cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
A Tale for the Time Being
3.96
What a ride. This novel sucked me in and then spit me out, leaving me gasping as it did. I can't say this book is perfect. It's probably a bit flawed,...more
May 07, 2013
Apr 30, 2013
 
Wolf Hall (Thomas Cromwell, #1)
3.80
The thing to remember when starting this book is that 99% percent of the time the pronoun 'he' refers to Cromwell, even at times when the sentence str...more
Feb 17, 2010
Feb 02, 2010
 
The Sense of an Ending
3.68
This book got under my skin. Not in the negative way, like what Tony, the narrator, may be doing, or trying to do, to Veronica, who 40 years ago was h...more
Feb 05, 2012
Feb 04, 2012
 
The Art of Fielding
3.99
I loved this book! (I suppose it's appropriate that I start off my review like a fan.)

While reading it, I couldn't help but reflect upon and compare t...more
Apr 2012
Mar 26, 2012
 
Sweet Tooth
3.38
I've read all of McEwan's short stories and novels, and it's only now that I can see why his endings bother some readers (including readers like his m...more
Dec 10, 2012
Dec 06, 2012
 
Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell, #2)
4.24
I came to this sequel thinking it could not possibly stand up to the first installment. So, I was prepared to like this book, but not love it as much...more
Jun 07, 2012
Jun 02, 2012
 
The Marriage Plot
3.40
I loved The Virgin Suicides for its style, imagery and voice. I loved Middlesex for its 'epic' storytelling, its characters and a lyrical flight of fa...more
Feb 22, 2012
Feb 17, 2012
 
The Goldfinch
3.89
While I enjoyed Tartt's first two novels, The Secret History and The Little Friend (see my review), there was something missing from each that held me...more
Nov 11, 2013
Nov 04, 2013
 
Olive Kitteridge
3.70
4 and 1/2 stars

We all have known an Olive -- or at least, we think we know her. Strout shows us the parts we don't know, what's behind the prickliness...more
Apr 05, 2010
Mar 31, 2010
 
A Constellation of Vital Phenomena
4.15
I'm not saying I didn't like the beginning of this novel, but when I arrived at page 139, I became hooked, absolutely hooked. The passage (actually on...more
Dec 26, 2013
Dec 18, 2013
 
Her Fearful Symmetry
3.21
I read Niffenegger's first novel before the days of GR; and I remembered when I decided to rate it, I wavered between 3 (liked it) and 4 stars (really...more
Oct 18, 2009
Oct 13, 2009
 
Chess Story
4.21
Barring time constraints (which I don't have at the moment), I would've written this review before now. Something is holding me back, most likely the...more
Apr 24, 2014
Apr 24, 2014
 
The Invisible Bridge
4.19
4 and 1/2 stars

This is an old-fashioned novel, even an epic, in the tradition of "War and Peace": great storytelling (set in a tumultuous time), devel...more
Jun 03, 2010
May 26, 2010
 
The Woman Upstairs
3.32
In the beginning I experienced a couple of jolts, first being reminded of Zoe Heller's What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal because Nora the nar...more
Jun 12, 2013
Jun 12, 2013
 
Tinkers
3.35
I'd love to reread this book one day and read it straight through without stopping (something I couldn't do as I was traveling). As it was, I did imme...more
May 20, 2010
May 11, 2010
 
If on a Winter's Night a Traveler
4.09
I'm not the kind of person to define myself. Of course, I know I'm a daughter, sister, wife, etc and most importantly, a mother. But besides my relati...more
Jun 10, 2011
Jun 03, 2011
 
The Blazing World
3.62
4.5 stars

In the May/June issue of Poets & Writers Claire Messud said of her novel The Woman Upstairs and its narrator:
"As a reader, I have a favo
...more
Jun 21, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
 
The Child's Child
3.04
This may be the last book by Barbara Vine (Ruth Rendell) that I read. Maybe she's changing, or maybe I'm just getting tired of her (as I did, at some...more
Dec 21, 2012
Dec 18, 2012
 
The White Hotel
3.84
There's so much I could say about this book, but I haven't strayed into spoiler territory in a review before and I don't want to start now. More than...more
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
 
Juliet, Naked
3.47
All night I was going back and forth in my head as to whether to give this 4 or 5 stars, and as I couldn't think of why not to give it 5, I decided to...more
Nov 22, 2009
Nov 16, 2009
 
An Unnecessary Woman
3.83
I am drawn to portraits of women on the so-called margins, Toibin's Brooklyn and other of his works come to mind, as well as Messud's The Woman Upstai...more
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
 
Anatomy of a Love Affair (My Life in the Movies)
4.69
I intended to read Anatomy of a Love Affair (My Life in the Movies) slowly, as I usually do with poetry, even though much of it uses the long line and...more
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 09, 2013
 
Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, #1)
3.79
Definitely a page-turner! And one that relies not on plot alone, but on character development much more, which makes it my kind of page-turner. I trul...more
Sep 12, 2011
Sep 09, 2011
 
Life After Life
3.71
At the start of the novel I realized time was being explored in one of the ways it's explored in A Tale for the Time Being, in a Buddhist sort of way...more
May 20, 2013
May 14, 2013
 
Marie Antoinette: The Portrait of an Average Woman
4.17
I've now read three different types of books by Zweig: a novella (Chess Story), a memoir (The World of Yesterday) and this biography. Though I'm more...more
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
 
Habibi
4.01
This is a gorgeous book, from cover to cover and all the illustrations (and calligraphy) in between. I wasn't sure in the beginning that I would like...more
Jun 18, 2012
Jun 17, 2012
 
From the Land of the Moon
3.54
Upon finishing this book last night, I immediately turned back to the first page and read it again, without stopping. I wanted to see how the author d...more
Dec 08, 2013
Dec 07, 2013
 
The Shaking Woman, or A History of My Nerves
3.41
This book is the result of a talk Hustvedt was asked to give as part of a series on Narrative Medicine. It's not a memoir, though its touchpoint is a...more
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
 
The Lowland
3.79
As there are two brothers of opposite temperaments in this book, perhaps it is appropriate that I am of two minds about the book. It's above all elega...more
Apr 02, 2014
Mar 26, 2014
 
The Snow Queen
3.07
If The Hours is Cunningham's Virginia Woolf book (and it is) and Specimen Days has Walt Whitman as its guiding star (and it does, though thanks to the...more
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 65 66