bookshelves

all (2444)
« 1 3 »

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Seabiscuit: An American Legend
4.15
Seabiscuit. An American Legend. I think the only reason I even know the horse's name is because of the movie they filmed a few years ago. I'm obviousl...more
Jun 02, 2011
Dec 10, 2008
 
Cujo
3.58
Do we all know the basic story of Cujo? Big, lovable St. Bernard gets rabies and goes on a rampage. That's it. Sounds so simple, and it mostly is, but...more
Oct 08, 2009
Sep 26, 2009
 
Water for Elephants
4.05
Twenty-three-year-old Jacob Jankowski has just lost his parents in a car crash. They had already lost everything in the Great Depression. In a devasta...more
Mar 12, 2009
Mar 12, 2009
 
The Call of The Wild
3.76
Buck is a dog's dog, in and out of the house, accompanying the masters around at well, and just generally living the good life in California. But when...more
Oct 2012
Sep 30, 2012
 
The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers (Cat Who..., #29)
3.43
It is time for this series to die. I have obviously loved it, but it has outlived its originality and needs to be put down.

Koko's whiskers still quiv...more
not set
Jun 01, 2009
 
And Tango Makes Three
4.33
In this true story, Roy and Silo are two male chinstrap penguins in the Central Park Zoo who don't quite fit in. They don't take any notice of the fem...more
Sep 29, 2012
Sep 30, 2012
 
Scent of the Missing: Love and Partnership with a Search-and-Rescue Dog
4.00
Susannah Charleson sort of fell into search-and-rescue. After volunteering as an assistant for her local search-and-rescue team, she eventually receiv...more
Jul 26, 2010
Jul 02, 2010
 
I'm a Manatee: I'm a Manatee
3.86
We bought this for my in-laws to share with my niece and nephew. Of course I had to read it first!

This was a fun enough little story, with a vocabular...more
May 19, 2009
May 28, 2009
 
The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials, #1)
3.89
The Golden Compass takes place in an alternative world where every human has a daemon familiar and witches and sentient armored bears rule the Arctic....more
Oct 2007
Sep 05, 2007
 
Huck: The Remarkable True Story of How One Lost Puppy Taught a Family - and a Whole Town - About Hope and Happy Endings
3.48
When Janet Elder was diagnosed with breast cancer, she and her husband promised their twelve-year-old son Michael that they would get him a puppy as s...more
Dec 05, 2010
Jun 06, 2010
 
The Tale of Despereaux
3.96
Despereaux was born different. He's super-small and his eyes opened right away. And as he grows older, he's decidedly un-mousy in his behavior. In fac...more
May 22, 2009
Feb 25, 2009
 
Dog on It (A Chet and Bernie Mystery, #1)
3.84
Chet and his human, Bernie, are a private investigating team. When a missing teen case comes their way, Bernie is initially reluctant to take it. He e...more
Dec 24, 2012
Aug 27, 2010
 
Ice
3.71
Cassie Dasent is growing up in an Arctic research station with her dad and his team. Her grandmother has always told Cassie stories about her mom and...more
Feb 14, 2012
Sep 06, 2010
 
The Art of Racing in the Rain
4.15
Enzo, the wonderfully perceptive narrator of The Art of Racing in the Rain, is a dog. His master is Denny, a talented race car driver who can't seem t...more
Sep 16, 2012
Feb 04, 2009
 
His Majesty's Dragon (Temeraire, #1)
4.04
His Majesty's Dragon begins when Captain Will Laurence's ship has just overpowered a French ship. Napoleon is slowly conquering Europe, so any defeat...more
Mar 31, 2009
Jun 08, 2007
 
Throne of Jade (Temeraire, #2)
3.89
Captain Will Laurence and his dragon, Temeraire--or is it the other way around?--are in something of a bind. Temeraire was meant to be a gift from the...more
Jun 22, 2009
Apr 06, 2009
 
Watchers
4.12
Travis Cornell is a man for whom life has lost all meaning. But on a hike one day, he runs into a golden retriever, somewhat battered, obviously frien...more
Aug 10, 2008
Jun 26, 2008
 
Dingo (Newford #22)
3.67
Miguel is working in his dad's comic book/record store one afternoon when a girl he doesn't know wonders in. Lainey is beautiful, with a sense of humo...more
Aug 10, 2008
Jul 20, 2008
 
Skippyjon Jones
4.26
My much-younger cousins introduced me to these. I don't actually remember reading them until I bought them for two little boys I know. So my husband a...more
not set
Jul 17, 2009
 
I Can Has Cheezburger?: A LOLcat Colleckshun
3.89
We got this for my brother-in-law for Christmas. *making sure he won't see this*

Of course I had to check it out first. I'd never heard of the LOLcatz,...more
Nov 19, 2009
Nov 20, 2009
 
I Only Have Eyes for You! (Twisted Whiskers)
4.50
Anything that keeps me smiling through the whole little book deserves at least 4 stars. And who doesn't love those lovable, cute, cuddly, Twisted Whis...more
Dec 26, 2009
Dec 26, 2009
 
Three Little Kittens (A Giant 3-D Fairy Tale Book)
4.50
I've had this book as long as I can remember. I used to love the 3-D hologram on the cover.
not set
Dec 21, 2008
 
The Naughty Little Guest (A Tiny Golden Book #3)
4.25
I loved these books when I was little, I think mostly because they're about 2 inches by 3 inches--perfect for little hands.
not set
Dec 21, 2008
 
The Frogs and Toads All Sang
3.69
I loved the Frog and Toad books when I was little. My mom bought this previously-unpublished collection for me a couple of years ago. It's not really...more
not set
Jul 10, 2011
 
The Tale of Hill Top Farm (The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter, #1)
3.84
It's been a while since I read this, but I remember it as being very cute and well-written. Fans of Rita Mae Brown and Sneaky Pie Brown should enjoy t...more
not set
Jun 26, 2008
 
Porky Pig and Bugs Bunny: Just Like Magic! (A Little Golden Book)
3.92
None
not set
Jan 06, 2009
 
Blossom Comes Home
4.24
None
not set
Dec 21, 2008
 
The Christmas Day Kitten
4.31
None
not set
Dec 21, 2008
 
The Little Red Hen
4.13
None
not set
Dec 27, 2008
 
Walt Disney's Lady
3.92
None
not set
Dec 27, 2008
Rss More books shelved as 'animals' »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8