cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
4.18
it was amazing
The prison of the mind
8 October 2011

This is one of those exceptional books. It was the first book that I read when I returned to adult re-entry colle
...more
Oct 06, 2011
Sep 30, 2011
 
Stoner
4.27
it was amazing
The Tragedy of a Man Who Loves his Books
7 April 2014

The problem with writing a commentary on such a book is that pretty much everything that has been
...more
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 02, 2014
 
Catch 22
3.98
it was amazing
The Absurdity of Bureaucracy
17 December 2015

Well, the one thing that you can say about this book is that it introduced a new phrase into the English
...more
Dec 16, 2015
Dec 05, 2015
 
To the Lighthouse
3.76
it was amazing
A Destination Just Out of Reach
7 March 2013

Sometimes there comes along a book that is simply so awesome that you pretty much want to give up reading
...more
Mar 07, 2013
Feb 28, 2013
 
The Old Man and the Sea
3.72
really liked it
A Man Goes Fishing
28 September 2015

I was going to do something really naughty. I read this book years ago in High School and wasn't particularly impr
...more
Sep 28, 2015
Sep 25, 2015
 
Ulysses
3.73
really liked it
Modernising Ireland
18 June 2015

There once was an author who lived in the lovely Italian seaside town of Trieste. It is not a town that I have visited
...more
Jun 18, 2015
May 26, 2015
 
A Doll's House
3.68
it was amazing
A woman becomes empowered
19 February 2015)

I had given this play a fairly ordinary review when I first commented on it (and that review is below this
...more
Feb 19, 2015
Oct 20, 2012
 
The Outsider
3.96
it was amazing
Killing an Arab
30 May 2016

When I was a lot younger one of my favourite bands was The Cure. I remember sitting in my lounge room with my friends with
...more
May 30, 2016
May 27, 2016
 
The Seagull
3.92
really liked it
The Tragedy of Unrequited Love
28 September 2013

Russian literature seems to have a very bleak undertone to it, though I must admit that the only Russi
...more
Sep 27, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
 
Fiesta
3.83
really liked it
An autobiographical account of drinking in Paris
29 August 2013

I suspect that Hemmingway is what one would call an acquired taste. He is sort of like
...more
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
 
Cloud Atlas
4.01
really liked it
Remembering Literature
5 July 2015

I first heard of this book when I saw the poster for the movie bearing the unmistakeable face of Tom Hanks and the p
...more
Jul 02, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
 
A Portrait Of The Artist As A Young Man
3.60
it was amazing
Opens with the word 'moocow'
22 January 2015

Well, here is a portrait of an artist as a young man:

Portrait of Young Renoir

though I am not sure if that is the type of artist t
...more
Jan 21, 2015
Jan 15, 2015
 
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
3.53
did not like it
A rather dry collection of short stories
20 February 2012

When I first saw this book in Dymocks I thought 'oh, the movie is based on a book by F. Scot
...more
Feb 20, 2012
Feb 12, 2012
 
Mrs. Dalloway
3.78
it was ok
A Day in the Life of London's Upper Crust
7 September 2016 - London

Somebody, who is no longer on Goodreads, once wrote in a review to this book that t
...more
Sep 05, 2016
Sep 01, 2016
 
In the Penal Colony
4.00
really liked it
A horrific form of industrialised punishment
28 July 2014

I found this to be a little different to some of the other works of Kafka that I had read bec
...more
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
 
For Whom the Bell Tolls (Vintage Classics)
3.95
really liked it
The futility of fighting on the losing side
19 July 2013

This is one of those books that I have been meaning to read for quite a while, even if it is o
...more
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
 
Things Fall Apart - Classics in Context (Heinemann African Writers Series)
3.61
liked it
Colonialism from the Colonised
24 April 2012

Look, I am going to give this book a good rating, not because I actually enjoyed it or was drawn into it,
...more
Sep 08, 1996
Apr 24, 2012
 
Endgame
3.86
really liked it
An absurd masterpiece
13 April 2014

One of the interesting things that I find about Beckett's plays is that he resists the temptation to offer any inte
...more
Apr 12, 2014
Apr 24, 2012
 
The Condemned of Altona
3.87
it was amazing
Germany's Existential Crisis
15 August 2016 - Luxembourg City

It turned out that it was quite appropriate that I started reading this play when I did,
...more
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 09, 2016
 
Narcissus and Goldmund
4.19
it was amazing
Intellect and Passion
17 July 2015

This is the first Hesse book that I have read and I must thank my book club for selecting it for the June book. I ha
...more
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
 
Nausea
3.91
it was amazing
The Diary of a Loner
29 December 2016

I was originally going to read this book when I was in Paris, however I had only just finished reading a collecti
...more
Dec 27, 2016
Dec 19, 2016
 
The Three Sisters
3.76
really liked it
Reminiscing on the Past and Reflecting on the Future
3 October 2013

Reading this play I got the impression that it was basically about a group of peopl
...more
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
 
The Man of Destiny
3.50
really liked it
Napoleon Outwitted
14 January 2016

This is a short one act play about a guy named Napoleon. Just in case you don't know what Napoleon looked like here
...more
Jan 13, 2016
Jan 12, 2016
 
Morts sans sépulture
3.90
liked it
A Story of Resistance
31 August 2016 - Paris

It is a shame that I have never seem any of Satre's plays advertised in Australia (or at least as long as
...more
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 28, 2016
 
The Great Wall of China
3.41
really liked it
Kafka dissects the Great Wall
18 May 2014

Okay, maybe I shouldn't be writing too much about this particular short story (if one can call it a story) be
...more
May 18, 2014
May 18, 2014
 
A Streetcar Named Desire
3.97
did not like it
Ripping apart the veil of American society
2 December 2014

My previous review of this play (which for some reason I have decided to keep) was probably
...more
May 08, 1994
Dec 26, 2011
 
The Cherry Orchard
3.67
liked it
Reflections on a Russia in transition
26 September 2013

What really sucks is when you have just finished reading a play and a tram trundles by the pub
...more
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
 
Pygmalion: A Romance in Five Acts
3.90
it was amazing
Shaw's Masterpiece
16 April 2010

Pygmalion, in my opinion, is Shaw's piece de resistance (if that is how you spell it). It is a masterpiece. While I ca
...more
Jul 14, 2006
Jul 23, 2011
 
The Castafiore Emerald (Tintin, #21)
3.91
it was amazing
The most absurd of Herge's albums
24 February 2012

This is a unique comic in all of Herge's repertoir in that it is probably the most absurd of his sto
...more
not set
Feb 24, 2012
 
Les Mouches
3.92
it was amazing
Beware the flies Orestes! Beware the Flies
1 September 2016 - Paris

I have seem some recent adaptations of Greek myths in the cinemas of late and to sa
...more
Sep 2016
Aug 30, 2016
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'modernist' »
« previous 1