cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Touchy Subjects: Stories
3.49
Her short stories captivated me. I enjoyed it far more than her acclaimed novel Room as you could actually see what a talented author she is through t...more
Jun 12, 2011
Jun 09, 2011
 
Reef
3.57
Quite old school but insightful views on how the colonies affected coloniser and colonised.
Feb 25, 2011
Mar 01, 2011
 
When We Were Orphans
3.42
Found it a bit tricky getting into but once you get used to the style of writing it is fantastic.
Feb 20, 2011
Mar 01, 2011
 
One Day
3.73
A bit predictable but very well written, characters beautifully portrayed.
Feb 10, 2011
Mar 01, 2011
 
A Week in December
3.19
I started with high expectations which were drowned pretty early on. I ploughed through hoping for a satisfying conclusion but found nothing.
Apr 26, 2011
Apr 18, 2011
 
The Prince of Mist (Niebla, #1)
3.60
Originally written for teenagers but an honestly terrifying read.
Jan 09, 2011
Mar 01, 2011
 
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
3.97
made me laugh, made me cry, made me miss my tube stop 3 times.
Mar 24, 2011
Mar 24, 2011
 
May Contain Nuts
3.69
A satiric picture of what women should never become.
Mar 27, 2011
Mar 28, 2011
 
The Things They Carried
4.10
insightful,honest and sensitive view on the Vietnam war.
Jun 13, 2010
Mar 01, 2011
 
Astonishing Splashes of Colour
3.63
a brutally honest account of dealing with the loss of a child with no so called candy coated writing.
Mar 10, 2011
Mar 08, 2011
 
Cosmopolis
3.20
bizarre tale but keeps you turning the page.
Jan 16, 2011
Mar 01, 2011
 
Room
3.95
Good premise but unfortunately a bit dull.
Jan 30, 2011
Mar 01, 2011
 
The Winter Ghosts
3.35
predictable in the bad sense of the word.
Feb 26, 2011
Mar 01, 2011
 
The Help
4.44
Interesting insight into the world of "help"
Dec 19, 2010
Mar 01, 2011
 
Slow Man
3.40
This one left me feeling rather undecided as to whether I loved or hated it...a marmite book one might say!
May 18, 2011
May 11, 2011
 
The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ
3.31
bizarre is the only way to describe this.
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 24, 2011
 
The Human Stain (The American Trilogy, #3)
3.79
hard going but completely worth it.
Oct 30, 2010
Mar 01, 2011
 
The Street Lawyer
3.77
who can beat a good Grisham?
Mar 02, 2011
Mar 01, 2011
 
Never Far From Nowhere
3.63
seems a bit confused at times but essentially a brave and honest account of life of the time.
Apr 08, 2011
Apr 05, 2011
 
Of Beasts & Beings
3.02
harrowing.
Jan 05, 2011
Mar 01, 2011
 
War and Peace
4.08
taking my time
not set
Mar 01, 2011
 
The Naked Name of Love
3.56
not going to move any mountains but an inspiring love story nonetheless.
Mar 06, 2011
Mar 02, 2011
 
Double Fault
3.11
Refreshingly honest and brutal blow of the hardships of marriage.
Apr 18, 2011
Apr 12, 2011
 
Somewhere, Home
3.18
Often a bit confusing with intertwining tales but essentially the story of peoples love for a country and the power of that love.
Mar 18, 2011
Mar 12, 2011
 
Restless
3.81
average, some good writing but bit too much of a "007" vibe at times.
Jul 19, 2011
Jul 13, 2011
 
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
3.86
Slightly clichéd but when all is said and done, stunningly written!
Apr 02, 2011
Mar 28, 2011
 
Moth Smoke
3.76
incredibly powerful.
Aug 2011
Jul 29, 2011
 
The Poisonwood Bible
3.98
Incredible. Not one to read when you're working and don't have time as it takes over. I couldn't get it out of my mind and the writing was so powerful...more
May 05, 2011
Apr 05, 2011
 
Leaf Storm and Other Stories
3.81
fabulous as ever.
Apr 12, 2011
Mar 24, 2011
 
The Crying Tree
3.82
definately not a light holiday read...it creeps deeper and deeper as you go drawing the reader in, exactly as a good book should!
May 24, 2011
Mar 01, 2011
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10