cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Investing in Real Estate
3.75
Being completely ignorant as a real estate investor, I don't know if any of this book is legit or not, but it sure made sense to me.
not set
Oct 23, 2010
 
Growing Up Empty: The Hunger Epidemic in America
4.11
Explores the reality of hunger in the United States. Like most books of this type, there's plenty of blame to go around.
not set
May 04, 2009
 
Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
3.71
Book that falls under the category of "Man, I wish I hadn't read that, 'cause now I feel guilty about everything."
not set
May 04, 2009
 
Chewing Gum: The Fortunes of Taste
3.00
Pretty boring, actually. Starts well enough, but it becomes a drudgery to read.
not set
May 04, 2009
 
The Princess Bride
4.24
What a great read. Just like the movie, and in this case, it's a good thing.
not set
May 04, 2009
 
Tuesdays With Morrie
3.98
A bonafide tearjerker that's worth your time.
not set
Oct 23, 2010
 
The Grapes of Wrath
3.87
I think I have finally learned three things about Steinbeck:

1) He is a hell of a writer.
2) He is a pessimist.
3) All he can write about is California.

T...more
Feb 20, 2008
Oct 01, 2007
 
The Crescent Through the Eyes of the Cross: Insights from an Arab Christian
3.88
Very very good read. Addresses what I believe to be a key point in Christianity - the pursuit of the growth of the Kingdom of God, and not Christendom...more
not set
Jul 01, 2008
 
The Count of Monte Cristo
4.14
A very similar book to Les Miserables. Dumas writes a brilliant novel intertwining the imprisonment and then vengeance of Edmond Dantes.
not set
Jun 05, 2008
 
The War Within: Gaining Victory in the Battle for Sexual Purity
3.80
A very practical read on battling sexual sin. His naval analogies were especially good. I highly recommend it to those who struggle in this area.
Jul 24, 2008
Jul 13, 2008
 
Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs
4.15
I got this book as a gift from my kindergarten teacher. I remember looking through it and making my own adventures. A great book.
not set
Sep 26, 2007
 
Pride and Prejudice
4.24
I couldn't get over the soap opera mentality. The only book in high school I couldn't finish. Maybe I should give it another shot...
not set
Sep 26, 2007
 
Personal Disciplemaking: A Step-By-Step Guide for Leading a New Christian From New Birth to Maturity
3.88
I need to be able to apply the concepts found in this book in order to be able to give it a higher rating. Until then, 3 stars.
not set
May 09, 2008
 
Real Sex: The Naked Truth about Chastity
3.87
Pretty good. Interesting material, the author is a very good writer, but I felt she brought up questions she did not answer.
Oct 2007
Sep 29, 2007
 
Wild at Heart: Discovering the Secret of a Man's Soul
3.89
Strong feelngs about this one. I completely agree with some things and completely disagree with others. The rating averages to a 3.
not set
Sep 26, 2007
 
The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, #3)
4.03
This is a review for the whole series. They were OK (and wow, did they stick it to religion), but they're only 3 stars.
not set
Oct 01, 2007
 
Don Quixote (Don Quijote de la Mancha)
3.82
Very enjoyable read (I believe the first novel) that is an interesting commentary on human nature at times.
not set
Oct 01, 2007
 
Hamlet
3.99
Oh, Hamlet. You annoy me so. And yet, I enjoyed reading you. I still think Hamlet is the villain in this story.
not set
Oct 02, 2007
 
Billy Budd, Sailor
3.02
Kind of depressing, slow, plus I have bad memories from English class. But, in my mind, it still gets 3 stars.
not set
Oct 05, 2007
 
The Crucible
3.49
See my review for "The Scarlet Letter." Also, if you shoot the girl right off the back, it's a happy ending.
not set
Oct 01, 2007
 
The Giver (The Giver #1)
4.11
Fantastic read. Most kids read it in school, but you absolutely should read it if you have not.
not set
Sep 26, 2007
 
The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate
4.18
Good book, but I felt that what I had heard about "The Love Languages" I just read again in the book.
Feb 25, 2008
Sep 29, 2007
 
Desiring God: Meditations of a Christian Hedonist
4.17
A book I need to read again. Piper has good things to say, but it is mentally draining to read it.
Jul 2008
Feb 23, 2008
 
All Quiet on the Western Front
3.83
Good book that tells about the reality of the first World War. Good to hear from a German perspective.
Jan 2008
Oct 01, 2007
 
Martin the Warrior (Redwall, #6)
4.11
Finally answered the question of who Martin was. I nearly cried at the end of the book.
not set
Sep 29, 2007
 
The Dangerous Book for Boys
4.01
This is really a 3 plus or a 4 minus. I like this book a lot, but some of it is boring to me.
not set
Dec 13, 2007
 
Flowers for Algernon
3.97
This is very nearly a must-read. If you've seen the movie, you have to read the book.
not set
Oct 05, 2007
 
Mere Christianity
4.28
In my opinion, Lewis's best book. He addresses issues of Christianity very well.
not set
Sep 26, 2007
 
Passion and Purity: Learning to Bring Your Love Life Under Christ's Control
4.12
It was pretty good, but it felt like she just kept talking about her situation.
not set
Sep 29, 2007
 
The Time Machine
3.82
Decent, but slow. I hate to say this, but I think I'd rather watch the movie.
not set
Sep 26, 2007
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5