bookshelves

all (2516)

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
Undead
3.92
The best way to describe this book is The Breakfast Club meets zombie slasher flick - and if that doesn't sound like your cup of tea, you should read ...more
Jun 19, 2012
Jun 19, 2012
 
American Shaolin
3.97
I hated this book. Rather than being culturally sensitive, this asshole woke up 10 years after his experience and decided he wanted to make some money ...more
not set
Mar 10, 2008
 
The Penderwicks at Point Mouette (The Penderwicks, #3)
4.25
This third book in the Penderwicks series picks up right where book two, The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, leaves off. Mr. Penderwick, his new wife, a ...more
not set
Oct 16, 2011
 
Robin Hood: The Story Behind the Legend
3.64
The best part about this book was the reader, Robin Sachs, but I might be a bit biased because I like low gravelly voices talking to me in foreign acc ...more
Oct 22, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
 
The Geography of You and Me
3.72
As with a lot of Jennifer E. Smith’s books, this book is about the publisher description and so much more as we get to know these particular character ...more
Oct 19, 2014
Oct 19, 2014
 
Kushiel's Mercy (Imriel's Trilogy, #3)
4.30
Ah! The final book in the whole Kushiel series. I can hardly believe it and yet it was SO worth reading (and honestly, this normally isn't my type of ...more
Mar 2008
Mar 10, 2008
 
The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, #2)
3.97
They thought the battle was over when they left the maze, but it soon becomes clear they've only moved on to stage 2 of these twisted games, designed ...more
Oct 2011
Oct 21, 2011
 
The Friday Society
3.49
Meet Hyde, Silver Heart, and Lady Sparkle. By day, they are assistants to three powerful men in Edwardian London. By night, they are the masked heroin ...more
Aug 2012
Sep 03, 2012
 
The Templeton Twins Have an Idea (Templeton Twins, #1)
3.63
Quirky illustrations, clever twins, engaging plot, and don’t forget the slightly too-full-of-himself narrator combine to make a catchy first novel in ...more
Aug 2012
Sep 03, 2012
 
The Testing (The Testing, #1)
3.99
For fans of the The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins comes an equally enthralling debut novel by Joelle Charbonneau. Certain similarities between The T ...more
Aug 2012
Sep 03, 2012
 
The Replacement
3.57
Every seven years in the town of Gentry, a child is taken and replaced with a look-alike that is not quite...human. The replacement child usually dies ...more
Oct 13, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
 
Frances and Bernard
3.70
Beautiful. Heartbreaking. I fell in love with the language of it and the romance of it and the way my heart still hurts now that I've finished it.

It's
...more
Feb 24, 2013
Feb 24, 2013
 
After the Golden Age (Golden Age, #1)
3.72
This was definitely one of those "judged a book by its cover" reads and I'm three-quarters glad that I did. Why only 3/4ths? Because the book was grea ...more
Oct 25, 2011
Oct 26, 2011
 
Poison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles, #1)
4.16
**spoiler alert** Having enjoyed Kresley Cole's adult novels, I was interested to see what her YA would be like. It's definitely smoldering, in more w ...more
Aug 2012
Sep 03, 2012
 
Finding Camlann
3.10
This book has been described as of interest to fans of the movie Possession starring Gwyneth Paltrow and Aaron Eckhart. While it's true that there are ...more
Jan 08, 2013
Jan 08, 2013
 
Habibi
4.02
Absolutely incredible. Beautiful calligraphy, detailed illustrations, intense historical fiction - I read something describing Craig Thompson's work a ...more
Oct 15, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
 
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1)
3.79
Jacob's grandfather used to tell him tales of a magical place. An island with a beautiful home where children with strange abilities lived, safe from ...more
Oct 2011
Oct 24, 2011
 
Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society, #2)
4.17
Teenage girl thief. That should really be 'nough said, right?

Kat (Katarina Bishop) comes from a family of thieves. One of THE family of thieves (of wh
...more
Nov 2011
Dec 03, 2011
 
Outpost (Razorland, #2)
4.13
For fans of Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games and James Dashner’s The Maze Runner, have I got the series for you! Outpost, the sequel to Enclave, and ...more
Aug 2012
Sep 03, 2012
 
Miss Timmins' School for Girls
3.00
I don't know what made me pick this book up. I don't remember if I saw it advertised somewhere online, or if someone recommended it on Goodreads, or i ...more
Oct 24, 2011
Oct 25, 2011
 
The Story of Beautiful Girl
3.90
Quietly enthralling. That's the first thing that comes to mind when trying to describe this book. The basic facts - the lives of 4 people interwoven o ...more
Dec 2011
Dec 13, 2011
 
The Descendants
3.82
Let me be clear. I stopped reading around page 45. I just could not read any more about a rich white guy and his problems. Yes, he HAS legitimate issu ...more
Oct 2011
Oct 27, 2011
 
Plugged
3.38
It's not often that I say this, but I believe this book falls firmly into the "written by a man for men" category. While I appreciated it for being a ...more
Nov 06, 2011
Oct 31, 2011
 
Spud: The Madness Continues
3.95
In Spud: The Madness Continues, the madness of the Crazy Seven (Seven due to a loss of one boy in Spud; then Eight, when a new boy comes; then Seven, ...more
Jan 14, 2012
Dec 30, 2011
 
Spud (Spud, #1)
4.04
John Milton has a lot on his plate, as any 13-year-old boy does. He is heading off to a private, all-boys boarding school, thanks to a new scholarship ...more
Dec 29, 2011
Dec 30, 2011
 
The Girl in the Steel Corset (Steampunk Chronicles, #1)
3.84
Obviously a steampunk novel, as it's book #1 in The Steampunk Chronicles, there's a great mix of adventure, romance, and gadgetry in this quick (despi ...more
Nov 08, 2011
Oct 10, 2011
 
Wonderstruck
4.13
I had the pleasure of attending the NEIBA trade show NECBA children's author dinner last Wednesday (Oct. 12, 2011), where Brian Selznick explained wha ...more
Oct 14, 2011
Aug 05, 2011
 
Scarlet (Scarlet, #1)
4.01
As a thief, Will Scarlet has a lot of secrets. As a member of Robin Hood's band, Will keeps a lot of secrets for other people. But the most important ...more
Jul 2012
Nov 29, 2011
 
Goliath (Leviathan, #3)
4.27
The completely-lives-up-to-it-thank-god conclusion to the Leviathan trilogy!

Mr. Westerfeld & Mr. Thompson continued to do a magnificent job of giv
...more
Nov 2011
Aug 08, 2011
 
First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson, #1)
4.08
In First Grave on the Right, Charley is helping to solve the murder of three lawyers, also while working on a side project - trying to figure out just ...more
not set
Jul 23, 2011
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 83 84