cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Barely a Lady (The Drake's Rakes, #1)
3.70
Hero and Heroine a mature couple. Second chance at love for them both.

Very realistic descriptions of the aftermath of battle and the care of the wound
...more
May 15, 2011
Jul 17, 2010
 
Murder In Thrall (Scotland Yard #1)
3.58
excellent story; Doyle and Acton remind me of Sayers' Harriet Vane and Peter Wimsey and of the early Eve Dallas and Roarke of J D Robb's In Death seri ...more
Oct 27, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
 
The Bee's Kiss (Joe Sandilands, #5)
3.60
I shouldn't have read Tug of War before this one. For some reason I can't explain, this one dragged for me; the former took no time at all to read.
May 15, 2012
Jan 07, 2011
 
With Every Breath (MacLeod, #11)
4.16
Gave up 16 Sep 2010. Characters and story did not engage my interest. Scenes too repetitive, too much like similar ones in other books by Kurland.
Sep 16, 2010
Jan 07, 2009
 
Mercy Thompson:  Homecoming
4.02
I enjoyed reading about Mercy's arrival in the Tri-Cities and her first encounters with her friends there. The illustrations are very good also.
Jul 03, 2010
Aug 05, 2009
 
High Noon
3.89
One of her best, IMO. Phoebe has many characteristics in common with Eve Dallas, probably because they are both police officers; I like both women.
Nov 11, 2010
May 05, 2008
 
Heart Change (Celta's Heartmates, #8)
4.22
Usually, I read the Celta books fairly quickly. Somehow, this one dragged for me. I liked the characters, but the pace of the action was very uneven.
Jul 17, 2010
Sep 01, 2009
 
Her Ladyship's Curse (Disenchanted & Co., Book 1, Part #1)
3.67
Excellent world building; I just didn't enjoy the darkness of women's role in society; and consequently, the horrors of the heroine's life.
Jan 2014
Aug 13, 2013
 
The Duke of Shadows
4.07
I do not remember when I started or stopped reading this book. I just remember that something about it could not hold my interest.
May 16, 2013
May 06, 2008
 
Mourning Gloria (China Bayles, #19)
3.90
excellent story; I really liked the third person scenes with the intern reporter as an addition to China's first person narrative
May 15, 2012
May 11, 2012
 
Maisie Dobbs (Maisie Dobbs, #1)
3.91
I read the first section. When I realized that the second was a flashback to before WWI, I just didn't want to continue.
Feb 10, 2010
Aug 21, 2009
 
A Sensible Match
4.00
Re-read Summer 2011. Excellent story of partners in arranged marriage who come to love each other. Set in Russia and England.
Aug 2011
May 06, 2008
 
Never Less Than a Lady (Lost Lords, #2)
3.82
I found the characters mature and sensible. I enjoyed their adventures and the way their relationship developed.
May 15, 2010
May 01, 2010
 
Shelter Island
3.71
I know that I read this story when it first came out. I re-read it in the collection that was re-issued in 2012.
not set
Feb 05, 2013
 
Stormbreaker (Alex Rider, #1)
3.96
Did not like the style of the writing. The date is when I entered the info here.
Aug 13, 2010
Dec 17, 2009
 
The Darling Dahlias and the Cucumber Tree (The Darling Dahlias #1)
3.62
Interesting setting: 1930s, Alabama; interesting characters; good mystery
Jun 2013
Jul 22, 2010
 
After the Armistice Ball (Dandy Gilver, #1)
3.44
began 21 oct 14

did not like first person narrator; did not like style
Oct 24, 2014
Sep 25, 2013
 
The Avalon Chanter
3.71
kindle edition; purchased 30 oct 14; begun 31 oct 14

another excellent story
Nov 04, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
 
The Hunted
3.38
I wasn't in the mood to read a book about the female slave trade in the USA.
May 15, 2010
Aug 06, 2008
 
Silver Borne (Mercy Thompson, #5)
4.37
I finished Silver Borne not long after I started reading it, whenever that was.
Jan 2010
Aug 05, 2009
 
Otherwise Engaged (Ladies of Lantern Street, #3)
3.74
started on 22 April, finished by end of 23 April. Another JAK hit.
Apr 23, 2014
Dec 29, 2013
 
Deception Cove (Rainshadow, #2; Harmony, #10)
4.04
This is Rainshadow Island #3, not #2. This is one of Jayne's best.
Aug 29, 2013
Jun 22, 2013
 
The Scot and I
3.46
excellent story and characters and setting
Oct 15, 2010
Sep 14, 2009
 
Goddess of the Hunt (The Wanton Dairymaid Trilogy, #1)
3.83
The main characters did not engage my interest.
Jul 17, 2010
Aug 29, 2009
 
Roman Blood (Roma Sub Rosa, #1)
3.93
plot and characters too depressing
Nov 15, 2009
Aug 30, 2009
 
The Wages of Sin (Cin Craven, #1)
3.85
did not like first person narrator
Nov 2009
Sep 06, 2009
 
Not My Blood
3.69
Set in England, 1933. Dorcas is back!
Jan 13, 2014
Feb 05, 2013
 
Crown of Crystal Flame (Tairen Soul, #5)
4.40
began 12 dec 11; mass market paperback
Dec 30, 2011
Nov 04, 2010
 
The First Prophet (A Bishop Files Novel)
3.75
begun 10 nov 14
Nov 16, 2014
Aug 19, 2012
 
The Dove of Death: A Mystery of Ancient Ireland
3.91
Started 17 jan 11
Jan 22, 2011
Jan 18, 2011
Rss