cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
Psychiatric Tales: Eleven Graphic Stories About Mental Illness
3.55
Published on my book blog.

I got this book as a birthday gift from two dear friends of mine. We share many interests, and the workings of the human min
...more
Apr 20, 2011
Apr 11, 2011
 
The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 1
4.65
I will start by saying that this is an absolutely gorgeous book. It's a compilation that was obviously done with great care and attention to detail, a ...more
Jul 21, 2009
Apr 04, 2009
 
Lady Mechanika #1 (The Mystery of the Mechanical Corpse)
4.11
On my quest for steampunk (or steampunk inspired) comics, I came across Lady Mechanika, courtesy of one of our local comic books shop here in Porto. I ...more
Mar 12, 2012
Mar 11, 2012
 
Scott Pilgrim's Finest Hour (Scott Pilgrim, #6)
4.41
Posted on my book blog.

The sixth and final installment of the Scott Pilgrim story feels quite a bit different from the rest of the volumes, in terms o
...more
Jan 16, 2011
Jan 16, 2011
 
Scott Pilgrim Gets It Together (Scott Pilgrim, #4)
4.32
Published on my book blog.

After the amazing third volume, I had high expectations for this one. In general, this one was ok, not as great as the previ
...more
Jan 13, 2011
Jan 11, 2011
 
The Sandman: The Dream Hunters (The Sandman, #11)
4.36
Posted on my book blog.

Background: I am a big fan of Neil Gaiman and his Sandman series. I came across the more recent, graphic novel retelling of thi
...more
Aug 19, 2010
Jun 10, 2010
 
American Vampire, Vol. 1
3.99
Posted on my book blog.

"American Vampire" follows the appearance of a new breed of vampire, an "evolution" that happens when the vampires from Europe
...more
Oct 10, 2011
Oct 10, 2011
 
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? (Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, #1)
4.04
Posted on my book blog.

A graphic adaptation of Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick, the novel that served as an inspiration for the
...more
Nov 14, 2011
Sep 24, 2011
 
Joker
4.04
Posted on my book blog.

Background: In keeping with my "jumping from one thing to another" theme I've been having in books lately, I decided to read a
...more
Apr 10, 2010
Mar 24, 2010
 
Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere
4.19
Posted on my book blog.

Richard Mayhew is just your average person with an average job, who allows himself to be gently (and not so gently) pushed arou
...more
Oct 07, 2011
Oct 06, 2011
 
Fables, Vol. 10: The Good Prince (Fables, #10)
4.38
**spoiler alert** It's no secret that I love the Fables series, and this volume follows a very cool, but overlooked character: Flycatcher. That being ...more
Nov 27, 2012
Nov 26, 2012
 
Fables, Vol. 5: The Mean Seasons (Fables, #5)
4.20
Posted on my book blog.

After a somewhat shaky beginning, the "Fables" series has become a keeper for me. Even though I didn't love this volume as much
...more
Jan 31, 2011
Jan 30, 2011
 
Scott Pilgrim Vs. the Universe (Scott Pilgrim, #5)
4.32
Posted on my book blog.

Knowing this was the second to last volume of the Scott Pilgrim series, I was expecting this to be the book in which everything
...more
Jan 15, 2011
Jan 14, 2011
 
Fables, Vol. 2: Animal Farm (Fables, #2)
4.11
Posted on my book blog.

Background: After reading (and being totally unimpressed by) the first volume of this series, I decided to give "Fables" anothe
...more
Jul 26, 2010
Jul 25, 2010
 
The Umbrella Academy, Vol. 2: Dallas
4.20
Posted on my book blog.

Background: I loved the first volume of this series, so I was looking forward to reading this one.

Review: Following the near ap
...more
Sep 02, 2010
Sep 01, 2010
 
The Discworld Graphic Novels: The Colour of Magic & The Light Fantastic
3.94
I was disappointed by this book. I'm a fan of Terry Pratchett and his Discworld series, and The Color of Magic is one of my favourites, so I guess I a ...more
Aug 21, 2009
Aug 20, 2009
 
Making Comics: Storytelling Secrets of Comics, Manga and Graphic Novels
4.27
Being rather new to the comics world (I only started reading them more steadily last year), I was eager to know more about the medium, and various onl ...more
Sep 06, 2009
Sep 06, 2009
 
Scott Pilgrim's Precious Little Life (Scott Pilgrim, #1)
4.18
Posted on my book blog.

Even though I'm usually one of those people who won't watch a movie until she's read the book(s) it's based on, I did the oppos
...more
Jan 07, 2011
Jan 07, 2011
 
Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World (Scott Pilgrim, #2)
4.23
Published on my book blog.

The second installment of the Scott Pilgrim's series continues to explore his burgeoning relationship with Ramona Flowers (a
...more
Jan 07, 2011
Jan 07, 2011
 
Umbrella Academy, Vol.1: The Apocalypse Suite
3.97
Posted on my book blog.

Background: Back in June, I had the pleasure of meeting Gabriel Bá and his twin brother Fábio Moon in the opening of their exhi
...more
Aug 09, 2010
Aug 07, 2010
 
Fables, Vol. 4: March of the Wooden Soldiers (Fables, #4)
4.29
Posted on my book blog.

Background: The Fables series has become a definite "keeper" for me, one of those comic book series that I'm sure I'm going to
...more
Aug 11, 2010
Aug 09, 2010
 
Pictures That Tick
4.11
Background: I had never heard of this book until I got it as a gift for my birthday last month, but I have been a huge fan of Dave McKean's work since ...more
Mar 30, 2010
Mar 23, 2010
 
Madame Xanadu, Vol. 1: Disenchanted
3.87
Posted on my book blog.

Lovely artwork from Amy Reeder Hadley. The story was interesting, but Madame Xanadu, as a character, fell a little short of my
...more
Aug 16, 2011
Aug 16, 2011
 
Watchmen
4.32
I was looking forward to reading this book. I had heard and read about it, and even watched the movie adaptation (which, in my opinion, is not as good ...more
Jul 20, 2009
Jul 10, 2009
 
Fables, Vol. 3: Storybook Love (Fables, #3)
4.17
Posted on my book blog.

Background: I'm starting to really like this series (it's come a long way from the first issue). I'm buying the issues in order
...more
Aug 08, 2010
Jul 25, 2010
 
Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness (Scott Pilgrim, #3)
4.28
Posted on my book blog.

Leaps and bounds better than the first two volumes. You get to know the characters deeply in this one, with lots of dynamic bac
...more
Jan 09, 2011
Jan 09, 2011
 
The Unwritten, Vol. 1: Tommy Taylor and the Bogus Identity
3.80
Posted on my book blog.

Background: I will admit this right from the beginning: I got this book because of its cover. It's deceptively simple and quite
...more
Jun 06, 2010
May 14, 2010
 
Daytripper
4.27
Posted on my book blog.

Sometimes, in life, a book comes along that speaks to you so clearly about the things you believe that it seems to have been wr
...more
Apr 23, 2011
Mar 27, 2011
 
As Incríveis Aventuras de Dog Mendonça e PizzaBoy
3.86
Posted on my book blog.

Background: A disclaimer: This book is, to my knowledge, only available in Portuguese (at least so far).

I came across this boo
...more
May 11, 2010
Apr 10, 2010
 
Cowboys and Aliens
2.67
Posted on my book blog.

I hate to say this about any book, but this wasn't good. Actually, it was much worse than I had expected. I saw the movie first
...more
Oct 04, 2011
Oct 04, 2011
Rss More books shelved as 'graphic-novels' »
« previous 1 3 4 5