# cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
92
The Neon Rain (Dave Robicheaux, #1)
3.98
it was amazing
Your prosecuted, tried and convicted. The court sentences you to be exiled for five years on a deserted island. No TV. No YouTube. No Britney Spear's ...more
Aug 22, 2012
Dec 05, 2011
 
6
Replay
4.16
it was amazing
Book Description:

Jeff Winston, forty-three, didn't know he was a replayer until he died and woke up twenty-five years younger in his college dorm room
...more
Oct 1986
Jan 11, 2011
 
79
Pursuit
3.85
it was amazing
Everyone has their own flavors for novels, so I understand why some rate this novel with one star. But in fairness, when I look over the bookshelves o ...more
Mar 27, 2012
Mar 26, 2012
 
21
The Warded Man (Demon Cycle, #1)
4.27
it was amazing
I love it when authors use GoodReads, sharing their interests. Thanks to our authors, I latched on to Peter V. Brett and "The Warded Man."

If you are a
...more
Feb 22, 2013
Jun 06, 2011
 
97
Dead Irish (Dismas Hardy, #1)
3.77
it was amazing
I read one in this series out of order (I won't admit to which one). It was a solid read, enough where I picked up both Dead Irish and The Vig, where ...more
May 02, 2013
Jan 10, 2012
 
96
Empire in Black and Gold (Shadows of the Apt, #1)
3.62
it was amazing
As other reviewers have mentioned, this series is premised on a completely original world building idea, in which the different races ("kinden") are b ...more
May 2013
Dec 03, 2011
 
91
The Monkey's Raincoat (Elvis Cole, #1)
3.98
it was amazing
I never believed in UFOs, ET sightings or abductions. At least not until now. It is obvious that alien technology has been used on two people. First o ...more
Aug 16, 2012
Jan 12, 2012
 
75
Satori
3.78
it was amazing
As a long time fan of Shibumi, I hoped Don Winslow would do an adequate job on this prequel.

He surpassed all my expectations; enough where I added all
...more
Mar 20, 2012
Mar 20, 2012
 
76
The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive, #1)
4.64
it was amazing
Brandon Sanderson does it again -- epic fantasy equal to Jordan, Rothfuss, Brett & Weeks!
Mar 21, 2012
Jun 14, 2011
 
88
Old Man's War (Old Man's War, #1)
4.23
it was amazing
Reminds me of A Hymn Before Battle, Helm and Rally Cry. I'm asking myself, "Why did I wait so damn long to read Scalzi?"

I promise to make up for it Jo
...more
May 11, 2012
Jun 26, 2011
 
86
Shadow Man
4.14
it was amazing
Fans of John Sanford, Michael Connelly, Lawrence Block, Jefferson Parker & Don Winslow to name a few, have to add this author to their xmas readin ...more
Apr 25, 2012
Mar 30, 2012
 
64
City of Pearl (Wess'Har, Book 1)
3.87
it was amazing
Excellent prose. Well written. The dialogue and character interaction reminds me of a Michael Connelly "Harry Bosch" novel (only this one is science f ...more
Jan 29, 2012
Dec 19, 2011
 
104
Going Grey
3.91
it was amazing
Read again.

I became a fan of this author after reading City of Pearl. And cannot wait for the next book in the series.
Jun 13, 2016
Nov 15, 2015
 
74
Shibumi
4.22
it was amazing
Recommended by a friend back in 1982 -- this was one novel I pickup and read again every few years.

For those that love Robert Ludlum's, "Jason Bourne"
...more
Mar 19, 2012
Feb 15, 2012
 
100
11/22/63
4.29
it was amazing
Don't let a few negative reviews fool you. This novel isn't bloated with pages of filler, just so the author can add to his fortune.

All in all, this i
...more
Jul 18, 2013
Dec 14, 2011
 
90
The Darkness That Comes Before (The Prince of Nothing, #1)
3.77
it was amazing
A mind changing thought provoking review coming soon...

Aug 02, 2012
Jun 28, 2012
 
4
Magic Casement (A Man of His Word, #1)
4.02
it was amazing
Book #1 of A Man of His Word

Book Description:

MAN OF HIS WORD A princess and a stableboy? It sounds like the worst sort of hackneyed formula romance. T
...more
Dec 15, 1990
May 19, 2009
 
87
The Passage (The Passage, #1)
4.04
it was amazing
You won't be reading this novel in one sitting, so prepare yourself for odd breaks (in my case I read both Pawn of Prophecy and The President's Vampir ...more
May 03, 2012
Mar 27, 2012
 
20
The Runelords (Runelords #1)
3.74
it was amazing
An Amazon Review:

The Runelords is that rare book that will remind you why you started reading fantasy in the first place. Much of the setting--and eve
...more
Jan 05, 1999
Dec 02, 2011
 
19
The Black Prism (Lightbringer, #1)
4.24
it was amazing
An Amazon review I agree with:

Fantastic world building, good magic system, and amazingly good plot. Best high fantasy novel I've read this year, hands
...more
Sep 26, 2010
Jun 06, 2011
 
31
A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)
4.44
it was amazing
Almost 9500 reviews for Game of Thrones on Good Reads as I write this.

When I read any novel, like most people, I want the book to resonate with me. I
...more
Sep 04, 1996
Dec 16, 2011
 
24
The Wayfarer Redemption (Wayfarer Redemption, #1)
3.93
it was amazing
I tend to stir clear of prophesy based stories. And yet there are times when I put on a pot of coffee, deciding to sit down for a spell and read an ep ...more
Mar 03, 1997
Oct 11, 2011
 
101
Lexicon
3.90
it was amazing
This is one of the books being voted on for 2013 GoodReads. I'm glad I voted this year or I would probably never discovered Max Barry's "Lexicon."

If y
...more
Nov 16, 2013
Nov 14, 2013
 
62
The Black Echo (Harry Bosch, #1; Harry Bosch Universe, #1)
4.08
it was amazing
Black Echo was even better the second time around. You don't need a lengthy synopsis from me. If you like any of the following authors (David Baldacci ...more
Jan 23, 2012
Dec 05, 2011
 
99
The Blinding Knife (Lightbringer, #2)
4.45
it was amazing
With book four out, it was time to devour this one a second time through.
Jan 02, 2017
Dec 18, 2011
 
11
The Cutting Edge (A Handful of Men, #1)
3.96
it was amazing
Book #1 in a "Handful of Men"

This four book continues after "A Man of His Word."

The great adventure had ended happily. The good folk of Krasnegar disc
...more
Mar 1993
May 19, 2009
 
95
Legion (Legion, #1)
4.13
it was amazing
A long time fan of Sanderson's, I reserved this book from my local library. A novella of less than 100 pages, this paranormal fare should be read by a ...more
Oct 10, 2012
Oct 10, 2012
 
34
King's Blood Four (Land of the True Game, #1)
4.03
it was amazing
An Amazon review that sums up my thoughts:

I am not sure that this is Sheri Tepper's first novel, but it is certainly the one that put her on the creat
...more
not set
Dec 17, 2011
 
7
Helm
3.84
it was amazing
Book Description:

After global devastation, the last remnants of Earth sent a handful of colonists of a distant terraformed world to give humanity one
...more
Nov 03, 1998
Dec 13, 2011
 
63
Hard Magic (Grimnoir Chronicles, #1)
4.13
it was amazing
Two of my friends finished this first, raving about it. I knew I was in for a treat and was not disappointed.

I love well done alternate history, wheth
...more
Jan 19, 2012
Dec 13, 2011
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'favorites' »
« previous 1 3 4