bookshelves

all (9895)
« 1 »

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom
4.34
The forward and the author's note at the end were my favorite parts. They were a condensed factual introduction to slavery and to Harriet Tubman.
The u
...more
Jul 17, 2008
Jul 14, 2008
 
My Mama Says There Aren't Any Zombies, Ghosts, Vampires, Demons, Monsters, Fiends, Goblins or Things
4.09
What I love about this book (other than the great illustration of a vampire flying over a house) is the little boy who catalogues every mistake his mo ...more
Aug 10, 2008
May 21, 2008
 
Catwings
4.04
A cute book, with just enough danger to be interesting.
The way the Mrs. Jane sent the children away from home was rather abrupt, and I thought potenti
...more
Jul 16, 2008
Jul 15, 2008
 
The Night Pirates (Book & Cd)
3.80
Loved the girl pirates who let the boy Tom come along for an adventure - and the adult pirate Captain Patch who shouts his worst pirate curse: "If you ...more
Aug 07, 2008
Aug 06, 2008
 
My Elephant Book
4.00
Amazing illustrations - I particularly liked the tiger having his picture taken and the elephant getting painted for the procession. If only the story ...more
Jun 2008
May 30, 2008
 
The Healthy Body Cookbook: Over 50 Fun Activities and Delicious Recipes for Kids
3.71
This is a really fun cookbook - each chapter has a short section on health, an activity, and then several healthy recipes.
I've tried five recipes so f
...more
not set
Apr 29, 2008
 
Chrysanthemum
4.30
I love this book! It highlights how easily children can isolate other children over trifles, and how an observant adult can defuse the situation witho ...more
Jun 12, 2008
Jun 12, 2008
 
If Kisses Were Colors
3.86
Beautiful illustrations -
Maybe it's my mood today, but the poem did not catch my attention. The book left me slightly bored, which would make it diffi
...more
Nov 2008
Nov 01, 2008
 
Five Little Monkeys With Nothing To Do
3.89
Parents and children will recognize the Mama Monkey's technique for dealing with boredom -
I also laughed at the results of the monkey's cleaning effo
...more
Aug 07, 2008
Aug 06, 2008
 
Henny Penny
3.71
An old-fashioned fairy tale - this book ends with the fox family grinning at the memory of their recent feast of fowl!

Love the illustrations by Paul G
...more
Sep 13, 2008
Sep 10, 2008
 
Elephant Eats the Profits (Sweet Pickles Series)
4.00
A book ahead of its time - introduces the concept of buying locally to help your neighborhood, and the hazards of running your own small business.
not set
Jul 28, 2008
 
Three Little Kittens
4.25
Great illustrations - especially the family painting of 'Admiral Purry' on the last page -
I've never quite understood why cats would ever need mittens
...more
Nov 08, 2008
Oct 05, 2008
 
The Black Cauldron (The Chronicles of Prydain #2)
4.13
A re-read of a childhood favorite with my daughter. This book chronicles a very important quest to find and destroy the black cauldron.
Nov 06, 2008
May 05, 2008
 
Bug Dance
3.56
Direction skills - since the book introduces a dance, should be fun to do with preschoolers, including the suggested follow-up activities.
Aug 07, 2008
Aug 06, 2008
 
Froggy Goes To School
4.06
A fun book for the first day of school - I liked that the parents played leap frog to the bus stop - and the bowl of flies for breakfast!
Aug 07, 2008
Aug 06, 2008
 
Three Samurai Cats: A Story from Japan
3.85
A fun story - I particularly liked the author's notes at the end. He briefly describes the Japanese words used and a little about Zen Buddhism.
Sep 10, 2008
Sep 09, 2008
 
Hats, Hats, Hats
3.28
For beginning readers - although it contains an index at the back to help adults identify and share details in the photographs.
Aug 07, 2008
Aug 06, 2008
 
Big Book of Mother Goose
4.50
Wonderful illustrations - bright, vivid colors with quaint, old fashioned pictures. Contains many favorite Mother Goose rhymes.
May 13, 2008
May 13, 2008
 
You Read to Me, I'll Read to You: Very Short Stories to Read Together
4.20
My daughter and I loved to read this book together, even after she was a fluent reader. For some reason, it was fun for her.
Jan 2006
Jul 15, 2008
 
Where's Waldo?: Martin Handford
4.05
My grandmother had a copy of this book - my cousins and I all had to share! I have very fond memories of this book.
Jan 1989
Sep 28, 2008
 
The Stone Doll of Sister Brute
4.41
A rather strangely endearing story about a little monster (Sister Brute) who looks for someone to love.
Aug 10, 2008
Aug 10, 2008
 
3 Little Firefighters
3.53
I want to find a preschooler to read this book with - and practice the additional activities at the end!
Aug 07, 2008
Aug 06, 2008
 
The English Roses
3.83
I loved the illustrations - especially the green with envy page. The story was a bit too heavy-handed with the moral.
May 25, 2012
Nov 20, 2010
 
Walt Disney's Pinocchio (Walt Disney's Classic)
4.29
Definitely a Disney version.
Contains only selected portions of the story; his nose doesn't even grow in this book!
Nov 08, 2008
May 13, 2008
 
The Story of Noah and the Ark
3.80
The pictures are gorgeous, but the type of rhyming pattern used in this book does not appeal to me.
May 25, 2012
May 21, 2008
 
Caddie Woodlawn's Family
4.07
The copy I have is called Magical Melons - this book was previously published with this title.
not set
Apr 30, 2008
 
Goose Goofs Off
4.02
Kind of disturbing - Goose seems to be suffering from clinical depression..still, an enjoyable book.
not set
Jul 28, 2008
 
The House on East 88th Street
4.08
Absurd story about a crocodile who comes with a new house - and only eats Turkish cavier!
Mar 10, 2009
May 21, 2008
 
Super Storms (See More Readers)
3.83
This is an ok book about weather - mostly, some nice pictures and a string of related facts.
Aug 10, 2008
Aug 10, 2008
 
Old MacDonald Had an Apartment House
4.04
Cute story about an apartment super who turns the apartment building into a farm.
Jul 28, 2008
Jul 28, 2008
Rss More books shelved as 'childrens' »