bookshelves

all (4727)

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
State of Wonder
3.83
**spoiler alert** Meh. At first, the inside blurb reminded me of a Sean Connery movie. Student on search of mentor. The movie was "Medicine Man".

Movi
...more
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
 
The Tiger's Wife
3.36
Tues Book club selection.

The first half or so of the book was rather awkward. The verbiage and the story did not flow smoothly; almost like a bad tra
...more
Jan 25, 2012
Jul 07, 2011
 
Dracula in Love
3.38
Karen Essex and her editor did not truly deliver the story. The story of Mina Murray-Harker was presented well in the context of the Victorian era she ...more
Feb 29, 2012
Sep 22, 2011
 
Tenth of December: Stories
3.93
The short stories are very well written and thought provoking. I was hopeful of something more hopeful.
Mar 18, 2014
Mar 19, 2014
 
The Sense of an Ending
3.68
Was fine until the ending which left me puzzled. To me the story was the failure to communicate and extend oneself. Anthony reconnection attempt with ...more
Apr 26, 2013
Apr 26, 2013
 
The God of Small Things
3.89
The book reads like India. Overwhelming visuals and heartbreaking events. The push to go beyond centuries of racism (caste system) and sexism.

The book
...more
Aug 17, 2011
Aug 02, 2011
 
Night Film
3.76
Superbly over-rated, over-hyped and under-edited.

Nov 05, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
 
The Gardner Heist: The True Story of the World's Largest Unsolved Art Theft
3.66
None
Nov 20, 2011
Nov 21, 2011
 
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1)
3.80
None
Oct 16, 2012
Oct 16, 2012
 
Jar City
3.79
None
Jul 07, 2011
Jul 08, 2011
 
The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements
3.88
None
Jan 11, 2012
Dec 13, 2011
 
The Perfect Mile: Three Athletes, One Goal, and Less Than Four Minutes to Achieve It
4.11
None
not set
Aug 16, 2012
Rss More books shelved as 'tues-book-club' »