bookshelves

all (6057)
« 1 »

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
State of Wonder
3.85
it was ok
**spoiler alert** Meh. At first, the inside blurb reminded me of a Sean Connery movie. Student on search of mentor. The movie was "Medicine Man".

Movi
...more
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
 
The Tiger's Wife
3.37
liked it
Tues Book club selection.

The first half or so of the book was rather awkward. The verbiage and the story did not flow smoothly; almost like a bad tra
...more
Jan 25, 2012
Jul 07, 2011
 
Dracula in Love
3.37
liked it
Karen Essex and her editor did not truly deliver the story. The story of Mina Murray-Harker was presented well in the context of the Victorian era she ...more
Feb 29, 2012
Sep 22, 2011
 
Tenth of December: Stories
3.95
really liked it
The short stories are very well written and thought provoking. I was hopeful of something more hopeful.
Mar 18, 2014
Mar 19, 2014
 
The Sense of an Ending
3.70
liked it
Was fine until the ending which left me puzzled. To me the story was the failure to communicate and extend oneself. Anthony reconnection attempt with ...more
Apr 26, 2013
Apr 26, 2013
 
Street Gang: The Complete History of Sesame Street
3.57
liked it
Additional material:
CTW: Early Years by Robert Davidson (1992)
Mar 08, 2016
Mar 01, 2016
 
The God of Small Things
3.91
liked it
The book reads like India. Overwhelming visuals and heartbreaking events. The push to go beyond centuries of racism (caste system) and sexism.

The book
...more
Aug 17, 2011
Aug 02, 2011
 
Night Film
3.78
it was ok
SUPER over-rated, over-hyped and under-edited.

Nov 05, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
 
The Gardner Heist: The True Story of the World's Largest Unsolved Art Theft
3.69
really liked it
None
Nov 20, 2011
Nov 21, 2011
 
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1)
3.88
liked it
None
Oct 16, 2012
Oct 16, 2012
 
Jar City
3.80
really liked it
None
Jul 07, 2011
Jul 08, 2011
 
Not My Father's Son
4.00
None
not set
Dec 31, 2015
 
Beat the Reaper
3.79
really liked it
None
May 17, 2016
Feb 22, 2016
 
The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements
3.89
it was ok
None
Jan 11, 2012
Dec 13, 2011
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'tues-book-club' »