cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
The Painter
3.75
My review is up at The Miami Herald
http://www.miamiherald.com/2014/05/16...
May 17, 2014
May 17, 2014
 
What Wolves Know
4.00
I think it's hard to get. I think I wrote it. This is what Financial Times thinks:
The Financial Times:

WHAT WOLVES KNOW
by Kit Reed
PS Publishing £19.99
...more
not set
May 06, 2011
 
An Untamed State
4.18
Brilliant. Scarifying, no, terrifying. I'll never forget it.
May 21, 2014
May 22, 2014
 
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
3.57
extraordinary. intense and remarkable. superb.
May 15, 2008
May 08, 2008
 
The Black Prince
3.94
This is the book that got me hooked on Murdoch.
not set
Mar 16, 2013
 
The Ocean at the End of the Lane
3.99
Lovely. Scary. Ursula Monkton!!!
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
 
Enclave
2.68
Well, I didn't read it, I wrote it. Just out from Tor.
Publishers Weekly starred it in this review:


Publishers Weekly starred review
Enclave Kit Reed.
...more
Aug 20, 2008
Aug 20, 2008
 
The Story Until Now: A Great Big Book of Stories
4.19
Naturally I give it five stars: my best stories, including six new and never-before-collected ones, with an amazing preface by the wonderful Gary K. W ...more
not set
Jan 01, 2013
 
Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
3.77
If you've read any of the gazillion first=hand accounts of the Fitzgeralds, esp. the Fitzgeralds in Paris, you'll be hyper-aware of the gobs of unassi ...more
not set
Apr 08, 2013
 
That's Not a Feeling
3.27
Loved it. Sweet, quirky story of a funky boarding school w. captive kids and bizarre teaching methods.
Jan 17, 2013
Jan 17, 2013
 
The Dog Stars
3.88
Astonishing writer-- if you thought you were over postapocalyptic fiction, think again. Really!
not set
Oct 18, 2012
 
The King of Pain: A Novel With Stories
3.60
Intercut w. a few too many episodes from a mythical book-- slows it down wayway too much.
Jan 17, 2013
Jan 17, 2013
 
Kill Shakespeare, Vol. 1
3.30
This is a hoot, but/and my mate, who's an actual FAN of Shakespeare, liked it better.
Apr 08, 2013
Apr 08, 2013
 
& Sons
3.39
Long for what it does, a little too diffuse, but the overall design is brilliant.
not set
Aug 09, 2013
 
The Interestings
3.53
Baby boomers from the '70s til now. A woman's novel-- in a good way.
Dec 16, 2012
Dec 16, 2012
 
Half World: A Novel
3.39
Sinister. Gritty. Brilliant.
not set
Jan 23, 2014
 
Demon Camp: A Soldier's Exorcism
3.46
Did she drink the KoolAid?
Jan 29, 2014
Jan 29, 2014
 
1Q84 (1Q84, #1-3)
3.84
flawed but fascinating.
not set
Dec 18, 2012
 
Son of Destruction
3.15
This isn't really "my review" because I wrote the book! It's by James Lovegrove in Financial Times weekend, Oct. 20
http://www.ft.com/intl/cms/s/2/b72e
...more
not set
Oct 17, 2012
 
Black Orchid
3.71
A little murky, but physically gorgeous.
Dec 30, 2012
Dec 17, 2012
 
MaddAddam (MaddAddam Trilogy, #3)
3.94
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
 
The Age of Miracles
3.64
Amazingly done; cliffhanger even though the ending is inevitable.
Mar 03, 2013
Feb 05, 2013
 
Lost for Words
3.28
funny, but not funny enough; he was bitter about the Booker prize; unfortunately, it's hard to figure out who his real-life models are.
not set
May 23, 2014
 
Tokyo Year Zero (Tokyo Trilogy, #1)
3.24
Another of those weird, deceptive, hypnotic novels about people and places we don't know about; a deranged detective in postwar Japan.
not set
Mar 05, 2008
 
Godchildren
3.74
The first U.S. edition of Colderidge's snotty, addictively wonderful page-turning tour of the British class system.
Aug 11, 2008
Aug 11, 2008
 
House of Happy Endings
3.55
An amazing, scarifying look into the inner lives of the family that brought you Uncle Wiggly and The Bobbsey Twins.
not set
Mar 05, 2008
 
The Other Woman's House (Spilling CID, #6)
3.53
a page-turning read right up to the moment when it takes the author five chapters of dialog to explain it all for you.
not set
Dec 31, 2012
 
Beautiful Children
2.91
It could have been tighter but it's very Vegas and the missing kid is the perfect narrative hook.
not set
Mar 05, 2008
 
Life Class
3.42
you may find my review this sunday at courant.com; they take them down almost immediately
Mar 18, 2008
Mar 15, 2008
 
A Prisoner of Birth
4.04
we should all go to prison and get paid millions to have the last word.

Apr 04, 2008
Mar 22, 2008
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6