cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Jesus, Interrupted: Revealing the Hidden Contradictions in the Bible (and Why We Don't Know About Them)
3.96

I'm a big fan of Bart Ehrman because, as an erstwhile Christian and venerable New Testament scholar, he is adequately equipped to discuss these subjec
...more
May 2011
Jun 15, 2011
 
The Historical Evidence for Jesus
3.20


After having read and reviewed E.P. Sanders’ The Historical Figure of Jesus, a work which focuses not so much on the question of the historicity of Je
...more
Apr 2011
May 19, 2011
 
What Are the Gospels?: A Comparison with Graeco-Roman Biography
4.20

Richard A. Burridge - What are the Gospels?
A Comparison with Graeco-Roman Biography

When I began reading ‘What are the Gospels’ I did wonder what, if a
...more
Jun 2011
Jun 28, 2011
 
Information is Beautiful
4.30
Information is Beautiful by David McCandless.

I think this will go down as one of the great, if not the greatest, coffee-table book of my generation. I
...more
Jul 2011
Jul 17, 2011
 
True Grit
4.11


This review has spoilers!!!

True Grit is a great yarn that makes for excellent light bedtime reading but which also develops a serious tone in places,
...more
Jul 11, 2011
Jul 11, 2011
 
Forged: Writing in the Name of God
3.94

I am a big fan of Bart Ehrman because, as an erstwhile Christian and venerable New Testament scholar, he is adequately equipped to discuss these subje
...more
May 2011
Jun 15, 2011
 
The Blind Watchmaker: Why the Evidence of Evolution Reveals a Universe Without Design
4.07

Essential reading for anyone wanting to better understand how we got here. Dawkins does a wonderful job of explaining adaptive complexity and it becom
...more
not set
Jul 20, 2011
 
The Historical Figure of Jesus
3.87

As a Jesus agnostic eager to see what I could learn about the historicity question I decided to read a few books from varying viewpoints. After having
...more
Apr 2011
May 03, 2011
 
The Mother Tongue: English and How It Got That Way
3.98

A great book on the history and structure of the English language.

It's main point seems to be that linguistic snobbery should be avoided at all costs
...more
Jun 2010
Jun 24, 2010
 
Misquoting Jesus: The Story Behind Who Changed the Bible and Why
3.88

I read this book in a single Sunday; I couldn't put it down! It is excellent scholarship eloquently purveyed. If you had to choose only one book to re
...more
Apr 11, 2011
Apr 10, 2011
 
Empire Of The Mind
2.38


This book kind of reads like an interesting tourist guide to various places in the UK including Oxford, London and the south coast. There a bits and p
...more
not set
Mar 21, 2009
 
The Complete World of Human Evolution
4.00

A wonderful book which succinctly illustrates human evolution over the last 20 million years which I would recommend to anyone interested in human evo
...more
Aug 07, 2011
May 15, 2011
 
The Bible Unearthed: Archaeology's New Vision of Ancient Israel and the Origin of Its Sacred Texts
4.05

A brilliant book that demonstrates the essentially mythical nature of much of biblical history. Finkelstein and Silberman convincingly make use of arc
...more
Mar 08, 2011
Mar 09, 2011
 
The Grapes of Wrath
3.88

I had been waiting a long time to read this book.
I knew I liked Steinbeck and I knew this was his most acclaimed work so my expectations were high.

My
...more
Apr 2009
Apr 24, 2009
 
Fabulous Science: Fact and Fiction in the History of Scientific Discovery
4.00

Fantastic book - feels like it was written specifically for me.

Essential reading for any self-professed scientist or sceptic. Waller reaffirms the val
...more
not set
Apr 14, 2012
 
Homage to Catalonia
4.14

A great examination of warfare. I read this book I don't know when but I remember a few anecdotes. Orwell describes how, whilst fighting on the front
...more
not set
Jun 15, 2011
 
Our Man in Havana
3.93
I bought this book at random.

I'm glad I did. I had never read Graham Greene before so I didn't know what to expect.

Anyone with a little knowledge of
...more
May 2009
Jun 08, 2009
 
East of Eden
4.31
This book is an epic but I finished it quicker than I presumed because I couldn't put it down. Steinbeck writes beautifully. It's the kind of book tha ...more
not set
Mar 21, 2009
 
Catch-22 (Catch-22, #1)
3.96

Quotations that stuck out:

“That men would die was a matter of necessity; which men would die, though, was a matter of circumstance; and Yossarian was
...more
Jul 04, 2011
Mar 21, 2009
 
Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (Extraordinary Voyages, #6)
3.80
How refreshing to read a 19th century adventure yarn that still resonates with the modern reader and doesn't fall pray to casual racism or other outda ...more
Jan 2008
Mar 21, 2009
 
Adam Link Robot
3.54

Adam Link has some interesting sci-fi concepts considering the original stories were published as early as 1939 - 1942. Namely the whole human-robot t
...more
Jan 07, 2011
Sep 20, 2010
 
Pudd'nhead Wilson
3.73
Mark Twain's novels are often in a similar mood to the movies of the Coen brothers in that they both use a criminal plot to produce humour and explore ...more
Jan 2008
Mar 21, 2009
 
Genome: the Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters
4.01

Fantastic popular science book that cannot be accused of dumbing down; you'll have to pay attention if you want to absorb all that Matt Ridley has to
...more
Jan 18, 2011
Dec 06, 2009
 
Robinson Crusoe
3.63
A hugely influential work that seems to be a metaphor for European capitalism and expansion, accompanied by the expected hubris.

After having read this
...more
not set
Jun 15, 2011
 
The Beatles
4.08

Thanks to its being the only ever authorized biography of the Beatles, along with the Beatles Anthology book, this is probably one of the most importa
...more
Jun 2010
Dec 23, 2009
 
The Extraordinary Voyage of Pytheas the Greek
3.92
Fascinating story but Cunliffe clearly struggles to tell us much due to the obscurity of Pytheas; it does, however, provide ample opportunity to digre ...more
Feb 10, 2011
Jan 21, 2011
 
Doctor Zhivago
4.02


I read the book after I watched the film and wasn't disappointed.
It's beautifully descriptive, very romantic and profound.

Why are Russians so good at
...more
not set
Mar 21, 2009
 
Popular Music from Vittula
3.61
I read this book a long time ago and remember it being an account of childhood and adolescence in Scandinavia. It was both comical and sad and I would ...more
not set
Mar 21, 2009
 
The Story of Archaeology: In 50 Great Discoveries
4.09
Probably the greatest coffee table book on archaeology ever, I couldn't think of a nicer way to introduce someone to a subject. Pollard gives us 50 gr ...more
Jul 2011
Dec 06, 2009
 
The Fall of Man and the Foundations of Science
3.50

Great read which elucidates the changing philosophical attitudes which allowed Francis Bacon's scientific philosophy to emerge.
Dec 2010
Feb 21, 2011
Rss
« previous 1 3