bookshelves

all (852)
« 1 »

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
The Devil in the Flesh
3.75
'What appears dream to others...seems to me to be as real as cheese to a cat- in spite of the glass that covers it. If the glass breaks, the cat takes ...more
not set
Feb 28, 2013
 
The Debt to Pleasure
3.79
The false friend has a more general applicability and usefulness than in the purely grammatical sphere.Not least in family life',

Narrated by one Tarq
...more
Apr 10, 2014
Apr 09, 2014
 
Selected Short Stories
3.89
Contains El Verdugo; Domestic Peace; A Study in Feminine Psychology; An Incident in the Reign of Terror; The Conscript; The Red Inn; The Purse; La Gra ...more
Feb 16, 2012
Feb 16, 2012
 
Born in the Briar Patch
3.50
"My God, I've got two women expecting children from me at the same time",, April 21, 2014

This review is from: Born in the Briar Patch (Paperback)
rece
...more
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
 
Marigold In Godmother's House
4.50
'For Marigold's godmother..was one of the genuine, old-fashioned, storybook kind - a real fairy godmother!, November 2, 2014

This review is from: Mari
...more
not set
Nov 02, 2014
 
The Island of the Colorblind and Cycad Island
3.87
"Islands were, so to speak, experiments of nature", August 7, 2014

This review is from: The Island of the Colour-blind (Hardcover)
An interesting accoun
...more
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
 
In the Castle of My Skin
3.71
'Everybody in the village sort of belong. Is like a tree...I don't ever get the feelin' ... that anythin' could change so',, September 7, 2014

This re
...more
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
 
Dwarf's Blood
4.00
This novel certainly does have a most bizarre theme; when the ruined estate of Brokeyates is inherited by Nicholas, a young Australian, glad to leave ...more
Jan 08, 2012
Jan 05, 2012
 
The Cry of the Go-Away Bird
3.77
'We were Whites and nothing else...We huddled together with the rest of the community like pale maggots in a dusty corpse', January 14, 2015

This revi
...more
Jan 14, 2015
Jan 13, 2015
 
Beware of Pity
4.19
'that compassionate lie had made her happy, and to make someone happy can never be wrong or a crime',, July 1, 2014

This review is from: Beware of Pit
...more
not set
Jul 01, 2014
 
tommy wideawake
3.00
"may I - would you allow me so to trespass on this friendship of ours, as to ask for your interest in my only son, Thomas?", June 1, 2014

This review
...more
not set
Jun 01, 2014
 
The Shock of the Fall
3.83
"an illness with the shape and sound of a snake. It slithers through the branches of our family tree", November 9, 2014

This review is from: The Shock
...more
not set
Nov 09, 2014
 
Left Hand, Right Hand!
3.71
'Left Hand as we are born, Right Hand as we make it', July 27, 2014

This review is from: The Cruel Month (Left Hand, Right Hand! An Autobiography, Vol
...more
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
 
Louis: A Life of Robert Louis Stevenson
4.00
"I should like to rise and go Where the golden apples grow; Where below another sky Parrot islands anchored lie", November 26, 2014

This review is fro
...more
not set
Nov 26, 2014
 
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
4.23
'The cafe...funny how a little knockabout place like that brought so many people together', June 19, 2014

This review is from: Fried Green Tomatoes At
...more
not set
Jun 19, 2014
 
Marriage Material
3.60

3.0 out of 5 stars Life and death, riots and racism...and the retail trade, December 28, 2014

This review is from: Marriage Material (Kindle Edition)
Se
...more
not set
Dec 28, 2014
 
If on a Winter's Night a Traveler
4.09
Clever but not enjoyable, May 7, 2014

This review is from: If on a Winter's Night a Traveler (Paperback)
When I visit an art gallery, I see lots of bea
...more
not set
May 07, 2014
 
The Death of Grass
3.86
"I can visualize this land brown and bare, stripped and desert and children here chewing the bark off trees.",, 3 January 2015
By
sally tarbox (aylesbu
...more
Jan 02, 2015
Jan 02, 2015
 
Half-Past Bedtime
3.00
Another side to H H Bashford, June 2, 2014

This review is from: Half-past bedtime (Paperback)
A collection of fifteen magical little tales for children,
...more
not set
Jun 02, 2014
 
Creole
3.75



"The hot, humid Angolan air... fruit and sugarcane, and...another smell, something subtler, more melancholy...death and decay", November

This review
...more
not set
Nov 16, 2014
 
The Remembered Visit
4.26
"The summer she was eleven, Drusilla went abroad with her parents"..., October 22, 2014

This review is from: The Remembered Visit: A Story Taken from
...more
not set
Oct 22, 2014
 
Amphigorey
4.15
All (but one) are a *5 or *4 in my book!, October 22, 2014

This review is from: Amphigorey: Fifteen Books (Paperback)
I'd never heard of Edward Gorey t
...more
not set
Oct 22, 2014
 
Slovenly Kate and Other Stories: From the Struwwelpeter Library
5.00
"This funny picture-book...that we may grow good and wise, and 'neath a merry laugh's disguise, Learn naughty ways to fear.",, October 8, 2014

This re
...more
not set
Oct 08, 2014
 
Wave
3.67
'I imagine saying those words -"my family, they are all dead, in an instant they vanished" - and I reel', 13 July 2014


A terribly, overwhelmingly sad
...more
not set
Jul 13, 2014
 
The Children's Book
3.64
'the children running wild in safe woods, in dappled sunlight, the parents smilingly there when they came home', 14 January 2015

This review is from:
...more
not set
Jan 13, 2015
 
Amphigorey Too
4.50
Strange, Gothic and highly original, October 23, 2014
By
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews

This review is from: Amphigorey Too (Per
...more
not set
Oct 23, 2014
 
Buckinghamshire: A Dog Walker's Guide
1.00
"Well, I suppose it's all exercise", said hubby, as we retraced our steps, dispiritedly, 30 Oct 2014

This review is from: Buckinghamshire A Dog Walker
...more
not set
Oct 30, 2014
 
Giovanni's Room
4.18
'No matter what I was doing, another me sat in my belly, absolutely cold with terror over the question of my life',, 8 February 2015

This review is fr
...more
Feb 08, 2015
Feb 08, 2015
 
harmsworth's household encyclopaedia
0.00
'literally true that no Household interest has been neglected', July 24, 2014

This review is from: Harmsworth's Household Encyclopedia. 6 volume set (
...more
not set
Jul 24, 2014
 
Selected Short Stories
4.13
"Small lives, humble distress, Tales of humdrum grief and pain", November 23, 2014

This review is from: Selected Short Stories (Penguin Classics) (Pap
...more
not set
Nov 23, 2014
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 28 29