# cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
92
The Neon Rain (Dave Robicheaux, #1)
4.00
Your prosecuted, tried and convicted. The court sentences you to be exiled for five years on a deserted island. No TV. No YouTube. No Britney Spear's ...more
Aug 22, 2012
Dec 05, 2011
 
6
Replay
4.15
Book Description:

Jeff Winston, forty-three, didn't know he was a replayer until he died and woke up twenty-five years younger in his college dorm room
...more
Oct 1986
Jan 11, 2011
 
79
Pursuit
3.77
Everyone has their own flavors for novels, so I understand why some rate this novel with one star. But in fairness, when I look over the bookshelves o ...more
Mar 27, 2012
Mar 26, 2012
 
97
Dead Irish
3.74
I read one in this series out of order (I won't admit to which one). It was a solid read, enough where I picked up both Dead Irish and The Vig, where ...more
May 02, 2013
Jan 10, 2012
 
21
The Warded Man (Demon Cycle, #1)
4.26
I love it when authors use GoodReads, sharing their interests. Thanks to our authors, I latched on to Peter V. Brett and "The Warded Man."

If you are a
...more
Feb 22, 2013
Jun 06, 2011
 
96
Empire in Black and Gold (Shadows of the Apt, #1)
3.61
As other reviewers have mentioned, this series is premised on a completely original world building idea, in which the different races ("kinden") are b ...more
May 2013
Dec 03, 2011
 
76
The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive, #1)
4.61
Brandon Sanderson does it again -- epic fantasy equal to Jordan, Rothfuss, Brett & Weeks!
Mar 21, 2012
Jun 14, 2011
 
88
Old Man's War (Old Man's War, #1)
4.22
Reminds me of A Hymn Before Battle, Helm and Rally Cry. I'm asking myself, "Why did I wait so damn long to read Scalzi?"

I promise to make up for it Jo
...more
May 11, 2012
Jun 26, 2011
 
86
Shadow Man
4.13
Fans of John Sanford, Michael Connelly, Lawrence Block, Jefferson Parker & Don Winslow to name a few, have to add this author to their xmas readin ...more
Apr 25, 2012
Mar 30, 2012
 
75
Satori
3.73
As a long time fan of Shibumi, I hoped Don Winslow would do an adequate job on this prequel.

He surpassed all my expectations; enough where I added all
...more
Mar 20, 2012
Mar 20, 2012
 
74
Shibumi
4.21
Recommended by a friend back in 1982 -- this was one novel I pickup and read again every few years.

For those that love Robert Ludlum's, "Jason Bourne"
...more
Mar 19, 2012
Feb 15, 2012
 
87
The Passage (The Passage, #1)
4.01
You won't be reading this novel in one sitting, so prepare yourself for odd breaks (in my case I read both Pawn of Prophecy and The President's Vampir ...more
May 03, 2012
Mar 27, 2012
 
24
The Wayfarer Redemption (Wayfarer Redemption, #1)
3.91
I tend to stir clear of prophesy based stories. And yet there are times when I put on a pot of coffee, deciding to sit down for a spell and read an ep ...more
Mar 03, 1997
Oct 11, 2011
 
101
Lexicon
3.90
This is one of the books being voted on for 2013 GoodReads. I'm glad I voted this year or I would probably never discovered Max Barry's "Lexicon."

If y
...more
Nov 16, 2013
Nov 14, 2013
 
100
11/22/63
4.25
Don't let a few negative reviews fool you. This novel isn't bloated with pages of filler, just so the author can add to his fortune.

All in all, this i
...more
Jul 18, 2013
Dec 14, 2011
 
62
The Black Echo (Harry Bosch, #1)
4.05
Black Echo was even better the second time around. You don't need a lengthy synopsis from me. If you like any of the following authors (David Baldacci ...more
Jan 23, 2012
Dec 05, 2011
 
4
Magic Casement (A Man of His Word, #1)
4.03
Book #1 of A Man of His Word

Book Description:

MAN OF HIS WORD A princess and a stableboy? It sounds like the worst sort of hackneyed formula romance. T
...more
Dec 15, 1990
May 19, 2009
 
95
Legion (Legion, #1)
4.10
A long time fan of Sanderson's, I reserved this book from my local library. A novella of less than 100 pages, this paranormal fare should be read by a ...more
Oct 10, 2012
Oct 10, 2012
 
34
King's Blood Four (Land of the True Game, #1)
4.07
An Amazon review that sums up my thoughts:

I am not sure that this is Sheri Tepper's first novel, but it is certainly the one that put her on the creat
...more
not set
Dec 17, 2011
 
7
Helm
3.79
Book Description:

After global devastation, the last remnants of Earth sent a handful of colonists of a distant terraformed world to give humanity one
...more
Nov 03, 1998
Dec 13, 2011
 
63
Hard Magic (Grimnoir Chronicles, #1)
4.15
Two of my friends finished this first, raving about it. I knew I was in for a treat and was not disappointed.

I love well done alternate history, wheth
...more
Jan 19, 2012
Dec 13, 2011
 
77
Hit Man (Keller, #1)
3.89
Until now, I have never read any Lawrence Block. Is that a cardinal sin for an avid reader? It should be.

My penance will just have to be more Block...
Mar 25, 2012
Feb 22, 2012
 
15
Seventh Son (Tales of Alvin Maker, #1)
3.86
Amazon book review I agree with:

Seventh Son is set in the early 1800s--a tale of "a magical America that might have been." In this world, hexes and sp
...more
Feb 03, 1991
Dec 04, 2011
 
55
The Riddle-Master of Hed (Riddle-Master, #1)
4.00
This is by far one of my all time favorites to reread. And you have a choice of picking up the omnibus for all three-in-one Riddle-Master: The Complet ...more
not set
May 19, 2009
 
14
Ender's Game (The Ender Quintet, #1)
4.28
I am still waiting for this to be made into a movie. With Hollywood rehashing drivel for the masses, why can't they write a solid script for this? (no ...more
Feb 1985
Jun 18, 2011
 
69
The Tin Collectors (Shane Scully, #1)
3.89
I'm stoked. I can hardly wait to read all of Cannell's treasure trove of novels. Yummy-licious!

To track your authors with series and where you left of
...more
Feb 24, 2012
Jan 29, 2012
 
20
The Runelords (Runelords #1)
3.72
An Amazon Review:

The Runelords is that rare book that will remind you why you started reading fantasy in the first place. Much of the setting--and eve
...more
Jan 05, 1999
Dec 02, 2011
 
82
The Sins of the Fathers (Matthew Scudder, #1)
3.89
Damn! Another series by Block I'll have to finish.
Apr 15, 2012
Dec 12, 2011
 
68
King Con
3.89
I loved it just as much the second time around.
Feb 20, 2012
Jan 29, 2012
 
11
The Cutting Edge (A Handful of Men, #1)
3.93
Book #1 in a "Handful of Men"

This four book continues after "A Man of His Word."

The great adventure had ended happily. The good folk of Krasnegar disc
...more
Mar 1993
May 19, 2009
Rss More books shelved as 'favorites' »
« previous 1 3 4