bookshelves

all (4553)

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Up arrow date read date added
 
The Silmarillion
3.82
Interesting for detail and background, but quite boring to read. There's so much detail.
Aug 10, 2000
Jun 04, 2008
 
Dragonsong (Harper Hall, #1)
4.21
I really loved Menolly, so I loved this book too. I loved the little fire-lizards, too.
Sep 24, 2001
Jun 15, 2008
 
Lirael (Abhorsen, #2)
4.29
Didn't like this as much as the first one -- Lirael and Sam were both a bit too mopey.
Nov 15, 2006
Jun 04, 2008
 
Mirror Wakes
3.92
I didn't like it as much as the first book, but it's a good addition and well-written.
Jan 15, 2006
Jun 04, 2008
 
The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall (Pern, #12)
3.99
It was interesting to read stories from earlier Pern, but I didn't like many of the characters.
Oct 20, 2001
Jun 15, 2008
 
Elric of Melniboné (Tale of the Eternal Champion, #8)
4.06
Good fantasy, but not as mindblowingly awesome as my mother insisted it was. Very, very easy to read.
Feb 26, 2007
Jun 04, 2008
 
Siege: To Green Angel Tower, Part 1 (Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn, #3: Part 1)
4.16
I loved this book. Unfortunately, Simon wasn't all that enchanting to me, and Miriamele really annoyed me.
Feb 22, 2008
Jun 04, 2008
 
Silverthorn (The Riftwar Saga, #3)
4.02
I think I was in love with Arutha when I read this book. My heart was in my mouth the whole time.
Mar 2001
Jun 04, 2008
 
Prince of the Blood (Krondor's Sons, #1)
3.88
I liked this, but wished there was more of Arutha and less of his sons, who I didn't like so much.
Jul 03, 2004
Jun 15, 2008
 
The Dolphins of Pern (Pern, #13)
3.91
I didn't like this as much as the others -- I wanted dragons, and couldn't care less about dolphins.
Oct 24, 2001
Jun 15, 2008
 
The Endless Knot: Song of Albion Book 3
4.16
A good ending to it -- and one that's not so perfect it's saccharine, but that fits well and leaves one satisfied.
Mar 10, 2002
Jun 04, 2008
 
Silver Hand (Song of Albion)
4.22
Good again. The world painted is very vivid and beautiful. The characters are strong and interesting, too.
Mar 08, 2002
Jun 04, 2008
 
Brilliance of the Moon (Tales of the Otori, #3)
4.01
A nice end to the trilogy. Again, I found it less gripping than the first book, but I still raced through it.
Feb 04, 2008
Jun 04, 2008
 
The BFG
4.19
Lovely. I used to be terrified of the giants. But they wouldn't get me if I hid my head under the covers, right?
May 19, 1996
Jun 04, 2008
 
The Great Book of Amber (The Chronicles of Amber, #1-10)
4.30
Good fantasy, with an interesting tone. The first five books are better, I think. Surprisingly quick read.
Dec 25, 2007
Jun 04, 2008
 
The Eye Of Eternity (Shadowleague)
3.87
Read my review for The Heart of Myrial (Shadowleague) to see what I thought of the series as a whole.
Apr 14, 2008
Jun 04, 2008
 
Origins (Supernatural Graphic Novel, #1)
3.66
It was kind of awesome to read about John as he was early on. And young!Dean. Didn't like the art that much, though.
Nov 02, 2008
Nov 01, 2008
 
The Usurper's Crown (Isavalta, #2)
3.67
Interesting, but I couldn't have as much sympathy for some of the characters, given the events of A Sorcerer's Treason.
Sep 18, 2007
Jun 04, 2008
 
Timekeepers
4.09
I don't remember much about this book, but I remember enjoying it a lot. Catherine Webb's tone is fun and interesting.
Jul 13, 2006
Jun 04, 2008
 
Waywalkers
3.95
I don't remember much about it, but I remember enjoying the tone. Catherine Webb has a very nice writing style and tone.
Jul 12, 2006
Jun 04, 2008
 
Good Omens
4.26
Brilliant. Funny and irreverent without me getting offended on the behalf of my former religion. One I've reread over and over...
Feb 19, 2006
Jun 04, 2008
 
Dragonquest (Pern, #2)
4.07
I loved this book because I was very fond of F'nor and Brekke. The sad parts, and the "don't leave me alone!" part, broke my heart.
Sep 20, 2001
Jun 15, 2008
 
Sword of the Deceiver (Isavalta, #4)
3.71
A lovely prequel. I thought the world could have been a little more detailed and the characters a bit more developed, though.
Jan 04, 2008
Jun 04, 2008
 
Dragondrums (Harper Hall, #3)
4.01
I really liked Piemur, so I enjoyed this book. I fear to revisit these books, though. I suspect they're not as good as memory makes them.
Sep 30, 2001
Jun 15, 2008
 
Jimmy the Hand (Legends of the Riftwar, #3)
3.90
A book about Jimmy the Hand! I loved it. Jimmy was always one of my favourite characters, although Arutha beat him hands down.
Jul 19, 2003
Jun 15, 2008
 
Wizard of the Pigeons
3.74
Not up to the standard of her later books, but interesting and absorbing all the same. I remember loving the feel of the city.
Jul 09, 2005
Jun 04, 2008
 
Fragile Things
4.01
Neil Gaiman is wonderful at short stories. I do prefer Smoke & Mirrors to this one, though -- these didn't stick in my head like those first ones ...more
Dec 27, 2007
Jun 04, 2008
 
Honoured Enemy (Legends of the Riftwar, #1)
3.87
It;s interesting to read about the war from a slightly different perspective. I didn't like it as much as the original trilogy, though.
Jan 13, 2002
Jun 15, 2008
 
The Novice (Black Magician, #2)
4.06
Full review on the final book. This one kept me interested in the trilogy. Again: interesting, good for a quick read, but not groundbreaking.
Apr 07, 2008
Jun 04, 2008
 
The King's Buccaneer (Krondor's Sons, #2)
3.96
I think I liked Nicholas the best of Arutha's sons. I loved this book more than all the books of this cycle other than the first three.
Jul 15, 2003
Jun 15, 2008
Rss More books shelved as 'fantasy' »