bookshelves

all (6553)
« 1 »

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Pride and Prejudice
4.23
Abandoned!

I tried this in audio with two formats, and read a bit. In the first the reader did not have a pleasant voice - stuffy and with a nasal soun
...more
Jan 2010
Oct 20, 2009
 
The Signature of All Things: A Novel
3.78
Original review posted on Layers of Thought.

A wonderful, engaging historical fiction novel that has the science of botany as a key element. It has an
...more
Aug 06, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
 
Let the Right One In
4.06
As Americans we "love" vampires. So much that in fact what was once horrific has become almost an "icon". Specifically, there are vampire novels of ev ...more
Jun 2009
Mar 04, 2009
 
Willy
4.26
Original review posted on Layers of Thought.

A disturbing and poignant coming of age story with elements of suspense and psychological terror which ver
...more
Apr 17, 2011
Feb 20, 2011
 
Night Pilgrims (Saint-Germain, #26)
3.88
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

Shellie’s quick take: It’s a stand-alone historical fiction novel that has horror and romance elements wit
...more
Jul 20, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
 
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (Fairyland, #1)
3.98
Original review with additional links posted at Layers of Thought.


A sweet and whimsical tale with images of strength, valor and courage. It’s a poeti
...more
May 12, 2011
May 16, 2010
 
The Afflicted Girls
3.69
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

Actually 4.5 stars.

When two young friends, both orphans, arrive in Salem MA in 1692, the litigious and imb
...more
Jan 15, 2011
Jan 11, 2010
 
The Penelopiad: The Myth Of Penelope And Odysseus [Unabridged]
3.61
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

This story is from the perspective of “the other” - a marginalized female character in the myth. It is tol
...more
May 10, 2011
Dec 28, 2010
 
Graceling (Graceling Realm, #1)
4.10
I really enjoyed this fast moving, young adult novel. I love strong female characters and fantasy so this was an easy read for me.
I would recommend it
...more
Apr 09, 2009
Mar 02, 2009
 
Uglies (Uglies, #1)
3.87
This was a fun and easy read, with a strong main character whom is a female - Yeah! I wish there had been science fiction like this when I was younger ...more
Apr 2009
Mar 04, 2009
 
Wuthering Heights
3.79
4.5 star rating.

Original review with additional information and pictures of the Yorkshire Moors at Layers of Thought.

A classic masterpiece that is an
...more
May 05, 2011
Jul 09, 2010
 
The Passage (The Passage, #1)
4.01


4.5 stars actually

The original copy of this review with additional links is posted at Layers of Thought, including a link to an interview on NPR.

Tire
...more
Jun 20, 2010
Nov 20, 2009
 
Kafka on the Shore (Contemporary Fiction)
4.12
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

A complex, fantastical novel with philosophical musings and literary tropes discussed throughout. Translat
...more
Dec 26, 2011
Dec 11, 2009
 
The Inverted Forest
3.48
4.5 stars actually - so very close to a five!
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

A perfect summer novel for those looking for something with a
...more
Jun 09, 2011
Jun 15, 2011
 
Fahrenheit 451
3.95
Mini Synopsis: This is a classic dystopian science fiction novel written by a “Grand Master” of the genre. It tells of a future world where books are ...more
Jan 1979
Feb 03, 2009
 
Those Across the River
3.61
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

A historical gothic thriller set during the great depression in the rural south. It has a thread which lin
...more
Nov 04, 2011
Sep 03, 2011
 
Frankenstein
3.70


Synopsis: (may contain spoilers for some)
This story is a well know horror classic and is an epistolary novel. It is written as a series of letter from
...more
Oct 2009
Aug 03, 2009
 
Wood
3.69
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

A metaphorical and darkly hilarious novella about an environmentally poisoned wood where a ravenous monste
...more
May 29, 2012
Mar 27, 2012
 
The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1)
4.39
**spoiler alert** Actually 4.5 stars.

Basic Plot Summary: (may include spoilers for some readers however the middle and ending are not revealed)

Mistbor
...more
Aug 31, 2009
Mar 04, 2009
 
My Story
4.07
I've always liked Marilyn Monroe - she did sexy with such innocent grace. As this is punctuated through the book as she describes her survival of a ve ...more
Mar 21, 2009
Mar 19, 2009
 
Bitter Greens
4.12
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

A wonderful women’s historical fiction story set in Renaissance Italy and France, layered with the fairyta
...more
Oct 2014
May 07, 2012
 
The Book of Lost Fragrances (Reincarnationist, #4)
3.66
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

The latest page-turning stand-alone story in M.J. Rose’s Reincarnationist series. Fragrance plays a key r
...more
Mar 20, 2012
Oct 31, 2011
 
A Memory of Wind
3.82
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

This is the sad tale of Iphigenia, the daughter of King Agamemnon. She is sacrificed by her father to the
...more
May 05, 2011
Jun 21, 2010
 
White Horse
3.52
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

The first in a planned trilogy, it’s a stream of consciousness styled apocalyptic tale with alternating ti
...more
Apr 15, 2012
Feb 05, 2012
 
Benny & Shrimp
3.33
Mini Synopsis:
Benny is a thirty something, single, hard working, Swedish dairy farmer living on his failing family farm. His mother whom worked dilige
...more
Aug 2009
Jul 18, 2009
 
A Circle of Souls
3.79
It was very exciting for me when I received a personally signed copy of A Circle of Souls from the author several weeks ago.
Mini Synopsis:
There's a s
...more
Jul 13, 2009
Jul 01, 2009
 
The Divorce Papers
3.29
3.5 stars actually

Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

A dramatic and messy high-profile divorce is told via documents which are facilitated by
...more
Mar 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
 
The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, #1)
4.04
I am new to adult science fiction. I've read Fahrenheit 451 and a number of short stories through the years, a few young adult novels recently as well ...more
Jun 30, 2009
Mar 12, 2009
 
Promises to Keep
4.08
4.5 stars actually.

Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

An accessible and life-affirming novella which takes the reader on a trip from the dark
...more
Aug 22, 2011
Jul 01, 2011
 
Darkfever (Fever, #1)
4.18
Original review posted at Layers of Thought.

This is a series review for the: Fever Series (audio)

Set in the rainy city of Dublin, Ireland, this paran
...more
Feb 2012
Feb 22, 2012
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 217 218