cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Trader Of Secrets (Paul Madriani, #12)
3.54
The early Paul Madriani books were stellar. The last few not so much. I'm longing for a good ol' courtroom thriller that puts John Grisham to shame, l ...more
Mar 06, 2012
Feb 18, 2012
 
The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott
3.65
Now I'm curious to research how much was historical fiction and how much was actual fact!
Aug 02, 2012
Aug 02, 2012
 
Night Road
4.18
A real tear jerker and some decent writing, but the ending was a little too predictable and dragged out a bit too long.
not set
Apr 06, 2012
 
Explosive Eighteen (Stephanie Plum #18)
3.87
If you are looking for high-brow literature, don't look here. If you are looking to laugh so hard your stomach muscles hurt, then the escapades of Ste ...more
Mar 25, 2012
Jan 06, 2012
 
Takedown Twenty (Stephanie Plum #20)
3.60
I didn't even laugh this time. And I wish she'd quit resisting Ranger so I could live vicariously through her!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
 
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures
3.81
As usual, the mother is unloveable and the story is amazing!
Jan 04, 2014
Jan 03, 2014
 
Guilt (Alex Delaware, #28)
3.79
Alex & Milo still crack me up, but the mystery was a little weak. Won't stop me from reading the next one, live these guys!
Feb 09, 2014
Jan 31, 2014
 
Something Rotten (Thursday Next, #4)
4.13
This may be the best book in the series, provided you don't mind dd. these books just keep getting weirder and weirder, but in the best sort of way.
Sep 06, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
 
From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
4.13
How did I wait until I was 40 to read this gem?
Nov 03, 2014
Nov 02, 2014
 
Going Places
4.10
This is why I am an educator!
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 11, 2014
 
The Lady Elizabeth
3.96

An interesting read for Tudor fans. In stark contrast from The Lady in the Tower, which was pure historical research, but an enjoyable read.
May 08, 2012
Apr 27, 2012
 
Bellwether
3.93
Witty and quirky fun!
not set
Jul 09, 2013
 
One Year in Coal Harbor (Coal Harbour #2)
3.76
Everything on a Waffle was better, but this was a respectable showing.
Mar 28, 2013
Mar 23, 2013
 
Who Could That Be at This Hour? (All The Wrong Questions, #1)
3.80
Same old, same old...
not set
Dec 23, 2013
 
The Lacuna
3.72
Pure beauty.
Nov 24, 2010
Nov 24, 2010
 
On the Day I Died: Stories from the Grave
3.61
Meh.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
 
We Are Water
3.77
Better than The Hour I First Believed, still can't top I Know This Much is True.
Mar 25, 2014
Mar 24, 2014
 
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
3.15
I started out thinking, "Bizarre little book" got into it in the middle, and ended up thinking "Bizarre little book."
Aug 27, 2011
Aug 14, 2011
 
Going Bovine
3.65
Weird, but in a mostly good way. A modern Don Quixote adventure for teens.
Jun 07, 2014
May 29, 2014
 
The Bingo Palace
3.84
This book didn't really seem to have a resolution and I ended it feeling like I'd read all of that only to find at the end that I had no clue.
Feb 02, 2013
Jan 17, 2013
 
The Golem and the Jinni
4.09
Spell-binding. I could not put it down!
Jul 03, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
 
The Iciest, Diciest, Scariest Sled Ride Ever!
3.43
Some pieces of really lyrical language, but a rather ho-hum story.
Oct 07, 2014
Sep 24, 2014
 
The Passage (The Passage, #1)
4.01
Read it. Even if, like me, you don't want to. It has a little something for everybody: sci-fi, vampires...and for those of us who don't like sci-fi or ...more
Jan 2013
Dec 04, 2012
 
Stone Mattress: Nine Tales
4.02
Some great short stories that are intertwined and off beat. I loved most, but the dusties and vampire ones were a bit beyond me.
not set
Nov 18, 2014
 
Tess of the D'Urbervilles
3.71
Along with Anna K. And Madame B., I just can't take old fashioned books by white males about troubled women and their poor choices and bad situations.
Oct 24, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
 
Great Expectations
3.70


Not my favorite Dickens, but at least I can now say I've read it.
Jul 26, 2012
Jul 12, 2012
 
In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin
3.76
Fascinating!
not set
Jan 05, 2012
 
Wingshooters
3.78
Depressing...but then I tend to like my books that way.
not set
Mar 21, 2012
 
The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next #3)
4.08
Not my favorite in this series, but I will likely forge on. Whatever this book lacked in plot, the author made up for it with inventiveness.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
 
The Real Boy
3.98
It took me a long time to get into thus one, but once it hooked me I finished it in one night.
Mar 04, 2014
Feb 13, 2014
Rss