cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Holding on to Good Ideas in a Time of Bad Ones: Six Literacy Principles Worth Fighting for
4.22
A very technical read, but worth reading in terms of deciding what is important enough for me as a teacher to hold on to in my teaching ideas.
Jul 2009
Aug 07, 2009
 
Is It Night or Day?
3.83
Seldon does a book touch me like this one did. It is a fictional account of the childhool of the author's mother, a 12 year sent by her Jewish family ...more
Jun 16, 2010
Jun 07, 2010
 
The White Fox Chronicles
4.12
The cover made it look like a cartoonish book, but I found it a good read. Reading level more appropriate for average middle school readers.
Jul 2009
Aug 07, 2009
 
Meg's World
2.00
A children's book that might be useful as a model for creative writing. Told in the voice of a four year old, it recounts how she sees the world.
Jul 07, 2010
Jul 07, 2010
 
The Van Alen Legacy (Blue Bloods, #4)
3.95
This fourth book was as good as the first three. The love triangles were believable and one could feel the heartache each one felt as they loved and l ...more
Nov 08, 2009
Nov 07, 2009
 
A Cowboy for Christmas (Jubilee, Texas, #3)
3.97
I love reading books where the characters from other books become the main characters. Thank you Lori Wilde for doing series such as this.
Jul 25, 2012
Jul 26, 2012
 
This Dark Endeavor (The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein, #1)
3.87
A great book for at-risk readers or anyone who loves a good adventure book. It was too gruesome for me in some parts, but kids would love it.
Nov 12, 2012
Nov 14, 2012
 
After Ever After (Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie, #2)
4.22
Grab a box of tissues for this book. I haven't cried because of a book in a long time, but this one did it to me. I loved the characters and their bea ...more
Mar 16, 2010
Mar 14, 2010
 
With This Kiss (Emerald Lake #2)
3.77
I'm a sucker for a good love story and this one met the criteria. I love 'love' and enjoy reading about someone finding true love.
Mar 16, 2012
Mar 16, 2012
 
Bliss
3.38
Girl from commune is dumped with relative in Atlanta. Her adventure into this new world and the mystery she is suddenly involved in.
Aug 2008
Aug 07, 2009
 
That Book Woman
4.16
A heart-woman tale of the book women of our past who rode out in any weather to see that the children in the backwoods had books to read.
Oct 28, 2010
Oct 29, 2010
 
The Fallout (The Compound, #2)
3.69
A great sequel to his first book, Compound. This follows the family after they come out of the compound and try to resume their lives.
May 29, 2013
May 29, 2013
 
Store This! Simple Home Storage Systems & House Organization Solutions
2.82
Pretty basic stuff. Nothing of help to me, but it might be good for someone who has no idea where to start in organizing their home.
Jun 16, 2012
Jun 24, 2012
 
Bossypants
3.92
I found this to be too raunchy for my taste and the language way beyond acceptable to me. The humor was not my style at all. I would not recommend thi ...more
Jun 16, 2011
Jun 12, 2011
 
The Mysterious Edge of the Heroic World
3.36
The main character was to discover something that no one has ever discovered. This turns out to be Natzi art. Eccentric characters.
Oct 2008
Aug 07, 2009
 
Stuck on Earth
3.55
A delightful, fun read about an alien who inhabits a normal 14 year old's body and discovers there is nothing normal about a 14 year old.
Apr 17, 2011
Apr 18, 2011
 
Guardian
3.76
A story about what is right and what is right to do. In this book, they are radically different and Ansel sees that at the age of 14.
Jul 04, 2010
Jul 03, 2010
 
Slob
3.77
A good read about dealing with bullying, standing up for yourself, and to see that people are not always what you think they are.
Jun 05, 2010
Jun 05, 2010
 
Oh. My. Gods.  (Oh. My. Gods. #1)
3.83
The book title mirrors my impression. Island in Greece, handsome boy, romance, athletics, mystery, mythology. It has it all.
May 2009
Aug 07, 2009
 
Advancing Formative Assessment in Every Classroom: A Guide for Instructional Leaders
3.59
Best for an instructional leader and probably a brand new teacher to understand formative assessment and what it looks like.
Jul 31, 2010
Jul 31, 2010
 
Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #1)
3.78
A bit of time travel, a bit of war, a bit of love and a. It of growing up all join to make this book one peculiar book
Mar 11, 2012
Mar 11, 2012
 
She Went All the Way
3.68
Do not misjudge this book by the title. She went all the way with what her dream was. Get your mind out of the gutter.
Jul 2009
Aug 07, 2009
 
The Divergent Companion: The Unauthorized Guide to the Series
3.19
Not what I was expecting. Gresh has written not a companion but a scientific explanation of the Divergent world.
Apr 14, 2014
Apr 14, 2014
 
Sleigh Bells in Valentine Valley (Valentine Valley, #5)
4.00
Sigh---I just finished 'coming home' to Valentine Valley. Didn't realize I missed them all so much. I love sequels.
Jul 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
 
Welcome to Serenity (The Sweet Magnolias #4)
4.12
Ah! My heart is full of joy from reading this book; yet another couple finding their way to each other. I love romance books.
Oct 09, 2009
Oct 09, 2009
 
Four: A Divergent Story Collection (Divergent, #0.1 - 0.4)
4.27
I love getting the background story of my favorite characters. This helped explain a lot of things in the first book.
Nov 2014
Nov 01, 2014
 
Killer Pizza (Killer Pizza #1)
3.82
A fun book for those loving adventure, especially with monsters. Three high schoolers take a job at a pizza place only to find out it is a front for a ...more
Dec 16, 2009
Dec 11, 2009
 
The Black Book of Buried Secrets
4.10
I wish I had this book about half-way through. By then I would have been comfortable with all the characters and could have appreciated them even more ...more
Oct 31, 2010
Oct 29, 2010
 
The House on the Gulf
3.67
What mother would do what this one did? I couldn't believe how gullible she was. But what the main character did was ingenious.
May 2009
Aug 07, 2009
 
Level Up
3.71
Good message about going for your dreams, not your parent's. However, sometimes we have to work through theirs to find ours.
Jul 02, 2011
Jul 02, 2011
Rss