cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
McFly: Unsaid Things . . . Our Story
4.60
liked it
I almost didn't include this on my list but hey, it's a finished book!
Jan 2015
Jan 01, 2015
 
Green River, Running Red: The True Story Of America's Deadliest Serial Killer
3.91
it was ok
Interesting topic even if the writing was a bit hammy.
Apr 12, 2014
Apr 06, 2014
 
Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything
3.93
liked it
I enjoyed reading this, but would have liked something a bit deeper. (Also, reading this ten years on was quite funny. Particularly the bit where the ...more
Mar 13, 2015
Mar 08, 2015
 
The Lie Of The Land: An Under The Field Guide To Great Britain
3.45
it was ok
There wasn't really anything wrong with this book (aside from the fact it could have used more diagrams), I just don't think I'm all that interested i ...more
Jun 11, 2015
Jun 03, 2015
 
The Bible: The Biography
3.78
it was ok
A very interesting topic but a bit of an info-dump. I think if it was longer it might have been a little easier to understand.
Apr 27, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
 
Gnarr: How I Became the Mayor of a Large City in Iceland and Changed the World
3.39
liked it
Short and sweet. Would have liked a little bit more meat.
May 2015
Apr 30, 2015
 
Old Wives' Lore
3.22
it was ok
Felt a bit light and unfinished.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
 
Stupid White Men
3.30
really liked it
Eye-opening. I would be very interested to read a more up-to-date version.
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 15, 2014
 
SuperFreakonomics: Global Cooling, Patriotic Prostitutes, and Why Suicide Bombers Should Buy Life Insurance
3.95
liked it
I found this a little bit more engaging than the first Freakonomics.
Mar 19, 2015
Mar 13, 2015
 
Bedlam: London and Its Mad
3.54
liked it
Interesting but a bit fuzzy and forgettable.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
 
Classics: A Very Short Introduction
3.57
liked it
Interesting!
May 24, 2016
May 20, 2016
 
Everyday Saints and Other Stories
4.59
it was amazing
Wonderful.
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
 
Brave Old World: A Practical Guide To Husbandry Or The Fine Art Of Looking After
3.70
really liked it
Informal but useful.
Dec 04, 2014
Nov 28, 2014
 
Becoming Queen
3.96
really liked it
I could read this sort of stuff all day long.
Jan 30, 2015
Jan 22, 2015
 
The Duchess
3.79
liked it
Gotta love a good historical bio.
Dec 14, 2014
Dec 04, 2014
 
It Starts With Food: Discover the Whole30 and Change Your Life in Unexpected Ways
4.08
really liked it
I really liked what this was saying, but didn't enjoy the occasionally patronising tone.
Feb 18, 2015
Feb 11, 2015
 
The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher: or the Murder at Road Hill House
3.43
really liked it
I just really like things about Victorian scandals, tbh.
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
 
The God Delusion
3.89
really liked it
None
Dec 04, 2011
Oct 29, 2011
 
The Other Victorians: A Study of Sexuality and Pornography in Mid-Nineteenth-Century England
3.58
it was ok
None
not set
Jul 15, 2011
 
The Female Nude: Art, Obscenity, and Sexuality
4.13
liked it
None
not set
Jul 15, 2011
 
Alone of All Her Sex: The Myth and the Cult of the Virgin Mary
4.00
liked it
None
not set
Jul 15, 2011
 
Schindler's Ark
4.34
liked it
None
Dec 26, 2012
Jul 27, 2011
 
Bad Science
4.07
really liked it
None
Sep 07, 2011
Jul 27, 2011
 
Secret Lives of Great Artists: What Your Teachers Never Told You About Master Painters and Sculptors
3.80
it was ok
None
Oct 28, 2011
Jul 27, 2011
 
Art of Death: Visual Culture in the English Death Ritual c.1500 - c.1800
3.59
it was ok
None
not set
Jul 15, 2011
 
Orientalism
4.07
did not like it
None
not set
Dec 04, 2011
 
Innumeracy: Mathematical Illiteracy and Its Consequences
3.79
did not like it
None
Dec 18, 2011
Dec 13, 2011
 
Life on Earth
4.37
liked it
None
Jan 17, 2012
Dec 18, 2011
 
A World Without Bees
3.73
it was ok
None
Jun 08, 2012
May 29, 2012
 
Plan Bee: Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About The Hardest Working Creatures On The Planet
3.77
liked it
None
Jun 29, 2012
Jun 27, 2012
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'non-fiction' »
« previous 1