cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
The Nethergrim (The Nethergrim, #1)
3.81
really liked it
This series opener has the feel of classic fantasy, yet it still comes across as fresh. Plenty of scary action and extremely likable young heroes.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
 
The Islands at the End of the World (Islands at the End of the World, #1)
3.64
it was amazing
Could you survive in a world suddenly devoid of technology? Set in the luscious backdrop of the Hawaiian islands.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
 
Dear Hank Williams
3.94
it was amazing
Dear Future Reader, I am so in love with this book written entirely in letters to a 1940's country western radio star. You will be too. Your #1 librar ...more
Jun 02, 2015
Jan 20, 2015
 
Frostborn (Thrones & Bones, #1)
3.87
really liked it
This wonderful fantasy steeped in Norse mythology is by a Birmingham author! Highly recommended for fans of Rick Riordan, J.R.R. Tolkien, and John Fla ...more
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
 
None of the Above
3.90
really liked it
How would you react if, at age 18, you learned you were intersex? And how would the rest of your people -- family, friends, boyfriend, classmates -- h ...more
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
 
Raymie Nightingale
3.92
it was amazing
Publishers Weekly captured DiCamillo's latest offering perfectly! "Set in 1975, this tender novel shows how even when life seems out of one’s control— ...more
May 23, 2016
Jan 19, 2016
 
Fifteen  (First Love, #1)
3.91
it was amazing
Loved it when I was in middle school, and I still love it. It is so refreshingly innocent. And so accurate in depicting the mindset and emotions of a ...more
Oct 05, 2009
Oct 05, 2009
 
Eye of the Crow (The Boy Sherlock Holmes, #1)
3.81
really liked it
I only picked this up as an "I'm-a-librarian-and-I-need-some-more-boy-mystery-recommendations" read, but I really enjoyed it. It believably lays the g ...more
Oct 05, 2009
Oct 05, 2009
 
Full Cicada Moon
4.31
it was amazing
In 1969, Mimi is seen as half-Black and half-Japanese. Will anyone see her simply as a whole person? Told in verse. Great for fans of Brown Girl Dream ...more
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 12, 2015
 
The Tapper Twins go to War (With Each Other) (The Tapper Twins, #1)
4.02
really liked it
Who doesn't love a good sibling revenge book? The format of this one -- a mix of oral history, social media posts, and text messages -- sets this one ...more
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
 
The Smell of Other People's Houses
4.01
really liked it
You may think the title of this book is weird. You're right. You may also think you don't have a lot in common with four teenagers growing up in 1970s ...more
Jun 25, 2016
Jun 29, 2016
 
Horten's Miraculous Mechanisms: Magic, Mystery, & a Very Strange Adventure
3.90
it was amazing
This is not your typical mystery. It's quirky and smart, and I can't wait to booktalk it to all the schools in Hoover.
May 07, 2012
May 07, 2012
 
Nightborn (Thrones & Bones, #2)
4.15
really liked it
Another action-packed excursion into the world of Thrones & Bones! Written by local author!
Sep 28, 2015
Mar 24, 2015
 
The Map to Everywhere (Map to Everywhere, #1)
4.05
it was amazing
THIS WAS SO MUCH FUN! Adventure, humor, magic, rats with two tails and six legs!
Feb 09, 2015
Jul 25, 2014
 
Jake and Lily
3.99
it was amazing
Jake & Lily are twins who have always felt that they were 1/2 of the same whole. They have a special connection that even they can't put into word ...more
Nov 06, 2012
Nov 06, 2012
 
Amina's Voice
4.08
really liked it
A Pakistani-American girl starting middle school learns how to cope with the changes and challenges she faces at home, at school, and within her close ...more
May 22, 2017
May 22, 2017
 
Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle, #1)
3.89
really liked it
An Alabama homecoming queen/SGA president/ruler of her high school kingdom gets pulled into something straight out of a fantasy movie. She gets awesom ...more
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
 
Front Lines (Front Lines, #1)
4.15
it was amazing
Alternate WWII history with females able to both enlist and be drafted for service. I could not tear myself away from the action -- not in training an ...more
Apr 25, 2016
Apr 25, 2016
 
Seven Stories Up
3.95
really liked it
Companion to Bigger Than a Bread Box (which I loved and booktalked all over the place). Not only does a girl get to time travel, but she gets to see h ...more
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
 
The Accidental Keyhand (The Ninja Librarians #1)
3.66
really liked it
Yes, I'm particularly partial to this one because it shows librarians in an awesome, booty-kicking light. But anyone who likes stories about kids bein ...more
May 05, 2014
May 05, 2014
 
A Rambler Steals Home
4.57
it was amazing
Derby lives a life on the move, but every summer brings them back to the same minor league baseball stadium -- to sell hot dogs and root for the home ...more
Jun 10, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
 
A Blind Guide to Stinkville
4.12
really liked it
Alice has always been blind, an impairment that accompanies her albinism. Neither has ever been a big deal . . . until she moves from Seattle to Sinkv ...more
Mar 24, 2016
Mar 22, 2016
 
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
4.26
it was amazing
Finding (and keeping) love in high school is tough. When you're a still-in-the-closet gay teen in Georgia falling for an anonymous classmate via secre ...more
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
 
The Kingdom of Little Wounds
3.27
really liked it
Read this one the weekend before it was named a Printz Honor. Is it history, fairy tale, or royal drama? It's everything rolled into one. Definitely m ...more
Jan 27, 2014
Jan 27, 2014
 
Piecing Me Together
4.19
it was amazing
An African-American artist-in-the-making, lives with her mother in Portland, Ore., and travels by bus to private school, where she is both grateful fo ...more
Jun 18, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
 
Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy
3.87
it was amazing
Yes, I loved Disney's Frozen. But I love this modern retelling of The Snow Queen fairytale even more. I know Frozen fans are now gasping in disbelief. ...more
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
 
The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary
4.14
it was amazing
All 18 fifth-graders have a chance to let their voices be heard -- in the form of a poem a day -- when their final year at Emerson Elementary turns ou ...more
May 28, 2016
May 31, 2016
 
Under Locker and Key
4.52
it was amazing
Jeremy is a retrieval specialist, stealing back the stolen and returning the goods to the rightful middle schoolers. But when a job goes bad, it goes ...more
Jun 10, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
 
Ashes to Asheville
3.93
really liked it
This novel of the recent past perfectly captures the realities of being loved and raised by same-sex parents . . . and what happens when one of them i ...more
May 13, 2017
May 11, 2017
 
Big & Little Questions (According to Wren Jo Byrd)
4.20
really liked it
Divorce is a big deal, and it totally changes your world. But what if you can keep it a secret? From your new teacher, your friends, and even yourself ...more
May 13, 2017
May 15, 2017
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 53 54