cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Dark Places
3.89
It's a little disturbing to say "I enjoyed Dark Places" given the nature of the story, but I'd be lying if I didn't. The story, told mostly from the p...more
Dec 27, 2013
Aug 03, 2012
 
Burial Rites
3.99
This is the second book I've read this year in which the main character has been sentenced to death. The first being The Execution of Noa P. Singleto...more
Dec 11, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
 
People of the Book
3.96
As a librarian, I have seen and heard stories of the various items left in library books. Mostly paper (bookmarks, receipts, checks!), but even things...more
Feb 03, 2014
Oct 22, 2011
 
Winter's Bone
3.93
As a Missouri girl, I couldn't pass up this book, but with that said--I am not from the Ozarks, so much of what is captured in the book is outside of...more
Mar 02, 2014
Aug 08, 2011
 
Orange Is the New Black
3.67
I wasn't sure if the book would live up to the tv show it inspired, but no worries. Piper Kerman's book that examines her year in a federal prison pul...more
May 30, 2014
May 15, 2014
 
City of Thieves
4.25
Really fantastic coming of age story set during the Siege of Leningrad. The horrors of war set the background for the characters of Lev and Kolya, two...more
May 13, 2011
Apr 20, 2011
 
The Wrong Mother (Spilling CID, #3)
3.46
I picked this book out because it was a recommendation on the Amazon page for my favorite discovery of the year (Still Missing by Chevy Stevens). I'm...more
Dec 05, 2010
Feb 21, 2011
 
Thirteen Reasons Why
4.07
I read this book at the suggestion of a coworker and I was not disappointed. The story is about Hannah Baker, a teel girl who commits suicide and send...more
Feb 2011
Feb 02, 2011
 
Mistress of the Art of Death (Mistress of the Art of Death, #1)
3.95
This fabulous first novel in the "Mistress of Death" series introduces us to Adelia Aguilar, a doctor from Salerno who is sent to Cambridge to determi...more
Jan 17, 2011
Feb 18, 2011
 
The Thirteenth Tale
3.92
Thirteenth Tale is a gothic tale in the vein of "Jane Eyre" and "Wuthering Heights." If fact, both stories are mentioned throughout the novel, with th...more
Dec 29, 2010
Feb 21, 2011
 
The Walking Dead, Book Nine
4.35
This particular addition to the series was a super-fast read for me, but also a super-difficult one. Two favorites are no longer with us (one of who's...more
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
 
The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox
3.77
If you enjoy multi-layered stories that explore families and the actions and emotions that drive and shape them—love, hatred, betrayal, jealousy—than...more
Jan 2010
Apr 27, 2011
 
Untied: A Memoir of Family, Fame, and Floundering
3.44
I enjoyed this quick autobiography of Meredith Baxter--best known as Elise Keaton, the mother on Family Ties. Baxter grew up in Hollywood and her chil...more
Apr 17, 2011
Apr 12, 2011
 
Olive Kitteridge
3.69
Elizabeth Strout's Pulitzer Prize winning novel is actually a series of short stories. They share a common thread of being set in Crosby, a small town...more
Mar 03, 2011
Feb 21, 2011
 
The Woman in Black
3.63
This is a wonderful, cozy little ghost story. Arthur Kripps sets out to tell a ghost story he has kept to himeself for most of his life. Set in Crythi...more
Mar 16, 2011
Mar 05, 2011
 
Unbearable Lightness: A Story of Loss and Gain
3.81

I found this to be an "ok" read. Not the most exciting or well written of memoirs, but insightful for sure into what life with an eating disorder is l...more
May 02, 2011
Apr 21, 2011
 
Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother
3.56
I first heard about this book on NPR and I listened to Chua's interview with Diane Rehm. Although there was a lot of uproar over Chua's child-rearing...more
Mar 17, 2011
Mar 06, 2011
 
Juliet
3.90
This novel is two stories in one. Julie’s Aunt Rose dies, leaving Julie and her twin sister, Janice orphaned. (Their parents died years earlier in Tus...more
Feb 13, 2011
Feb 01, 2011
 
Visitation Street
3.46
Not the mystery that I think it presents itself as. More of a slice of life look at a neighborhood struggling with it's multi-cultural identity. And t...more
Nov 08, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
 
August: Osage County
4.25
They say you can't choose your family...and this play captures how truly awful that lack of choice can make a person's life. This story is not an upli...more
Feb 14, 2014
Jan 26, 2014
 
My Life So Far
3.81
Interesting autobiography. A look at growing up Fonda...what it was like with Tom Joad as a father. Jane also delves into her early acting career, fol...more
Aug 31, 2011
Aug 11, 2011
 
Flora
3.57
When you're a kid, summer is magical. It's a time for exploring and having adventures. In the best of books dealing with kids during summer vacation s...more
Jun 14, 2013
May 26, 2013
 
The Bone Garden
3.98
Another excellent stand-alone novel by Tess Gerritsen. Recently divorced, Julia Hamill purchases an old house outside of Boston. While digging in her...more
Feb 18, 2011
Feb 13, 2011
 
Awakening
3.91
Looking for a good mystery? I gotta recommend AWAKENING by SJ Bolton.

Never judge a book by its cover....oh I'm guilty of this! I picked this book off...more
Apr 16, 2011
Mar 23, 2011
 
The Rebellion of Miss Lucy Ann Lobdell
3.59
3.5 (rounded up to a 4)

Enjoyable "memoir" of a real American woman. In the mid 1800s, a woman who wanted more out of life than a marriage or spinsterh...more
Jan 05, 2014
Dec 11, 2013
 
The October List
3.38
I really enjoy most of Jeffery Deaver's novels. I love his Lincoln Rhyme series and his stand alone novel The Bodies Left Behind was one of my favorit...more
Dec 02, 2013
Nov 09, 2013
 
Edge of Dark Water
3.92
This was a random find at the library--I liked the cover. And it sat at house a few weeks while I was finishing up some other books. I finally got aro...more
Aug 21, 2012
Jul 26, 2012
 
In the Heat of the Summer
3.48
This is John Katzenbach's first novel. It was published originally in the early 80s and is set in 1975, in a sweltering summer in Miami. Katzenbach wa...more
Mar 13, 2011
Feb 13, 2011
 
Winter's Tale
3.66
While there were some great characters and beautiful writing in this book, I found it a drag to get through (especially the farther I got into it). Lo...more
Feb 26, 2014
May 16, 2013
 
Bitter Melon
3.75
Earlier this year I read The Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, which piqued my interest in the "Chinese"-method of child-rearing. It was a method that...more
Apr 22, 2011
Mar 23, 2011
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 50 51