bookshelves

all (4124)

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
4.28
Full review at: http://www.unleashingreaders.com/?p=1222

So beautifully written. One of those books that you want to tell everyone to read because it i...more
Mar 29, 2013
Jan 29, 2013
 
The Blood Lie
3.42
Jack Pool loves Emaline. He knows that because of their faith, he is Jewish, she is Christian, that it will never happen, but he truly loves her. If h...more
Oct 29, 2011
Oct 28, 2011
 
All These Lives
3.73
4.5 stars
All I knew about All These Lives is that it was another "cancer book"; however, it is more than that and different from any other book dealin...more
Nov 23, 2012
Nov 23, 2012
 
October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard
4.12
Reviewed at:
http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/...

I was a junior in high school at a fine arts school of choice when Matthew Shepard was murdered....more
Sep 29, 2012
Sep 29, 2012
 
In Trouble
3.11
In Trouble explores the options that a young lady had in the 1950s when it came to being "in trouble." Today our options include abortion, adoption an...more
Oct 05, 2011
Oct 03, 2011
 
Orchards
3.71
Reviewed at:
http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/...

4.5 stars

After a classmate of Kana's commits suicide, Kana wonders if she is partially responsibl...more
Jun 04, 2012
Jun 02, 2012
 
The Younger Days
4.44
Reviewed at: http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/...

3.5 stars

Do you know what a Bushwhacker is? Well I didn't until I picked up this book (they are o...more
Jul 07, 2012
Jul 06, 2012
 
Back When You Were Easier to Love
3.24
Reviewed at:
http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/...

*Summary: Zan is gone. He left with no good bye, no explanation, no anything. Joy doesn't underst...more
Feb 18, 2012
Feb 18, 2012
 
Rape Girl
3.94
(view spoiler)...more
Dec 14, 2012
Dec 11, 2012
 
The First Escape (The Dopple Ganger Chronicles, #1)
3.58
When the First Escape begins, it reminds me of a mixture of Matilda and Oliver Twist. In an orphanage run by a mad woman ala Mrs. Trunchbull, the Dopp...more
Jul 10, 2011
Feb 20, 2010
 
A World Away
3.84
Reviewed at: http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2013/...

4.5
While reading this book, I felt like I was sneaking a peek into a world that I didn't know muc...more
Jan 29, 2013
Jan 27, 2013
 
Paperboy
3.97
Reviewed at: http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2013/...

Author interview: http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2013/...

I found this book fascinating. It dealt...more
Apr 06, 2013
Mar 31, 2013
 
Diamonds in the Shadow
3.70
As Americans most of us do not know the fear and horrors that Africans know. Most of us, in general, do not understand or know about the horrors going...more
Jul 26, 2010
May 16, 2010
 
Mira's Diary: Lost in Paris (Mira's Diary, #1)
3.56
Reviewed at: http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/...

I was enthralled by this smart, yet still accessible middle grade novel. Once I began it, I did n...more
Oct 26, 2012
Oct 26, 2012
 
The Milk of Birds
4.17
Full review at: http://www.unleashingreaders.com/?p=4041

This is a special book. First, because of the characters who tell the story. K.C. is a young g...more
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
 
My Brother's Shadow
3.77
Reviewed at:
http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/...

Historical fiction fascinates me. I specifically love how you can be dropped in a place and time...more
Dec 10, 2011
Dec 09, 2011
 
Shine
3.86
Reviewed at:
http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2011/...

*Summary: Cat and Patrick were best friends. Soul mates. But have grown apart over the past 3 yea...more
Oct 09, 2011
Nov 25, 2010
 
Darkbeast
3.69
Reviewed at: http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/...

*In Darkbeast, we meet Keara, a young girl who has been bound to Caw, her raven darkbeast, since...more
Sep 12, 2012
Sep 07, 2012
 
Who Was King Tut?
3.86
Reviewed at: http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/...

Although ultimately this book is a biography of King Tut, it also is a history book of Egypt. Not...more
Aug 07, 2012
Aug 08, 2012
 
Once Was Lost
3.69
Everyone thinks that Sam's family is perfect- she IS the pastor's daughter. But her life is anything but. Her mom is in rehab after being receiving a...more
Dec 24, 2009
Dec 23, 2009
 
Maus, I: A Survivor's Tale: My Father Bleeds History (Maus, #1)
4.34
Reviewed at: http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/...

When I took adolescent literature during my master's degree, my professor assigned this book and...more
Jun 18, 2012
Jun 25, 2010
 
Sometimes Never, Sometimes Always
3.27
Overall a good book, but I just had some issues with it. First, I had a very hard time finding a connection to the protagonist. She is having trouble...more
Jan 11, 2014
Jan 06, 2014
 
John Brown: His Fight for Freedom
3.74
I have to admit something. I did not know who John Brown was. To be honest, I thought it was a book of tall tales John Henry as the back said "I will...more
Jul 31, 2012
Jul 31, 2012
 
Without Tess
3.81
In the tradition of Wintergirls and Lessons from a Dead Girl, Without Tess takes the reader on a psychological journey of a young girl suffering from...more
Jun 22, 2012
Dec 07, 2011
 
All the Truth That's in Me
3.96
Told in fragments, Judith's story slowly comes together leaving you on the edge of your seat until the reveal. A mystery mixed with romance and findin...more
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 12, 2014
 
How Mirka Met a Meteorite (Hereville #2)
3.78
Teaching Guide Information: http://www.unleashingreaders.com/?p=3070

A good follow up to the first Hereville. I praise Barry Deutsch for giving us Mirk...more
Aug 09, 2012
Aug 08, 2012
 
Imperfect Spiral
3.93
:-(
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
 
The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns, #1)
3.83
*Such an interesting book! The concept, a savior is born once a century with a godstone in their navel which means that God has a secret plan for them...more
Apr 30, 2012
May 21, 2011
 
Impulse (Impulse, #1)
4.29
Any book that makes you physically react must be a great book, right? Well this one left me with a pit in my stomach and tears in my eyes- I physicall...more
Sep 18, 2011
Sep 28, 2009
 
Maus, II: And Here My Troubles Began (Maus, #2)
4.45
Reviewed at: http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/...

My review of the first Maus:
http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/...

Well done as well though I w...more
Jun 19, 2012
Oct 11, 2010
Rss More books shelved as 'religion-faith' »
« previous 1