bookshelves

all (1579)
« 1 3 4 »

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Mein Kampf
2.96
The author of this book is certainly one of the five or ten biggest nutjobs in the history of the world. Complete raving lunatic. No one should ever l...more
not set
Jul 26, 2012
 
Attack on Titan, Vol. 7 (Attack on Titan, #7)
4.48
Casualties: Excessive
Victories: None
Number of Times I Wanted to Smack Eren: 2
Number of Times I Questioned My Sexuality While Looking at Levi: 12
Wait U...more
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
 
The Imperial Cruise: A Secret History of Empire and War
3.52
Just came across this gem:

"In 1844, America elected James Polk to the presidency. At the time of his election, the United States was a small country w...more
Nov 17, 2010
Oct 21, 2010
 
The Cave and the Light; Plato Versus Aristotle, and the Struggle for the Soul of Western Civilization
3.92
This is pop-history at its worst -- a broad, sweeping thesis that simplifies everything too much while relying on historical myths any time the author...more
Dec 23, 2013
Dec 16, 2013
 
The Storm of War: A New History of the Second World War
4.10
Someday, someone will write a great one volume history of the Second World War. But it won't be Andrew Roberts.

The book is all right when it comes to...more
Apr 05, 2012
Apr 04, 2012
 
The Godfather
4.33
"The book is always better than the movie" is one of those truisms that people repeat uncritically. But anyone who's widely read knows that's not true...more
not set
Mar 05, 2010
 
Brianna on the Brink
3.71
For a story that sounds like it should be taking a stand against slut-shaming, this book comes down pretty hard on the side of stuffy bourgeois morali...more
Jun 13, 2013
Jun 12, 2013
 
Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, Vol. 1 (Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon Renewal Editions, #1)
4.27
Most of you probably remember Sailor Moon as a rather silly cartoon series from the mid-90s. And you're probably looking at me wondering, "Why is he r...more
Mar 19, 2014
Sep 26, 2011
 
The Midwich Cuckoos
3.90
Oh, dear me! Something strange has happened to the village of Midwich. Some mysterious force has shrouded the town and rendered all therein unconsciou...more
Jun 20, 2012
Jun 19, 2012
 
デュラララ!! (Durarara!!, #1)
4.28
Okay, people, let's get this straight. This is urban fantasy.



This is fantasy for white suburbanites who lock their car doors if they have to drive thr...more
Mar 06, 2012
Dec 07, 2011
 
City of Dragons
3.32
Kelli Stanley tries very hard to make City of Dragons a hardboiled mystery in the tradition of Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett. The problem is,...more
May 31, 2010
May 01, 2010
 
The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya (Haruhi Suzumiya, #4)
4.40
The story so far: On the surface Haruhi Suzumiya seems to be an ordinary if hyperactive Japanese schoolgirl, but in reality she is a being of immense...more
Jun 2011
Jun 05, 2011
 
England's Mistress: The Infamous Life of Emma Hamilton
3.84
You know what I like about historical biographies? There's no sensationalistic scandal-mongering. Biographers can't pay a maid $5000 to dish dirt. Th...more
not set
May 11, 2010
 
The Limit, 1
3.52
Survival-horror has been part of the manga landscape since at least Kazuo Umezu's The Drifting Classroom, but there's no doubt that it received a huge...more
Oct 15, 2012
Oct 14, 2012
 
Opera Vita Aeterna
2.59
How did this hackwork get in my Hugo Awards packet? (Okay, I know exactly how it ended up in my Hugo packet. I'm being rhetorical here.)

This isn't esp...more
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
 
Downbelow Station (Company Wars, #1)
3.88
I don't know why so many science fiction fans find this book off-putting. Sure, it's ultra-dense, and Cherryh prefers to build the world through subtl...more
Mar 11, 2013
Jun 05, 2012
 
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (Haruhi Suzumiya, #1)
3.95
The Meloncholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is about a 14 year old Japanese schoolgirl.

(Well, there's a surprise. When was the last time you came across a light...more
May 23, 2011
May 18, 2011
 
Slimed!: An Oral History of Nickelodeon's Golden Age
3.21
This book is jammed full of information on Nickelodeon's heyday, compiled from interviews with dozens of key players. Everything a fan of the network'...more
Nov 09, 2013
Nov 04, 2013
 
Wandering Son: Volume One
3.96
I want to break into a school in a really conservative district and plant copies of this book in the library, just to watch the ensuing outrage from m...more
Sep 21, 2011
Sep 21, 2011
 
The Shocks of Adversity
3.82
I really wish Paramount would hire some of the Trek novel writers for the next movie instead of the idiots who gave us red matter and white Khan. In t...more
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
 
Sankarea 1: Undying Love
3.85
I really wonder what the good folk at Kondansha USA were thinking when they came up with the cover to this. I mean, here's the original Japanese cover...more
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
 
Nothing Lasts Forever
3.58
Oh what could've been. Imagine a world in which Die Hard starred Frank Sinatra as an aging detective trying to save his daughter and grand children fr...more
Feb 19, 2014
Feb 17, 2014
 
My Girlfriend's a Geek (novel): Volume 1
3.65
A better title would be, "My Girlfriend Has Interests that Differ from Mine and Go Against the Grain of Japanese Society, but Instead of Being Support...more
Aug 10, 2011
Aug 10, 2011
 
Rise of the Warrior Cop: The Militarization of America's Police Forces
4.28
I wish I could write a coherent review of this book, but just thinking about the abuses of civil rights presented in this book makes me angry beyond t...more
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
 
Puella Magi Madoka Magica: The Different Story, Vol. 1 (Puella Magi Madoka Magica: The Different Story, #1)
4.32
Of all the Madoka spinoffs, this is the first one I've read that's actually good. And coherent.
Mar 30, 2014
Mar 30, 2014
 
Bridge of Birds: A Novel of an Ancient China That Never Was (The Chronicles of Master Li and Number Ten Ox, #1)
4.32
For years people have been telling me how great this book is, and I can only conclude that they read it when it first came out in the '80s and forgot...more
Feb 25, 2013
Feb 13, 2013
 
Mobile Suit Gundam: THE ORIGIN volume 1: Activation
4.38
After the original Gundam 0079 went off the air, Yoshiyuki Tomino wrote a series of novels to showcase how he would've written the series if not for s...more
Mar 31, 2013
Mar 30, 2013
 
空ろの箱と零のマリア 1 [Utsuro No Hako To Zero No Maria 1]
4.43
You know what's amazing? It's only been 18 years since the film Groundhog's Day popularized the infinite time-loop story [1]. Less than two decades, b...more
Jul 02, 2011
Jun 29, 2011
 
とらドラ! 10
4.30
(I've come to realize that reviewing all ten books of the Toradora! series would be way too much work, so I'm just going to do an overview of the enti...more
Jun 29, 2011
Jun 28, 2011
 
空ろの箱と零のマリア 3 [Utsuro No Hako To Zero No Maria 3]
4.45
So once again Kazuki and Maria have been trapped by a User with a Box. This time it's Kingdom Royale, and the User is someone they've known and called...more
Jul 12, 2011
Jul 06, 2011
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 52 53