# cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
3
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)
4.40
Everyone told me to read this book right away. I wasn't sure it was going to be my type of book but within a few pages I was hooked and it did not dis ...more
Jan 15, 2012
Dec 28, 2011
 
26
Killing Kennedy: The End of Camelot
3.98
Another concise review of history from Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard. Killing Kennedy is not a book of conspiracy theories or a complete and thoroug ...more
Nov 17, 2012
Nov 15, 2012
 
23
Sister Wives
3.22
I was a bit disappointed in this book. I am a very curious person and am always wanting to try to understand why people live/believe the way they do. ...more
Nov 10, 2012
Nov 01, 2012
 
25
Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever
3.99
Killing Lincoln by Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard is a very well written account of the events surrounding Lincoln's assassination. Written in novel ...more
Nov 05, 2012
Nov 10, 2012
 
29
The Kitchen House
4.15
In the vein of Hill's Someone Knows My Name, Kathleen Grissom's The Kitchen House is the story of a young Irish girl in the late 18th century who came ...more
Nov 30, 2012
Nov 20, 2012
 
47
Remember Wake
4.00
I thoroughly enjoyed Teresa R. Funke's Remember Wake. It was a part of WWII (or any war for the matter) that I have not read/researched much about. Th ...more
Dec 31, 2012
Dec 29, 2012
 
7
The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels
3.79
I have been a fan of blogger Ree Drummond, the Pioneer Woman, for several years and have wanted to read her memoir for some time. I thoroughly enjoyed ...more
May 25, 2012
May 22, 2012
 
15
Reunited: An Investigative Genealogist Unlocks Some of Life's Greatest Family Mysteries
3.93
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. As a genealogist and researcher, I helped my husband find his birth family, along with my own clients; there are those ...more
Sep 12, 2012
Sep 09, 2012
 
32
Oh Myyy!
3.72
George Takei is his usual funny and charming self in his latest book Oh Myyy! His wonderful sense of humor comes through as he takes on Twitter, Faceb ...more
Dec 15, 2012
Dec 12, 2012
 
17
Blockade Billy
3.32
I am an avid King reader. I enjoy his tales that are out of his usual genre. This novella nearly was one of those gore-less stories but there was bloo ...more
Sep 16, 2012
Sep 14, 2012
 
9
Changeling (Order of Darkness, #1)
3.16
This was my first Philippa Gregory novel and I thoroughly enjoyed it. In the first of a Young Adult series, the story follows four characters during t ...more
Jun 02, 2012
May 25, 2012
 
11
11/22/63
4.25
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I have been a fan of Stephen King for many years and loved this departure from his usual stuff. This novel is full of ...more
Jun 14, 2012
Nov 23, 2011
 
13
The Scottish Prisoner
4.12
I received the book for free through Goodreads First Reads.

Another excellent book from Diana Gabaldon. Although an installment in the Lord John series
...more
Aug 13, 2012
Jun 03, 2012
 
38
Lincoln's Little Girl
3.53
Lincoln's Little Girl by Cecelia Holland is a short article about Julia Taft, the daughter of friends of Lincoln's. Julia visited the house often to v ...more
Dec 25, 2012
Dec 24, 2012
 
19
The Moonlit Mind (Pendleton, #.5)
3.87
In The Moonlit Mind: A Tale of Suspense, Koontz proves he's as powerful and creepy in short form as he is in novel form. Although I enjoyed this story ...more
Sep 24, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
 
34
Three Cups of Deceit: How Greg Mortenson, Humanitarian Hero, Lost His Way
3.76
Jon Krakauer's Three Cups of Deceit is a short article denouncing the authenticity of information in Greg Mortenson's Three Cups of Tea. I have Morten ...more
Dec 22, 2012
Dec 19, 2012
 
22
The Casual Vacancy
3.24
J. K. Rowling's The Casual Vacancy is a definite departure from her Harry Potter series. Rowling's new book is definitely adult oriented, discussing t ...more
Nov 2012
Sep 25, 2012
 
18
Mother's Day Out (The Margie Peterson Mysteries)
3.71
Another fun read from Karen MacInerney. I have thoroughly enjoyed her Grey Whale Inn series and am glad to see a new series starting. Mother's Day Out ...more
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 16, 2012
 
30
Shaken, Not Stirred
3.64


Tim Gunn's Shaken, Not Stirred is a short excerpt of his full length memoir. Gunn eloquently recounts life with his OCD father, a former FBI agent an
...more
Nov 30, 2012
Nov 30, 2012
 
44
Second Son (Jack Reacher, #15.5)
3.92
The Second Son by Lee Child was my first Jack Reacher read. I saw the movie and really enjoyed it, and the book did not disappoint. This short story t ...more
Dec 29, 2012
Dec 28, 2012
 
21
The Time Keeper
3.82
"We all yearn for what we have lost. But sometimes, we forget what we have." Time. We either want time to slow down, or we want time to speed up. We o ...more
Oct 18, 2012
Oct 16, 2012
 
35
Lost in Kandahar
3.75
Insightful. Alex Berenson's Lost In Kandahar details his time embedded with the 101st Airborne Division in Afghanistan. Berenson makes some interestin ...more
Dec 22, 2012
Dec 22, 2012
 
1
Mile 81
3.56
A Stephen King short story reminescent of The Body, Christine, and The Truck. A classic King story that grabs you from the beginning and reminds us th ...more
Jan 02, 2012
Dec 30, 2011
 
33
Life Among Giants
3.43
A great read that completely sucks you in. I would not have read Life Among Giants by Bill Roorbach, but it was a book club read from a local talk sho ...more
Dec 19, 2012
Dec 01, 2012
 
20
Gone Girl
3.95
Awesome read! A page turning, psychological thriller. I felt like I was reading the behind the scenes of a 48 Hours or Dateline show. Just when I thou ...more
Oct 16, 2012
Sep 09, 2012
 
8
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)
3.70
**spoiler alert** I caved to the hype, deciding to read this book to see what all the chatter in the media was about. I felt like it was a complete wa ...more
May 28, 2012
May 22, 2012
 
16
Rules for Virgins
3.34
This was my first Amy Tan read. Rules for Virgins is reminiscent of Memoirs of a Geisha. Written from the point of view of a retired courtesan instruc ...more
Sep 14, 2012
Sep 12, 2012
 
28
An Unexpected Twist (Kindle Single)
3.72
I generally like Andy Borowitz's humor, but I though An Unexpected Twist was just so-so. His humor definitely comes through in his diatribe about some ...more
Nov 19, 2012
Nov 18, 2012
 
27
Cautionary Tales (Kindle Single)
3.77
Cautionary Tales by Stephen Tobolowsky is a fun, quick read (Kindle Single). Not as rip-roaring funny as I hoped but is a small dissertation on his vi ...more
Nov 18, 2012
Nov 17, 2012
 
2
Life on the Mississippi
3.87
Classic Twain. At times disjointed, and rambling, but overall this book clearly shows true Twain humor that we have loved through the years. I persona ...more
Jan 11, 2012
Jan 02, 2012
Rss More books shelved as 'read-in-2012' »
« previous 1