar 18, 2008
 
Fahrenheit 451
3.97
it was amazing
the threat against books being dangerous for a totalitarian society.
not set
Jun 28, 2008
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 18 19