cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Tripmaster Monkey: His Fake Book
3.45
Oy. Monkey Magic this was not.
not set
Apr 08, 2009
 
Dirty Wars: The World is a Battlefield
4.24
**spoiler alert** Horrific.

In Dirty Wars Jeremy Scahill presents a strong case that ties the Global War on Terror to continued regional instability (Y...more
Jul 03, 2013
Jun 21, 2013
 
Wastelands: Stories of the Apocalypse
3.78
I love the end of the world. No, really. Nothing fascinates me more than the destruction of what we have. In that vein The Stand is an all time favori...more
Jan 2008
Jan 15, 2009
 
In The Company Of Soldiers: A Chronicle Of Combat In Iraq
3.79
I found the book interesting, though not as engaging as Generation Kill. I suspect in part this is due to the strategic-level perspective of much of t...more
Jun 10, 2010
May 16, 2010
 
Spangle
4.11
**spoiler alert** Spangle isn't a bad book. I'm embarrassed to say that frankly. However Jennings' books have a certain pattern that always diminishes...more
not set
Jan 16, 2009
 
Empyrion
3.88
Well, some things age well. Other things don't hold the charm that time seems to imbue them with. The Empyrion Books were among my favorites growing u...more
not set
Jan 15, 2009
 
Red Country
4.26
Abercrombie, the master of "brutalist fantasy" has outdone himself this time with a Western-themed journey at the fringe of civilization. Simply put,...more
Jan 08, 2013
Jan 01, 2013
 
Hardboiled Cthulhu
3.69
I like anthologies, in part because my attention span is that of a gnat. However, anthologies to me are always diminished because of my visceral disli...more
Jan 30, 2009
Jan 15, 2009
 
Happy Isles of Oceania: Paddling the Pacific
3.95
Beautiful writing and my favorite book of all time.

"We sped onward. There were no lights on shore. It was as though we were in an old rickety rocket s
...more
not set
Jan 15, 2009
 
Apocalypse and Post-Politics: The Romance of the End
3.00
You have to really be interested in the end of all things to get to the end of this book. The first section of the book was dull. Though it intended t...more
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 18, 2013
 
The Metamorphoses of Tintin: or Tintin for Adults
2.83
I understand it, I'm dumb. I don't get LitCrit that takes seemingly tenuous strands and proceeds to tie conjecture upon conjecture into a weirdly non-...more
Jan 08, 2012
Dec 13, 2011
 
Wicked Bugs: The Louse That Conquered Napoleon's Army & Other Diabolical Insects
3.70
I love facts. I am a factoid eating machine. I have, most unfairly, been described as trivial. These two things - facts and trivia - are great. Howeve...more
Jan 10, 2012
Dec 09, 2011
 
From Hell
4.15
Horrific, disturbing, beautiful.

Apparently I live on a "placid island of ignorance" having not been all that familiar with the Ripper Mythology. Upon...more
Apr 25, 2013
Apr 23, 2013
 
Harvey Comics Classics, Vol. 2: Richie Rich
3.81
I was a huge Richie Rich fan growing up. My brother-in-law had a giant collection of Richie Rich, Uncle Scrooge, and some of the other Disney comics a...more
Oct 2007
Oct 31, 2007
 
Journey to the West, Volume 4
4.40
You'd think after the 500th time Monkey was persecuted by the Monk, framed by Piggy, and eventually defeats the demon disguised as who knows what the...more
Jan 2003
Oct 20, 2007
 
The Passage (The Passage, #1)
4.00
**spoiler alert** I picked it up and it depressed me, so I put it down. I picked it up again and it depressed me, so I put it down again. I tried it a...more
Sep 17, 2013
Jun 21, 2013
 
Modern Combat Gear
3.50
A bit outdated at this point, the edition I have was published in 1988, but it was a nice overview of the equipment from various military forces aroun...more
Aug 1994
Jan 15, 2009
 
Lost on Planet China: Or How I Learned to Love Live Squid
3.79
I've tried to explain to people my problem with this book, which stems from the J. Maarten Troost body of literature.

Sex Lives... was pant-pissingly...more
Jun 2009
May 16, 2009
 
A Voyage Long and Strange: On the Trail of Vikings, Conquistadors, Lost Colonists, and Other Adventurers in Early America
3.90
I suspect a lot of people would find this book informative, witty, and incisive. I didn't.

There are likely lots of reasons, but I think the major one...more
Jul 19, 2009
May 16, 2009
 
Manchild in the Promised Land
4.30
I read this at South Eugene High School and remember a bit of it. I remember thinking his early life sounding much more interesting than his later lif...more
not set
Jan 15, 2009
 
My War Gone by, I Miss it So
4.27
Are you supposed to like this book? It was grim and the pervasive mood was that of rain, gloom, and the misery of an unfulfilled life.

Interesting ass...more
not set
Jan 20, 2009
 
Sailing Through China
3.20
I love Theroux's travel writing and when I found this in a Santa Cruz, CA bookstore I had to get it. I believe that this is included in a collection,...more
not set
Jan 15, 2009
 
Galactic Tours: Thomas Cook Out of This World Holidays
4.00
This book used to be shelved in the adults section of the Eugene Public Library. I remember drifting out of the children's section and discovering thi...more
not set
Jan 15, 2009
 
At the Queen's Command (Crown Colonies, #1)
3.85
This book is like quicksand. I started it with great hesitation, but slowly it sucked me in further and further. I refuse to call this the War and Pea...more
Jan 27, 2012
Jan 15, 2012
 
Atlas of Oregon, 2nd Ed
4.27
I miss Oregon, so sue me.

This is a wonderful book and beautifully done. I occasionally pour over pages and think about the most beautiful state in ou...more
not set
Jan 15, 2009
 
Back to Basics
4.36
Gutting a pig-check. Building a stone wall-check. Making key lime pie-check. This book has it all and likely teaches you to make the kitchen sink as w...more
not set
Jan 15, 2009
 
Delta Green: Through a Glass, Darkly
3.83
Whoa! An intense novel of the Delta Green conspiracy that manages to entertain, and pave the way for the update with the game. For fans of DG, I reall...more
Jan 19, 2012
Jan 11, 2012
 
Detective's Handbook
4.23
Loved it as a kid and had to get it as an adult. I have the Usborne edition that combined all of them.
not set
Jan 20, 2009
 
Monkey: The Journey to the West
4.04
A greatly condensed, and because of this, much more accessible telling of The Journey to the West.
not set
Jan 20, 2009
 
The Savage Sword of Conan, Vol. 10
3.73
These comics keep getting more and more incomprehensible in terms of plot. Were the 80s that devoid of the basics of story writing? Well, based on mov...more
Sep 25, 2011
Sep 13, 2011
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 12 13