cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
The Nethergrim
3.95
This series opener has the feel of classic fantasy, yet it still comes across as fresh. Plenty of scary action and extremely likable young heroes.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
 
Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle, #1)
3.96
An Alabama homecoming queen/SGA president/ruler of her high school kingdom gets pulled into something straight out of a fantasy movie. She gets awesom...more
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
 
Seven Stories Up
4.09
Companion to Bigger Than a Bread Box (which I loved and booktalked all over the place). Not only does a girl get to time travel, but she gets to see h...more
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
 
The Ninja Librarians: The Accidental Keyhand (The Ninja Librarians #1)
3.79
Yes, I'm particularly partial to this one because it shows librarians in an awesome, booty-kicking light. But anyone who likes stories about kids bein...more
May 05, 2014
May 05, 2014
 
The Kingdom of Little Wounds
3.29
Read this one the weekend before it was named a Printz Honor. Is it history, fairy tale, or royal drama? It's everything rolled into one. Definitely m...more
Jan 27, 2014
Jan 27, 2014
 
Fangirl
4.21
A twin sister who doesn't want to be half of a pair, a surly roommate with an alarmingly cute boyfriend, a father who keeps her worrying. What's a gir...more
Feb 11, 2014
Aug 13, 2013
 
Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy
3.86
Yes, I loved Disney's Frozen. But I love this modern retelling of The Snow Queen fairytale even more. I know Frozen fans are now gasping in disbelief....more
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
 
Frostborn (Thrones & Bones, #1)
4.08
This wonderful fantasy steeped in Norse mythology is by a Birmingham author! Highly recommended for fans of Rick Riordan, J.R.R. Tolkien, and John Fla...more
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
 
The Forbidden Library (The Forbidden Library, #1)
3.84
Proof that books possess a certain magic. Recommended for fans of Cornelia Funke's Inkheart series.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
 
Ice Dogs
4.30
Two teens, six sled dogs versus the Alaskan wilderness. This survival story is breathtaking.
Mar 05, 2014
Mar 05, 2014
 
What I Came to Tell You
3.91
Both the artistic process and the process of grief are woven into this tale of community and healing.
Jan 31, 2014
Jan 31, 2014
 
Dairy Queen (Dairy Queen, #1)
3.76
"Dairy Queen" is an amazingly beautiful book about a normal, hardworking girl from Wisconsin. D.J. is a character you want to be friends with. She isn...more
Nov 24, 2009
Nov 24, 2009
 
Jake and Lily
3.97
Jake & Lily are twins who have always felt that they were 1/2 of the same whole. They have a special connection that even they can't put into word...more
Nov 06, 2012
Nov 06, 2012
 
Across the Universe (Across the Universe, #1)
3.80
I didn't realize this book was going to be a series until I saw it was listed as book #1 on GoodReads, but I can safely still recommend this as a grea...more
Apr 19, 2011
Apr 19, 2011
 
Almost Super
4.13
What makes a superhero? Is it the superpowers, or is it something greater?
Jun 06, 2014
Jun 06, 2014
 
Bird
4.14
A deft mix of realistic tragedy and Jamaican folklore. I cried and cried. But in the best way.
Apr 04, 2014
Apr 04, 2014
 
Ava and Pip
4.13
The diary format, the wordplay, the sister dynamics -- this was a book handcrafted for me! Family and friendships can be tricky in the tween years. Fi...more
Apr 04, 2014
Apr 04, 2014
 
My Chemical Mountain
3.86
I was looking for a short read--less than 200 pages--and this one didn't disappoint! The cover has an eerie photo of three guys facing a giant landfil...more
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 21, 2013
 
I Am the Cheese
3.71
I had a hard time rating this book. While it is very well written, and a definite page turner, I can't say that I loved it. However, I do love some a...more
Dec 29, 2009
Dec 29, 2009
 
The False Princess
3.79
Princess and heir to the throne of Thorvaldor, Nalia's led a privileged life at court. Everything changes when it's revealed, that she is a false prin...more
Mar 29, 2011
Mar 30, 2011
 
The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice, #1)
4.15
I never thought I would like another Ranger as much as I do Aragorn, let alone two Rangers. Ranger Holt and his apprentice, Will, are the perfect odd...more
Oct 10, 2009
Oct 10, 2009
 
Fortunately, the Milk...
4.04
It all started with a simple trip to the store for milk, but when Dad comes back he has a tale to tell of aliens, vampires, dinosaurs, and his determi...more
Feb 11, 2014
Jul 03, 2013
 
The Chocolate War (Chocolate War, #1)
3.47
I know what you're thinking, you read teen books all the time but have never ever read The Chocolate War, the book that started an entire genre? Well,...more
Apr 19, 2011
Apr 19, 2011
 
Princess Ben
3.72
Princess Ben is not your typical Princess. She doesn't look like a princess, eat like a princess, and most importantly, act like a princess. Throughou...more
Nov 24, 2009
Nov 24, 2009
 
The Year of Billy Miller
3.79
This is the only 2014 Newbery Honor I had not read before the award winners were announced. But kudos to the committee because this one is definitely...more
Mar 02, 2014
Jul 03, 2013
 
What the Moon Said
4.02
Esther is trying to make the best of a difficult situation -- moving from a Chicago apartment to a Wisconsin farm during the Great Depression. But wil...more
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
 
The Recruit (Cherub, #1)
4.21
For those of you that enjoy Alex Rider books, “The Recruit” is a grittier version. Even though there are some improbable elements, like kids being rec...more
not set
Sep 28, 2009
 
Evil Genius (Genius, #1)
3.79
Cadel Priggot is just your average 13 year old, if you were the son of the most powerful mastermind in the world, a genius who is infinitely smarter t...more
Apr 14, 2010
Apr 14, 2010
 
The Floating Circus
3.81
I liked this book for so many reasons. I enjoyed the historical details that were woven into the story. Obviously, the reader is exposed to life on a...more
Sep 25, 2009
Sep 25, 2009
 
The Fairy-Tale Detectives (The Sisters Grimm, #1)
3.97
Meet Sabrina and Daphne. Sabrina is responsible, a strong leader, and weary of strangers. Daphne is silly, adventurous, and optimistic. Together they...more
Oct 12, 2009
Oct 12, 2009
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 33 34