bookshelves

all (1475)
« 1 »

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Tea Cakes for Tosh
4.23
Age: K-2nd grade
History: Slavery
Family: Grandma
Tough Issue: Alzheimer's

A well constructed story that discusses two unique issues--slavery and Alzheim
...more
Feb 20, 2013
Feb 20, 2013
 
Eleanor & Park
4.17
Age: Middle School-High School
Tough Issue: Abuse

Phew. What a read. I was so in love with the authenticity of this book. Every interaction, and plot li
...more
Jul 15, 2013
Jun 08, 2013
 
Sold
4.15
Age: High School
Tough Issue: Human Trafficking, Child sexual slavery, torture

A hard read, but unfortunately relevant in our world, McCormick provides
...more
Jan 02, 2015
Nov 05, 2012
 
Virginia Wolf
4.15
Age: 1st-3rd grade
Tough Issue: Depression

"Vanessa's sister, Virginia, is in a "wolfish" mood -- growling, howling and acting very strange. It's a funk
...more
Sep 10, 2012
Sep 10, 2012
 
Those Shoes
4.33
Age: Kindergarten-2nd grade
Culture: African American

When Jeremy sees all the kids wearing black high tops, he desperately wants his own pair. But, as
...more
Nov 05, 2014
Nov 05, 2014
 
Peanut Butter & Cupcake
3.74
Age: Preschool-2nd grade
Tough Issue: New kid on the block

Perhaps inspired by Facebook feeds obnoxiously full of food pictures, Border presents a sweet
...more
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
 
Maddi's Fridge
4.43
Age: Kindergarten-2nd grade
Tough Issue: Poverty

The cartoon style will visually pull in a large audience while exposing children to a subject all too r
...more
Nov 08, 2014
Nov 08, 2014
 
Monster
3.67
Age: High School
Tough Issue: Prison

A thought-provoking piece about one 16-year-old boy that is on trial for manslaughter. Although it is a quick read,
...more
May 24, 2013
May 17, 2013
 
This One Summer
3.64
Age: Middle School
Tough Issue: Pregnancy

An interesting look at pregnancy from two points of view: an accidental pregnancy in a teen girl and a mother
...more
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
 
The Long Silk Strand: A Grandmother's Legacy to Her Granddaughter
3.44
Ages: 5-10 years
Media: collage, softer colors
Topics: coping with family death

Yasuyo watches her grandmother tie silk threads together. For each one, s
...more
Jun 16, 2011
Jun 16, 2011
 
One for the Murphys
4.30
Age: 4th-middle school
Tough Issue: Foster care
First line: Sitting in the back of the social worker's car, I try to remember how my mother has always s
...more
Aug 11, 2014
Jun 30, 2012
 
The Fault in Our Stars
4.41
Age: High School, Adult
Tough Issue: Teens with cancer

First line: "Late in the winter of my 17th year my mother decided I was depressed, presumably bec
...more
Mar 31, 2014
Jan 23, 2012
 
A Monster Calls
4.25
Age: High School-Adult
Family: Mom, son
Tough Issue: Cancer, Grief
Awards: 2015 Lincoln nominee

Hot damn. I mean, hot damn. I'm going to make a shelf call
...more
Aug 08, 2013
Jan 23, 2012
 
Speak
3.97
"Melinda Sordino busted an end-of-summer party by calling the cops. Now her old friends won't talk to her, and people she doesn't even know hate her f ...more
Jul 05, 2012
Apr 24, 2011
 
Hate List
4.05
Age: 7th grade-high school

Although the writing was dismal, I can still see many teens riveted by the dramatic plot and pulled into the story of Val's
...more
Sep 22, 2014
Aug 01, 2012
 
Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass
3.94
Age: Middle School-High School
Tough Issue: Bullying

This novel offers a unique addition to the books about being bullied. Piddy moves to a new school a
...more
Aug 2013
Jun 03, 2013
 
Revolution
4.04
Age: High School-Adult
Culture: France
Music: Performance, guitar, classical
Tough Issue: Death of a family member
First Line: "Those who can, do."

A truly
...more
Dec 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2012
 
Rabbityness
3.90
Age: K+
Art: Painting, music
Tough issue: Death

A unique representation of the impact one animal (or person) can have on a group of friends and family. T
...more
Jan 02, 2013
Jan 02, 2013
 
Willow Finds a Way
3.66
Age: K-2nd grade
Tough Issue: Bullying

A straight-forward, kid-centric picture book about bullying from the perspective of the bullied. The act of bully
...more
May 2013
May 01, 2013
 
The Dandelion's Tale
3.64
Age: Preschool-Kindergarten
Tough Issue: Death

As sparrow is flying above the meadows one day, he hears crying below him. Looking down, he sees a puff o
...more
Apr 04, 2014
Apr 04, 2014
 
Boy21
4.03
Age: 7th-high school
Sports: Basketball
Tough issues: Death of parents, mob activity

This book was a million stars away from what I was expecting. Althou
...more
Aug 03, 2014
Jun 21, 2012
 
Thirteen Reasons Why
4.06
Age: 8th-12th grade

After his crush, Hannah, commits suicide, Clay Baker receives a package with no return address. Inside are several cassette tapes,
...more
Nov 30, 2011
Apr 24, 2011
 
The Invisible Boy
4.35
Age: 1st-4th grade
Tough Issue: Bullying

This would be a great book to provide variety for a discussion on bullying. The invisible boy, Brian, is invisi
...more
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 16, 2013
 
I'll Be There
4.03
Age: Middle-High School

"Emily Bell believes in destiny. To her, being forced to sing a solo in the church choir--despite her average voice--is fate: b
...more
Jan 02, 2013
Oct 12, 2011
 
Ben's Flying Flowers
3.43
Tough Issue: Death of a family member (little brother)

For the depth of the issue, and the shortness a picture book, Maier has written a touching story
...more
Aug 08, 2012
Aug 08, 2012
 
Missing Mommy: A Book About Bereavement
4.06
Age: Preschool-1st grade

A lower level, straightforward book about a boy missing his mommy after she dies and how his family helps him understand and c
...more
Apr 13, 2013
Apr 13, 2013
 
Zayde Comes to Live
3.98
Religion: Judaism
Tough Issue: Death

I appreciate that the illustrator chose to draw oxygen tubes on the grandpa, providing a realistic portrayal.
Dec 19, 2012
Dec 19, 2012
 
Inexcusable
3.09
Age: 10th-12th grade (due to younger ages misinterpreting the message)

A valuable perspective of a teen who commits a terrible act: rape. Even more ter
...more
Apr 28, 2012
Apr 24, 2011
 
Speak Up, Tommy!
3.67
Age: 1st-3rd grade
Culture: Israeli immigrant to US
Tough-Issues: Bullying, Immigration
Oct 09, 2012
Oct 09, 2012
 
Ben Rides On
3.69
Age: 1st-3rd grade
Sports: Bicycle riding
Tough Issue: Bullies

Aug 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Rss More books shelved as 'tough-issues' »