cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
The Valley of Amazement
3.53
THE VALLEY OF AMAZEMENT

Amy Tan

Amy Tan has long held the title of the queen of the complex relationships between mothers and daughters, at least those
...more
Nov 2013
Nov 27, 2013
 
The Sandcastle Girls
3.83
THE SANDCASTLE GIRLS

Christopher Bohjalian

Christopher Bohjalian is an enormously gifted and talented storyteller who has set himself up to be the keep
...more
Sep 2012
Aug 19, 2012
 
The Chaperone
3.84
CHAPERONE

Laura Moriarty

A captivating and thoroughly enchanting novel of two very diverse women and their impact on each other that will affect their l
...more
Feb 2013
Feb 03, 2013
 
The Aviator's Wife
3.86
THE AVIATOR’S WIFE

By Melanie Benjamin

Although I had heard all about Charles Lindbergh’s involvement with Fascism, the horrific kidnapping of his child
...more
May 2013
Jun 13, 2013
 
The Supremes at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat
3.93
THE SUPREMES AT EARL’S ALL YOU CAN EAT

Edward Kelsey Moore

What easily could have been just another three girlfriends traversing over 40 years together,
...more
Apr 2013
May 11, 2013
 
Under the Wide and Starry Sky
3.54
UNDER THE WIDE AND STARRY SKY

Nancy Horan

UNDER THE WIDE AND STARRY SKIES is the fascinating life and love story of Scottish writer, Robert Louis Steven
...more
Feb 2014
Feb 25, 2014
 
The Tin Horse
3.69
THE TIN HORSE

Janice Steinberg

A multigenerational immigrant family saga depicting the ties that bind in families, and the traumas sometimes only love c
...more
Mar 2013
Mar 13, 2013
 
The Mists of Avalon (Avalon, #1)
4.10
THE MISTS OF AVALON

Marion Zimmer Bradley

Another “golden oldie” masterpiece.

Whether you’re interested in the legend of King Arthur or not, you will be
...more
not set
Sep 15, 2013
 
Chestnut Street
3.60
CHESTNUT STREET

Maeve Binchy

I'm sorry to say that CHESTNUT STREET is Ms. Binchy's final book, and it goes without saying she and her talented magic wil
...more
May 2014
May 21, 2014
 
The Art of Hearing Heartbeats
3.95
THE ART OF HEARING HEARTBEATS

Jan-Philipp Sendker

A wonderful patron recommended this book that was published in 2006 as a great read. Despite it not be
...more
Apr 2014
May 01, 2014
 
Lost Lake
3.87
LOST LAKE

Sarah Addison Allen

I am a huge fan of Ms. Allen who allows me to escape reality and take the mythical ride with her to the magic we can never
...more
Feb 2014
Feb 11, 2014
 
The Language of Flowers
4.06
LANGUAGE OF FLOWERS

Vanessa Diffenbaugh

This is fascinating and enchanting debut novel by an author who masterfully creates a human story that is both d
...more
Sep 2011
Sep 22, 2011
 
The Pecan Man
4.00
THE PECAN MAN

Cassis Dandridge Selleck

A short but masterful first person narrative in the deep south told by a compassionate and caring older woman who
...more
Mar 2014
Mar 11, 2014
 
Secrets of the Lighthouse
3.70
SECRETS OF THE LIGHTHOUSE

Santa Montefiore

Because I’m so particular in my ideas about a good romance, I’m often disappointed with boy meets girl, boy l
...more
Sep 2014
Sep 10, 2014
 
Mimi Malloy, At Last!: A Novel
3.61
**spoiler alert** MIMI MALLOY, AT LAST:A NOVEL

Julia MacDonnell

Mimi Malloy is a retired divorcee, a daughter of the Great Depression from an Irish Cath
...more
Apr 2014
Apr 27, 2014
 
Evergreen
3.95
EVERGREEN

Belva Plain

I'm not quite sure how I become obsessed with reviewing the "Golden Oldies"! But, I'm definitely hooked, so you can bear with me o
...more
not set
Sep 05, 2013
 
Necessary Lies
4.20
NECESSARY LIES

Diane Chamberlain

NECESSARY LIES is a marvelous novel that will have you enraptured with the women in North Carolina fifty years ago. Ms.
...more
Feb 2014
Feb 18, 2014
 
Small Blessings
3.61
SMALL BLESSINGS

Martha Woodruff

This is an absolutely charming and delightful book that I truly loved! This debut novel introduces readers to a new aut
...more
Dec 2014
Dec 17, 2014
 
Bittersweet
3.19
BITTERSWEET

Colleen McCullough

BITTERSWEET is a dramatic historical fiction coupled with a large dose of romance.

Two sets of twins rush into womanhood i
...more
Oct 2014
Oct 12, 2014
 
The Mirror
4.15
OLDIE BUT GOODIE

THE MIRROR

Marlys Millhiser

This is one of my all time FAVORITE books that Jeanette reminded me I hadn't reviewed.

In Boulder Colorado, i
...more
Jan 1998
Jul 02, 2013
 
A Hundred Summers
3.84
A HUNDRED SUMMERS

Beatriz Williams

A HUNDRED SUMMERS is a wonderful beach read that will capture you with the fantastic descriptions of the ocean and th
...more
Nov 2014
Nov 25, 2014
 
Florence Gordon
3.88
FLORENCE GORDON

Brian Morton

FLORENCE GORDON is and has been a feminist icon to young women for years. She is a brilliant yet blunt and outspoken sevent
...more
Nov 2014
Nov 09, 2014
 
Bittersweet
3.48
BITTERSWEET

Miranda Beverly Whitemore

An outsider with secrets of her own is invited to spend the summer in the glamorous world of the super rich at the
...more
not set
Dec 10, 2014
 
Fallen Women
3.30
FALLEN WOMEN

Sandra Dallas

Ms. Dallas is without a doubt a writer who understands and writes beautifully about women in their voices. Her talent in brin
...more
Nov 2013
Dec 17, 2013
 
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion
3.92
THE ALL GIRL’S FILLING STATION LAST REUNION

Fanny Flagg

THE ALL GIRL'S FILLING STATION LAST REUNION is first and foremost a tribute to the courageous wo
...more
Nov 2013
Dec 18, 2013
 
The Invention of Wings
4.22
INVENTION OF WINGS

Sue Monk Kidd

The admiration and awe if feel for such a skilled writer who has the ability to bring historical figures and their stor
...more
Jan 2014
Jan 24, 2014
 
A Half Forgotten Song
3.89
A HALF FORGOTTEN GARDEN

Katherine Webb

This is an excellent book following a young woman’s single minded devotion and obsession into her older years. Ag
...more
Feb 2014
Feb 19, 2014
 
Saving CeeCee Honeycutt
3.90
Wonderful summer beach read debut novel about twelve year old Cecelia Rose Honeycutt’s climb out from under a frightful childhood with a mentally dist ...more
Sep 2010
Apr 05, 2011
 
Someone
3.78
SOMEONE : A NOVEL

Alice McDermott

Someone is the marvelous achievement of a vibrant depiction of an ordinary woman’s life. The short novel is the scatte
...more
Oct 2013
Oct 13, 2013
 
The Silent Sister
3.89
THE SILENT SISTER

Diane Chamberlain

Ms. Chamberlain does a wonderful job writing very interesting women’s fiction, and I am a fan. Her writing and chara
...more
Oct 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Rss More books shelved as 'women-s' »
« previous 1 3