cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
Victory Conditions (Vatta's War, #5)
4.06
Genre: Space Opera/Military Sci Fi

This is probably the weakest book of the Vatta’s War series, it wrapped everything up all neat and tidy but it took
...more
Apr 21, 2010
Apr 09, 2010
 
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (Fairyland, #1)
3.97
Genre: Children's/Young Adult Fantasy

This has very much an Oz-like quality, including the early 20th century elaborate sentences - which I quite enjoy
...more
Dec 30, 2009
Dec 09, 2009
 
Blood and Iron (Promethean Age, #1)
3.44
Genre: fantasy, possibly epic fantasy and arguably urban fantasy, but mostly it's fantisy with fairies.

Half-way though the novel I was still unsure wh
...more
Oct 28, 2008
Oct 20, 2008
 
Jaran (Jaran, #1)
3.98
The five word summary of “Genghis Khan meets Jane Austen” is accurate, but fails to encompass the rich world building and the wonderful story in this ...more
Aug 31, 2011
Aug 30, 2011
 
The Trouble with Kings
3.79
Genre: Young Adult (maybe), High Fantasy, Romance

This book is a romance more then anything else. The principal characters are all royalty (mostly from
...more
Jan 12, 2010
Jan 12, 2010
 
Sucker for Love (Dead End Dating, #5)
4.00
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy

Much like the previous novel, this one was funny, but not quite as cute/endearing as _Your Coffin or Mine_ (whi
...more
Jul 10, 2009
Jul 07, 2009
 
A Bad Spell in Yurt (Daimbert #1)
3.70
Genre: Fantasy

This is a comfort read for me. It's pretty much a light-hearted standard fantasy - our hero, Daimbert, is a newly graduated Wizard (who
...more
Sep 02, 2009
Sep 02, 2009
 
Sci-Fi Private Eye: Amazing Tales of Cosmic Crime
3.20
Genre: Science Fiction, Mystery

This is a collection of short-stories, all written between 1950 and 1970. For me the oddest and most interesting thing
...more
Jan 12, 2010
Dec 29, 2009
 
Logos Run
3.71
**spoiler alert** Genre: Science Fiction, Space Opera

This was a disappointment, given how much I loved the first in the series, _Runner_. The characte
...more
Sep 29, 2008
Jun 23, 2008
 
Magic Casement (A Man of His Word, #1)
4.03
Genre: High Fantasy

I found this book slower/harder to get into then the other Dave Duncan series I've read... which isn't to say it's not a fun read,
...more
Jun 08, 2008
May 29, 2008
 
Killbox (Sirantha Jax, #4)
4.10
Genre: Space Opera

I adored this novel! It’s the fourth in the Sirantha Jax series; the backdrop is sweepingly epic “save the universe” from the Morgut
...more
Oct 07, 2010
Oct 03, 2010
 
Fledgling (Theo Waitley, #1; Liaden Universe, #12)
4.21
Genre: Space Opera

The first draft of this book was published on-line. I am enough of a Liaden fan to have read that version. It is amazing the differe
...more
Sep 18, 2009
Sep 14, 2009
 
Rose in Bloom (Eight Cousins, #2)
4.01
Genre: Classics/Children’s Literature

The audio for this novel was very nice. The novel itself was just slightly disappointing after Eight Cousins, alt
...more
Oct 02, 2011
Oct 11, 2011
 
Terrier (Beka Cooper, #1)
4.17
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy-Mystery/crime novel mix

This book is written as a diary of a cop-in-training (in a fantasy setting), the audio version (by S
...more
Aug 24, 2008
Aug 17, 2008
 
Focus: The Hidden Driver of Excellence
3.50
Genre: Non-Fiction

For a book named "Focus" purportedly on the benefits of focusing, it was remarkably unfocused. There was quite a lot of stuff I foun
...more
Jan 21, 2014
Jan 20, 2014
 
The Price of Everything: Solving the Mystery of Why We Pay What We Do
3.32
Genre: Pop-Economics

I'm not sure what I think of this book... it was all over the map in what it discussed and what it tried to cover... and my initia
...more
Jan 31, 2014
Jan 29, 2014
 
The Magicians (The Magicians, #1)
3.46
Genre: Urban-ish Fantasy

This is quite well written. My dislike of the novel doesn't come from the quality of the writing, but rather it's much too goo
...more
Sep 09, 2009
Aug 14, 2009
 
The Hidden City (The House War, #1)
4.07
Genre: Well, the series will be Epic Fantasy... but this book only sorta, certainly Heroic Fantasy ;-)

This book is set in the same world as the _Sun S
...more
Dec 2008
Aug 22, 2008
 
Firebirds Soaring: An Anthology of Original Speculative Fiction
3.87
Genre: YA Science Fiction/Fantasy Anthology

This is yet another brilliant anthology from Firebird press. I'm not sure why the stories are classified as
...more
Jun 07, 2009
Mar 26, 2009
 
Talk Nerdy to Me (Nerds, #5)
3.78
Genre: Romance

This book was a waste of time. It had none of the charm of _Nerd in Shining Armor_ nor the humor of some of the other titles in the “Ner
...more
Mar 30, 2010
Apr 05, 2010
 
Retief! (Retief)
3.94
Genre: Science Fiction

This is a book of short stories (with one novella) focusing on Jame Retief, a diplomat for the CDT (an organization whose missio
...more
Mar 2008
Nov 30, 2007
 
Shadows over Lyra (Lyra, #1-3)
3.82
Genre: Fantasy

This is an omnibus of three novels: Shadow Magic, Daughter of Witches, and the Harp of Imach Thyssel. I only finished the first two… it
...more
not set
Oct 03, 2010
 
Fool Moon (The Dresden Files, #2)
4.04
Genre: Urban Fantasy

I think I was a bit harsh when reviewing Storm Front originally - either that or James Marsters reading Harry Dresden adds a star
...more
Mar 2011
Mar 04, 2011
 
Local Custom
4.26
Genre: Space Opera, Audio Book

The audio edition of this book is very compelling; it's read by Michael Shanks (of Stargate fame) and his is a very nuan
...more
Apr 10, 2009
Mar 30, 2009
 
The Reluctant Swordsman (Seventh Sword, #1)
3.92
Genre: High Fantasy

A very fast-paced tale of a modern fellow (Wallie Smith) who's brain/mind/soul is transplanted into a sword-swinging hero's body du
...more
Mar 31, 2008
Mar 28, 2008
 
The Hallowed Hunt (Chalion, #3)
3.78
Genre: High Fantasy

This audio book was read by Marguerite Gavin, unlike the other two in the series which were read by Lloyd James. I had a lot of tro
...more
Apr 2008
Jan 04, 2008
 
The Coming of Wisdom (Seventh Sword, #2)
3.96
Genre: High Fantasy

Second book in the _Seventh Sword_ series. It continues to be fast-pased and quite interesting. The structure of this book is an ac
...more
Apr 30, 2008
Mar 28, 2008
 
The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business
3.96
Genre: Nonfiction

This was well organized, well-written, and highly readable, and considering the number of business-psych books I've been reading late
...more
Mar 02, 2014
Mar 06, 2014
 
The Armored Rose
4.11
Genre: Non-Fiction

This is about training and fighting in the SCA as a woman. It's highly readable, straight-forward and easy to understand. Since I've
...more
Feb 27, 2014
Feb 27, 2014
 
God Stalk (Kencyrath, #1)
4.15
I enjoyed everything but the first and last chapter of the book very much. Those left me with the feeling that the rest of the novel didn’t really mat ...more
Aug 30, 2011
Aug 30, 2011
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 21 22