cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
Conjure Wife
3.84
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com


Norman Saylor is that most-rational of men: the staid, college professor. He leads a relatively quiet life
...more
Apr 10, 2012
Apr 05, 2012
 
Playing For Keeps
3.90
The “misfit superhero” storyline is nothing new. One of my all-time favorite movies is 1999′s Mystery Men about a team of wannabes who have to step up ...more
Aug 14, 2010
Aug 14, 2010
 
Of Dice and Men: The Story of Dungeons & Dragons and the People Who Play It
3.62
From my website: http://masterofthegameproject.com

Of Dice and Men is essentially three-books-in-one. It is a history of the role playing game hobby, w
...more
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
 
Wood
3.73
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

In the woods around the city, something lurks. Something dangerous. Something…hungry.

On the streets in the
...more
Oct 20, 2012
Oct 22, 2012
 
Martyrs & Monsters
3.97
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

Robert Dunbar is one of a handful of authors spearheading the movement to infuse the modern horror genre wi
...more
Jun 30, 2012
May 15, 2012
 
Gardens of Night
3.90
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

Still recovering traumatic incident of seemingly random violence, Marc Banyon, along with his wife and best
...more
Oct 07, 2012
Oct 09, 2012
 
The Best of Joe R. Lansdale
4.25
Joe R. Lansdale is becoming one of my all-time favorite writers. I've been listening to his "Hap and Leonard" series of pulpy mysteries on audio and h ...more
Jun 20, 2010
Jun 13, 2010
 
A Princess of Mars: John Carter Mars Series (with a glossary of names and terms)
3.78
This classic “pulp” adventure from the creator of Tarzan of the Apes is a lot of fun. John Carter, a Civil War veteran and treasure hunter, travels to ...more
Oct 2011
Nov 28, 2011
 
The Thicket
4.09
From my blog http://serialdistractions.com

I didn't suspect the day Grandfather came out and got me and my sister, Lula, and hauled us off toward the f
...more
Mar 27, 2014
Mar 28, 2014
 
Terrier (Beka Cooper, #1)
4.17
I recently re-read this one ala audiobook. The reader was excellent, which is key for a good audiobook.

I always enjoy getting sucked into the world th
...more
Jul 16, 2009
Jul 10, 2009
 
The Blue Blazes (Mookie Pearl, #1)
3.92
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

Mookie Pearl is a thug. When the Organization is in need of some muscle, Mookie has it in spades. When the
...more
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
 
Premonitions (Arcane Underworld, #1)
3.32
From my blog http://serialdistractions.com

Karyn Ames runs a tight crew of thieves whose specialty is purloining items of the occult. There’s Anna, her
...more
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 19, 2014
 
Tales Of A High Planes Drifter (Merkabah  Rider #1)
4.14
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com/2011/02...

I love me some weird west. From the supernatural tales of Joe R. Lansdale and Robert E. Howard,
...more
Feb 17, 2011
Feb 21, 2011
 
Zombie, Illinois
3.52
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

When three disparate (and desperate) Chicagoans are thrown together during the first hours of the zombie ap
...more
Oct 18, 2012
Oct 20, 2012
 
Crooked Hills
4.08
From my blog: http://http://serialdistractions.com/...

Some of my best memories of childhood are of exploring the woods and wild places around my house
...more
May 26, 2011
May 31, 2011
 
Horns
3.91
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

In Horns, Joe Hill has crafted a tragically hilarious parable of good and evil, love and obsession, and inn
...more
Dec 12, 2013
Dec 13, 2013
 
x0
3.83
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com/2012/05...

Lola Zeitman is an accomplished oil & gas industry geologist, as well as a devoted wife and
...more
May 10, 2012
May 18, 2012
 
Hiram Grange and the Chosen One (The Scandalous Misadventures of Hiram Grange, #4)
4.41
Forces, dark and ancient, lurk in the dark places of reality and serve the Abyss. Other powers, capricious and amoral, use the power of the Veil to se ...more
Nov 07, 2010
Nov 07, 2010
 
The Darlings
3.34
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

In The Darlings, former financial analyst Cristina Alger explores the strength of family loyalty within the
...more
Dec 13, 2012
Dec 19, 2012
 
Tiassa (Vlad Taltos, #13)
4.03
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

It was my loverly wife that first introduced me to Steven Brust…one of the many reasons I’m still madly in
...more
Apr 27, 2011
May 10, 2011
 
Soulless (Parasol Protectorate, #1)
3.90
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com/2011/07...

In a Victorian London in which airships float above the skyline, werewolves and vampires dine wi
...more
Jul 30, 2011
Jul 31, 2011
 
Sudden Death Overtime
3.79
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com


It doesn’t take long after an ominous black tour bus full of bloodsucking denizens of the damned arrives in
...more
Feb 2012
Mar 17, 2012
 
Edge of Dark Water
3.91
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

Anybody who’s read my blog for a decent length of time should know that I love me some Joe R. Lansdale. The
...more
May 2012
May 03, 2012
 
Dead of Night
3.97
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

The apocalypse has arrived in sleepy Stebbins County, PA. Death comes riding the pale horse of serial kille
...more
Sep 10, 2011
Sep 13, 2011
 
Merkabah Rider: Have Glyphs Will Travel (Merkabah Rider, #3)
4.62
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

Last year I reviewed the previous two entries in this weird-west series, Tales of a High Planes Drifter and
...more
Jan 13, 2012
Jan 19, 2012
 
Westlake Soul
4.27
Excerpt from my review on Shroud Magazine Book Reviews online (http://tinyurl.com/7e547cl)

...Every word, every delicate phrase, glows and vibrates wit
...more
Apr 22, 2012
Apr 29, 2012
 
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
3.69
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

I remember when this one first came out: I gave the premise a bit of a chuckle and figured that it was a ni
...more
May 08, 2011
May 10, 2011
 
Unknown Female
3.75
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

FBI sketch artist Marx Thoreau carries two secrets in his black little heart. First, he is the son of notor
...more
Aug 30, 2011
Sep 01, 2011
 
Something from the Nightside (Nightside, #1)
3.76
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com

John Taylor has a special talent for finding things. Joanna Barrett needs him to find her wayward daughter.
...more
not set
Mar 27, 2013
 
Merkabah Rider:  The Mensch With No Name (Merkabah Rider #2)
4.40
From my blog: http://serialdistractions.com/2011/02...

I love me some weird west. From the supernatural tales of Joe R. Lansdale and Robert E. Howard,
...more
Feb 17, 2011
Feb 21, 2011
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10