cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Dept. of Speculation
3.79
I underlined basically the entire novel.
May 22, 2013
May 21, 2013
 
The Night Circus
4.00
THE NIGHT CIRCUS is magical realism at its most fun. The major storyline pits two young magicians (and two schools of thought) in a mysterious battle ...more
May 27, 2011
May 29, 2011
 
The Lowland
3.79
Wow. Jhumpa Lahiri's THE LOWLAND is a big novel with the power of her best short stories.

It follows the life of Subhash Mitra as he grows up in Calcu
...more
Jan 17, 2013
Jan 24, 2013
 
The Circle
3.42
THE CIRCLE is a fever dream of a novel about an individual at a tech behemoth, about the sinister undertones of our best intentions, and about the con ...more
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
 
The Other Language
4.07
The first story in THE OTHER LANGUAGE took me by surprise and completely blew me away. The beauty and grace and urgency of each moment captures a life ...more
Oct 2013
Sep 11, 2013
 
Seating Arrangements
3.01
Maggie Shipstead's excellent SEATING ARRANGEMENTS is much darker than you'd expect for something packaged as a summer read. It's both a summer romp an ...more
Jun 2012
May 25, 2012
 
Dust
3.73
DUST opens with a brilliant, charismatic hero running for his life through the streets of Nairobi. He's chased down, shot, and killed by the police. A ...more
Mar 07, 2014
Feb 10, 2014
 
Station Eleven
4.03
STATION ELEVEN is that rare book you can recommend to any type of reader and be confident you've given them their new favorite.
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
 
The Children Act
3.67
Safe money to win the Booker.
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
 
Super Sad True Love Story
3.44
“Only spoiled white people could let something so good get so bad,” a character Verbals in Gary Shteyngart’s dystopian novel, SUPER SAD TRUE LOVE STOR ...more
Aug 07, 2010
Jul 22, 2010
 
Vaclav and Lena
3.68
Vaclav & Lena is a book to (forgive the word) cherish. It's all the secrets we keep growing up; it's what it's like to be a kid alone; what it's l ...more
Jun 06, 2011
May 30, 2011
 
Antwerp
3.63
This is not a novel, but I judge it as one because that's what Bolano called it. (I assume he wrote it before giving up on being a poet?) ANTWERP is i ...more
Nov 15, 2010
Nov 13, 2010
 
The Tiger's Wife
3.36
Part mystery and part fable, the part you'll really remember is the story of the girl and her grandfather. Animals become a metaphor for life and love ...more
Jan 02, 2011
Dec 30, 2010
 
My Fathers' Ghost Is Climbing in the Rain
3.48
This is an excellent novel for fans of Bolano or Marias. Philosophical, experimental, but still emotional and plot driven. I hope the rest of his work ...more
Oct 13, 2012
Oct 09, 2012
 
The Lake Shore Limited
3.28
What a fantastic book! Sue Miller's THE LAKE SHORE LIMITED was an unlikely choice for me, given the author's reputation. But then I read Ron Charles c ...more
May 24, 2010
Apr 27, 2010
 
The Age of Miracles
3.64
THE AGE OF MIRACLES is a moving book that snuck its way into my dreams. I fell in love with the characters. I am proud to have this book on my shelf.

T
...more
Aug 15, 2012
Aug 06, 2012
 
Love Me Back
3.25
Unrelenting. This is mostly a good thing. 3.5 stars rounded up.
Mar 15, 2014
Mar 20, 2014
 
How to be both
3.68
Brilliant.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
 
The Flame Alphabet
2.88
Marcus has, as his editor says, "this wild imagination and such matter of fact prose." It makes what could be a wild science fiction book with a page- ...more
Oct 06, 2011
Sep 30, 2011
 
In Between Days
3.82
Andrew Porter can write the American family in a way few other can. He has a sympathy and understanding of his characters--even as he puts them throug ...more
Jun 27, 2012
Jun 10, 2012
 
The Emerald Atlas (The Books of Beginning, #1)
3.91
It's a formula, yes. You know when the scene will change, when a new emotional struggle will ensue, long before it happens. You know the entire plot a ...more
Jun 11, 2011
Jun 11, 2011
 
Habibi
4.02
The artwork, my god the artwork. What a beautiful, mind-blowing achievement. The story moves quickly. It's very well written, though it revolves aroun ...more
Sep 14, 2011
Sep 13, 2011
 
The Same River Twice
3.10
Reading this book felt like rushing through a dream: The characters are not fully formed, the settings and situations are never quite right, but it wa ...more
Jun 30, 2010
Jun 04, 2010
 
Like You'd Understand, Anyway
3.86
Jim Shepard knows everything. Everything. His stories baffle me with their omniscience, and I think that's exactly the point. The over-researched, MFA ...more
not set
May 23, 2010
 
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
3.82
If you haven't read BOSSYPANTS, read that first. If you have read BOSSYPANTS...maybe read it again.

Sloane Crosley might also be a better choice (witho
...more
Nov 18, 2012
Nov 18, 2012
 
Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned
3.84
Gritty, funny, and occasionally intense stories of people who are down on their luck (or about to be). Wells hints at trouble for most of the book but ...more
Apr 02, 2010
Mar 22, 2010
 
The Sense of an Ending
3.68
What I loved about Barnes's SENSE OF AN ENDING, was the author's unreal ability to tell a lifetime's worth of story in a few stray thoughts.

One typica
...more
Nov 06, 2011
Oct 15, 2011
 
The Gone-Away World
4.17
When was the last time ninjas didn't make things better. Teenage mutant turtles? They eat lots of pizza and use funny words? Yawn. You throw some gong ...more
Jan 24, 2012
Jan 08, 2012
 
The Yellow Birds
3.75
This book could be incredibly moving and soul wrenching. But often I found myself bored. Too often for such a short novel.

Sometime the characters' st
...more
Nov 28, 2012
Nov 13, 2012
 
Norwegian Wood
4.02
Nostalgic in all the right ways, this is a story about growing up, about what it means to be in love, and about the struggle to make sense of an unfai ...more
Jan 10, 2011
Jan 07, 2011
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9